We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Definite place to stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a really good experience here. Our room was great - very large, very nicely designed and kept up. The service was fabulous - extremely helpful and personal; they went out of their way to help. We give it our strongest recommendations. Can't comment on dinner as we had it elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for your Great Review. It's our guests that make the Inn so special. Hope you will find your way back to Greenbrier Valley again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    84
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
77
158
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pinckney, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The only location I stay during my frequent trips to Lewisburg, West Virginia. The family of owners and staff welcome you with open arms. Each room is unique and comfortable with individual amenities, not a "rubber stamp" space! Cleanliness exceeds expectations and the charm of the Living Room and Dining rooms cannot be re-created in today's environment. The location to the downtown shopping district (a miniature Ann Arbor) cannot be surpassed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKJaniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
We loved reading your review of the Inn and Lewisburg. Quite a nice compliment to be compared to Ann Arbor shopping! Thank you. Hope you'll find your way back to WV again.
Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

For the past 12 years we have traveled to Lewisburg dozens of times. Having discovered the GL during our first visit we would never want to stay anywhere else. The ambiance there is warm and sympathetic to anyone having an interest in the history of the nation and the staff are always welcoming and friendly.

Not only do we stay at the inn, we have, many times, booked meals there with friends from nearby communities and had a wonderful time. After traveling thousands of miles around the world and having stayed at scores of hotels, motels, and inns, we are always keen to come back to the comforting environment and the good people there who have, over the years, become our friends.

Room Tip: You can see images of the rooms on their site. Book ahead as they tend to fill up on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris and Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you. We greatly appreciate your Trip Advisor Review. Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the General Lewis Inn. It's location makes it easy to explore downtown Lewisburg, which is very much alive with interesting shops and restaurants even in winter. Our room in the Inn was clean, well equipped and comfortably furnished with period furniture - a unique room in a unique inn. Staff was friendly and helpful, and breakfast in the Inn's restaurant was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddM3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Well, it's getting to be winter again! Thanks for your kind words on Trip Advisor. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We came here to get away for a night, the hotel is great! It's so cute and cozy. It's old and antiqued. It isn't the Hilton, so if that's what you're expecting stay somewhere else more modern. The food was excellent at dinner, our steaks were cooked to perfection. Everything is super clean. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kweese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Guests. Somehow I missed your great post on Trip Advisor. THANK YOU. Hope you'll be able to get away to Lewisburg again this Winter. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckley, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I wanted to stay at least once since it came highly recommended. Realizing that this is a historic "old" hotel, I don't want to be negative but only prepare you for what it is. It is not roomy (we had the best room). The bathroom is very small (can't spread out your toiletries). The bed was comfortable, the staff was friendly for the most part. There is nothing to do here except walk downtown (which won't take you long). We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel. IT was nice, the service was good. We had the same wait staff for both meals. The food was good but there aren't enough choices to warrant going back for a second meal. One night stay is quite sufficient. There is a lot of history here. No expect anything luxurious though. Good experience but you are close enough, go ahead and go to the Greenbrier. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoopy1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamston, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We did not stay in a room but enjoyed an excellent dinner in the dining room. The menu was diverse. The food quality was excellent. The ambience very nice, small and comfortable. The waitress was attentive and pleasant. The prices were very appropriate for the quality of the experience. A memorable family dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
392 reviews
24.4 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Covington
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 1236 Washington St E, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Region: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing