We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, WV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back.”
Reviewed 27 May 2009

The bed was one of the most comfortable in which I've slept while traveling. I loved the ambiance. The dining experience was wonderful. The staff, both in the restaurant and at the main desk, were great. Very hospitable. My only complaint with the room (118) is the faux painting on the moldings in the bathroom. Absolutely terrible and not consistent with the integrity of the period of the inn. "If it were my inn" I would either replace with stained wood or just paint the existing molding white.

Also, we were once seated in the restaurant by a window that was filled with glass pieces on shelves. From a distance it was very pretty. However, sitting next to it revealed that most pieces were chipped or cracked and all were dirty.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenRescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    84
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
77
158
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2009

My wife and I were guests at the inn in Jan. This is part of a long-standing love affair with WV, Lewisburg...and mostly, this inn. We intended to drive to Asheville, NC, after spending a couple of days in the area.

We love the atmosphere they have created, the sense of place they give us, blending great history with exceptional service, cozy rooms and one of the most charming dining rooms anywhere!

Unfortunately, my wife....a stroke survivor....fell downtown during this visit. We came back to the inn but the pain slowly increased and we finally ended up having to be taken by ambulance to the hospital, where we were also treated royally.

The hip was broken, but the fracture (disguised as an old injury) was not apparent for another week or so. During our stay we experienced some of the best and most sincere customer service we have encountered anywhere in the world. All of the staff....directed during our stay by Helen....were nothing short of terrific.

I know this comes directly from the "corporate culture" as they call it, or more precisely, the owner innkeepers. This is the sort of hospitality sorely missing in most hostelries and the reason for the great success of independent properties such as this.

There was not one detail missed, not one kindness left out, not one hand left unextended in the attempt to make Mary comfortable and our stay memorable.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SappyPappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2008

I stayed at this Inn as part of a much larger trip so I stayed at a variety of places while in West Virginia and this was one of the best.

Yes, the building is older, built pre-Civil War. Yes, it's not the Marriott or the Hilton. No, the rooms aren't as large as the aforementioned places. But...

The Inn sits in the middle of one of the most unique battlefields from the Civil War. It is picturesque and the owners take great care is keeping it looking good, inside and out, all year round with both landscaping and seasonal decorations.

I stayed in a queen bed room. Each room has a private bath and some of the most comfortable beds found anywhere, so full and fluffy, I couldn't wait to go to bed.

I did not stay in the "haunted part" of the hotel and that was fine with me, having already spent more than my share of nights in haunted locations. However, there was "something" that happened on the stairs leading to the entryway but I'll let that stay a surprise for any subsequent guests.

I also ate in the dining room and found the food to be some of the best found anywhere. I had the scallops dish and I could swear they were absolutely fresh, probably from the Chesapeake Bay.

In the morning, I was surprised and delighted to see a sitting room filled with people happily chatting as they drank complimentary coffee and tea.

The ambiance of the entire inn was one of comfort, friendliness and welcome. I never felt so at home, nor did I feel as lost in time, as I did at the General Lewis Inn.

I would recommend this inn for a week or a weekend. The inn is also centrally located to a number of historical and local attractions.

  • Liked — The overall appearance of the Inn, so historical, so warm and inviting
  • Disliked — Um, can't think of anything bad about the place
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MojaveRattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We stayed at the General Lewis last week of September, and loved it. The feel of the place is very much like staying in a gracious old home, because the staff leave the unoccupied rooms open and guests are welcome to wander in and out of them and look around. When you're in your room with the door open, other guests will say hello, and everyone was so friendly - it did not feel like a hotel, but instead had a warm, personal atmosphere.

Our room was extremely comfortable - the double beds were wonderful - and furnished with antiques, which gave the room incredible charm. Each room has a small electric candle in the window, and at night, when the place is lit up from inside, they give the impression of stopping back in time. The entire inn is packed chock-full of old antiques, artifacts, and memorabilia illustrating the history of the place and the region.

Location is good - if we had not been so tired, we probably would have set out on foot to see Lewisburg. As it was, we were exhausted and in fact had not made dinner reservations at the Inn, and did not feel like worrying about how to dress, so we ordered room service. The food was absolutely delicious, the service exceptional.

All in all, a charming, friendly place for a very reasonable price; loved all the touches, like the giant porch with rockers and the brass key tags. I will definitely go back.

  • Liked — Steeped in history and culture, excellent service
  • Disliked — Not enough time to see everything in the area
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank metalligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2007

The General Lewis Inn was absolutely fantastic. We got there late and the person behind the counter offered to help us with our luggage. We were tired and didn't need the help, but it was nice of her to offer. The hotel is non-smoking, but there are areas in the garden that accomodate a smoker. Our room was large with a sitting area. The bed was comfy. The bathroom was a bit small...room enough for one... but that is understandable in older Inns. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean. The garden was beautiful and very relaxing. We choose the Garden Queen room and had a lovely view of the garden and well manicured grounds. We had breakfast in the dining room the next morning at the Inn and the food was tasty and nicely served. We enjoyed walking in the town of Lewisburg. The town is quaint with lots of cozy eateries and shops. I would recommend the Inn in to anyone who wants a lovely getaway weekend.

  • Liked — Beautiful antique rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granger55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We were visiting the US and were travelling around the East Coast / Midwest by road. Between Washington DC and Cincinnati, we picked this as our stopover point and the opportunity to get a little bit of a feel for non-big city USA.

The General Lewis Inn delivered everything we were after. The staff we dealt with by email were very helpful and so they were in person also on our arrival. The Inn was as pretty as the pictures on the internet and for us visitors to the US it was a great thrill to stay in place with the big white columns out the front and rocking chairs on the porch.

The rooms are largely and lovingly furnished in period pieces. The beds were comfortable and the ambience was delightful. We ate in the restaurant and had a great meal - and an even better breakfast the following morning. My wife tried "grits" for the first time.

The location was easy to find and the place was great - exactly what we were after and we were so glad we chose this place to stay. Unfortunately, our timetable did not allow us to spend much time looking around the town other than a quick walk-through, but it is a quaint little town.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Old world ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2005

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the General Lewis Inn in mid October, and we loved it.

ATMOSPHERE: The Inn oozes with atmosphere. There is lots to look at (tons of gorgeous antiques everywhere), and the "living room" was very comfortable and homey. We had drinks in front of the fireplace before dinner and coffee there in the morning while we read the paper.

COST: Our small room in the old part of the inn was $120 plus tax. I thought we got what we paid for, but my husband thought it was too expensive. He's a Super 8 kind of guy, though. Our friends had a "Garden Room" and it was $140.00. It looked out onto the lovely back lawn and gardens. Their bathroom was absolutely tiny. But they were happy anyway.

THE ROOM: We were lucky to get a reservation at alll, I think. We called a week or so ahead of our arrival and they only had two rooms left. Our room was small, and the bathroom was small, too, but it was adequate. I had no complaints about the room. It was very clean, which is most important to me. There are a few rooms with two double beds and even a family suite.

FOOD: We had dinner and breakfast in the dining room. The service was excellent for both meals. The food was average to slightly better than average in quality, but it wasn't outrageously expensive, either. The dining room is relatively small ( I think it seated around 40 or so) but the atmosphere is nice.

THE GARDEN: When we first arrived, it was lunchtime. We had packed a picnic and wanted to go to a park to eat it, but there were no local parks (!) so they let us eat our picnic on the lawn behind the Inn. We enjoyed it immensely.

THE TOWN; The Inn is on a hill, within walking distance of the downtown area, which is very nice. We walked downtown after we arrived and shopped. I am a super shopper and I found things that I had not seen elsewhere. Then early the next morning, my husband and I took a walk around the residential area. The whole downtown area is a historic area. Later we drove around the town and countryside. The town is just beautiful and the countryside is like a postcard.

OTHER: Everyone at the General Lewis Inn is so friendly. If you call and ask, they will send you a very nice brochure.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
394 reviews
24.4 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 5 in Covington
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 1236 Washington St E, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Region: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing