We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm, wonderful place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our queen bed room was bright, cheery, and nicely decorated. We're glad we made advance reservations for the dining room, as we would have been out of luck. Both locals and inn residents filled up the dining room. The staff was very busy, but not too busy to chat. We even had a chance to talk with the inn-keeper. We pass through Lewisburg four times a year on our way from Columbus, Ohio to Hampton Virginia. We now consider the General Lewis Inn a must-visit indulgence.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fino8695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Friends, Thanks so much for posting your delightful review on Trip Advisor. We'll look forward to you "to and from" stops here in Lewisburg. Sincerely, Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just got back from dinner - very good American type food, wine was a BIG treat - Best french chardonnay only $32! - Dessert Choclate, peanut butter mouse cake was very tasty, Great dining room setting - felt like going back in time - very historic. Next time we will stay at the Inn,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsprenkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Oh, I love that French Chardonnay too!!! Our small wine list has some great surprises. Thanks for your double post on Trip Advisor! Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

When I picked Historic Lewisburg WV as a vacation stop, I knew I wanted to in a local inn. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I decided to give the General Lewis Inn a try, and I am so glad I did. This was a truly lovely place to stay. Friendly staff, wonderful service in both the inn and the restaurant. The room were decorated with antiques, comfortable beds and were very quiet at night. I really loved the fact that they leave the unoccupied rooms open so you can see what the other rooms look like. The hotel is within walking distance of everything in the historic part of town and I did most of my sightseeing on foot. Everyone in town was so friendly and helpful, it was like I was a neighbor and friend not just another visitor. I talked to a number of guests at the inn that had stayed there several times before. They gave me great tips on things to see and do. Don't be afraid to chat up the other guests for some advice - you might make a new friend! The inn is also very close to the Greenbrier resort and worth the 15 min drive to go see. There is also an area to get to the Greenbrier River Trail to go hiking. It is a lovely hiking path next to the river. The leaves had started to change already and it was quite beautiful. Definitely go visit Historic Lewisburg and stay at the General Lewis Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Ms. Felicia. Thanks for the great post on Trip Advisor. We have more and more travelers who have found us on TA. Thanks also for mentioning our location and the great stores downtown. Sincerely, Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I realize I never wrote a review of the excellents stay we had at the inn in June 2011, when we took a two-room adjoined suite to share with our two children. Everything was lovely -- charming, well appointed, good breakfast, etc. -- but what really underscored the stay was what happened afterward. Our daughter forgot her lucky blanket -- a worthless thing, really, and bulky -- in the hotel, and was upset. We called them, and they immediately forwarded it back to us at home in Washington. We felt terrible about never getting our daughter to write a thank you note (tardiness, life, etc,...). So if you are reading this, General Lewis Inn, thank you for your wonderful guest service -- the real kind, not just the "candy on pillow" stuff! We have recommended you to several of our friends since!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkhmdmxth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Oh those precious things that we can sometime leave behind - how glad we were that it could return to the heart of it's owner! Thank you for your kind words and hope you'll stay with us again.
Sincerely, Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This place is extraordinary. When you are a guest, you feel as though you have not only stepped back in time, but to a time within your own family. The rooms are furnished with antiques, so you get a real sense of having walked into someone's living room, not into a stark hotel room. The staff is friendly and earnestly want to see travelers well attended to. The food is very good. There is a definite southern slant to the choices of fare offered. Also, the town of Lewisburg itself is a magical place. There are an abundance of restaurants that all have charm and style. Carnegie Hall up the street from the General Lewis offers some exceptional performances. If you want a taste of laid back, yet sophisticated country experiences, this is the place to come.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Ms. K. Your kind words about the Inn are greatly appreciated. We are fortunate to have a wonderful little spot in "Almost Heaven" West Virginia. Hope you'll be our way again. Sincerely, Nan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The General Lewis Inn is a charming historic inn with lovely grounds. It is walking distance from the shops and restaurants in downtown Lewisburg. The staff is very friendly. We had breakfast in the restaurant once, and it was good and reasonably priced.

My only complaint is that our room (206) was directly above the restaurant and we could hear everything below and our room smelled like food almost every night. I would have to strongly recommend against staying in this room, especially if you want to sleep in or go to bed early.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for posting your review. Especially glad that you give a warning about 206. We really do want to make sure our guests know about the quirks of the inn and I had not realized the drawbacks to being in that location. I would recommend 206 because it was on the east side of the Inn and got early morning light. However, noise and smells from the dining room did not occur to me. Thanks again for the heads up! Sincerely, Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have visited Lewisburg a few times but never stayed, or even went inside, the General Lewis Inn. What we missed all those other times!! Our room was very nice, the food was good, the service was excellent and the location could not be better. We will be back

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor! Hope you'll stay with again AND we'll have the air conditioning keeping us all cooled down!!! Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lewisburg hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
204 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
450 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison Marcel
Maison Marcel
#1 of 8 in Lewisburg
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Address: 1236 Washington St E, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Region: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range: £67 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing