We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return again and again!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will return again and again!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We love the General Lewis Inn and every year head to the Inn to celebrate our anniversary. The Inn is comfortable with a great front porch, creaking wooden floors, and a helpful staff. Lewisburg is a charming town with outstanding shopping, restaurants, and a great vibe. Do yourself a favor and put this one on your calendar.

Room Tip: WE like the second floor because it is a "historic" Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ani725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
And it's great for us to have you come back and celebrate with us. There is nothing better than having a chance to catch up with you! Warm wishes for a great summer, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    84
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
77
158
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Highly recommended. The location is quiet and residential, but only a few steps from excellent coffee shop and a truly great Irish pub. The hotel dining room is also welcoming. Breakfast is not included, but worth the price. The staff is warm and outgoing. And the ambiance truly historic. As a plus, there is a spacious garden, partially tree-shaded, with chairs and tables, perfect for that before-dinner glass of wine complete with the scent of flowers and bird song.
One caution: if stairs are a problem, be sure to request first-floor rooms, as there is no elevator.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. It's great to know you enjoyed yourselves here with us. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Nan, Helen and the GLI Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midway, Kentucky, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A friend of mine and I rented one of the two two-bedroom "suites" at the inn. This is the fourth or fifth time I've stayed at the General Lewis, and my experience has always been excellent. This stay was no exception. Although we had breakfast elsewhere every morning of our visit, we had dinner at the inn restaurant all three nights of our stay. Each meal was outstanding: well prepared, plentiful portions, and delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the General Lewis most highly.

Room Tip: Every room is different. Some have two double beds, some have king-sized beds, and some have beds fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 294Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Friends, Thanks so much for the great review! Those family suites make great rooms for getting together with family and/or friends. So glad that you enjoyed having your meals here at the Inn. With all the great choices that Lewisburg for fine dining, it's good to hear that you choose us! We look forward to having you again, warmer weather next time, we hope!!! Best regards, Nan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We originally wanted to go to the Greenbrier for our 30th anniversary but just couldn't justify the cost of the room and the outrageous meal prices. Found the General Lewis instead and what a treasure. Desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are cozy and charming. They leave the vacant rooms open so you can look in them. They have a variety of rooms for all kinds of groups. Some have complained about the firm beds--I slept very soundly on ours. Breakfasts are delicious! Staff in dining room were fun, efficient and very good at their jobs. Lewisburg is a real gem and the General Lewis is the best place to stay. Within walking distance of the downtown shopping area. Looking forward to going back some day. Thank you all for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but choose your room based on the number in your party--no need for two or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buckeyegrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Ohio Friends, We love being so close to the Greenbrier Resort, and what good news for us that your interest in staying there led you to our doors!!! It's great to be close enough that you can enjoy all the wonderful shops at the Greenbrier and then come back to Lewisburg to enjoy our lodging and great variety of wonderful restaurants and shops downtown here, too. Thanks so much for posting your review. So many people use Trip Advisor to find us!!! Hope you'll be back again to celebrate another anniversary. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I travel regularly to the area for business and love to stay at the General Lewis Inn. I loved it so much that I had my wedding in their garden area. On my last stay I asked about the soup of the day. It was a broth-base spinach soup. I couldn't imagine it being good, but tried it anyway. As with everything else I have ever eaten, it was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanpinnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear General Lewis Inn Bride! What a great review you've done for us on Trip Advisor. Thank you so much. Phyllis' spinach soup has been a favorite for many years - so glad you like it, too.
We look forward to having you as our guest for many years. Thanks again! Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, KY
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

My husband had stayed here 51 years ago with his parents as they would bring him to camp. He said the place was unchanged with a smile on his face. It was like stepping back in time. The bed as nice and the bathroom small. Very close to Washington Lee College & VMI.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank douglass1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Friends, Thanks for your thoughtful review of the Inn. Your husband was correct in his observation that it hadn't changed much in 50 years. The updates (WIFI, HVAC, Sprinklers) were all done with as little change to the overall look as we could possibly manage. It is certainly lots of history and a pleasure when our guest take notice. Thank you so much. I enjoyed seeing your beautiful paintings on line. Warm regards, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richwood, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a lovely dinner in the dining room and then spent a restful night in our second floor room. What a wonderful Valentine's Day present for both my husband and me. On Saturday morning after breakfast we talked with the Inn's owner and reminisced about her father who was "Mr. Personality" of the Inn and the first person we met on our first trip to the restaurant over 10 years ago. Going to the Inn is like visiting old friends, and we always enjoy returning and feeling welcomed..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Friends, What a great pleasure to reminisce with you about days gone by. Mr. Morgan, Dad, enjoyed the chance to meet and make new friends, year after year. They came to the Inn in 1985 which was the year that Dad retired from forty years with DuPont. How much fun it was for me to talk about Richwood and your dedication to travel and tourism there. It's a great business to be in!!! Look forward to having you back. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
392 reviews
24.4 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 5 in Covington
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 1236 Washington St E, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Region: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing