We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!! Well worth the experience.”
Review of Lost World Caverns

Lost World Caverns
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of the most beautiful commercial caves in the eastern U.S. Self-guided walking tours take approximately 45 minutes to an hour. All day Wild Cave Tours are available, for the more adventurous, by reservation only. Largest Rock, Fossil, & Gift Shop in the area. Natural History Museum features local ice age mammals as well as dinosaur exhibits. Picnic Area. Free Parking. Open Daily.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! Well worth the experience.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

What a wonderful trip. The guided cavern hike takes you to places you have never imagined. The guides are very informative and focus on safety. They provide you with the helmet, gloves, knee pads and a light as you will need them to avoid a few bumps and bruises. Highly recommended!! They serve a great lunch, provide photos on CD and leave you walking away with a smile from ear to ear!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayrza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    66
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Great caverns”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have been to most of the show caverns in Virginia and none of them were self guided. I loved the fact that this one in West Virginia is self guided because you get to go at your own pace and explore on your own. You really do feel like you are an explorer. Because it is self guided, you do not get the history of the caverns (when it was found, the name, etc.), but you can ask the people in the gift shop. The caverns are small and it was wet and slippery in some parts (my pants got really dirty). You can actually rappel into the caverns (call for details). It should not take you more than an hour in the caves and a few minutes to look around the gift shop. The caverns are not wheelchair or stroller friendly. The women's rest rooms were spotless. The gift shop has many unique items at reasonable prices. The admission price of $12 is very good and they give a AAA 10% discount. There are also two alpacas in a fenced in front yard and several well behaved dogs around the property.

Only negative: The road to get to the caverns is a typical West Virginia back road (hard to find, long, twisty, full of pits, and unpaved).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank globaltrekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
“BEST ADVENTURE YET”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had a blast, sights are amazing tour guides rock!!!! Steve was great love seeing the beautiful sights that most people don't get to. If your thinking about going don't think just go I promise you will have a blast.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dsprouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
“So fun, so adventurous!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I've been to a few caves before, but this has been the most exciting trip! Beautiful and crazy features, and the guides are fun and knowledgeable! Definitely recommend this to everyone. To do more than just the walk around experience does take strength and some conquering of fears, but still good for anyone looking for an adventure!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holberej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah, Virginia
1 review
“It's heaven underground !!!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I've been going to lost world for 9 years and would recommend this cave over any other cave I've ever been in and I've been in a lot of caves, the staff is amazing and very personable and I have grown very fond of them!! If you are looking for something to cross off of your bucket list look no further than lost world caverns !!! I love it so much that my husband and I renewed our wedding vows in the cave then took our wedding party the rest of the way through a wild cave tour !!! Steve Charlton makes this trip the most amazing experience for everyone I have ever brought with me each year and it's the one trip you should plan while in West Virginia !!! I promise... You WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED !!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawndelion66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lost World Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Lost World Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing