We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Good - A few things could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chief Logan Lodge & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Logan
Certificate of Excellence
Grove City, OH
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Mostly Good - A few things could be improved”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I traveled to Chief Logan Lodge during the first weekend of November 2013 for the purpose of hiking at Chief Logan State Park. We were mostly pleased with our experience, with just a few exceptions. We had booked an Executive King room and it was a very nice room with a large bathroom. We had a nice patio that looked out onto the firepit and children's play area, with mountains in the distance. The linens were high quality and the room was quite clean and fresh looking. It was also equipped with a large flatscreen television, a nice sitting area, an electric fireplace, and a mini-fridge and microwave. There was also plenty of drawer space, which made it nice to put away all of our things. The pool is small but adequate and the spa was very nice and helped us work out the kinks after an eight-mile hike. We didn't use the fitness room, but it looked to be well-equipped.

Although the lodge has been opened a number of years, some things were a bit strange, such as no towel racks in the bathroom. There were a few minor maintenance issues that we reported upon checkout, such as the door lock being loose. Another situation that was a little odd is that the lodge property does not connect with the state park property, although pamphlets at the hotel described them as both being managed by the West Virginia State Park system. It is necessary to go back out to Route 119 and travel about nine miles to get into the actual park. This was not a problem, but is definitely different than what we've experienced in the Ohio State Park system.

There was a large recreation center adjacent to the lodge property which we did not enter, but according to literature found in the room, lodge guests are able to use certain amenities at the recreation center.

The only true negative was the breakfast situation. The room rate included a "continental breakfast" and we were given tickets for the breakfast upon check-in. There was very little selection and by 8:30 a.m.,, a number of items had run out and were not replaced, such as milk. I had prepared a bowl of cereal as it was one of the few edible items, and when I went to dispense the milk, there was none, so I had to throw the whole bowl away. Another guest asked the attendant about the milk and was told that there was no more milk. As an adult, I could find other items to eat, but this situation made it difficult for guests with children who did not want to eat lumpy, unappetizing gravy over biscuits, which was the main selection. We would have preferred to be able to order healthier, tastier options off a breakfast menu and pay separately for the meal, but that was not available.

We did eat in the restaurant on several other occasions for lunch and dinner and we found the food to be of average quality and the serving staff to be attentive. There's not a lot of other restaurant options that are close by, so we made do with the lodge restaurant selections.

All in all, it was a very enjoyable weekend and we may return at some point in the future.

Room Tip: All the executive king rooms have a nice patio or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishEyes0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    31
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
22
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lantana, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

When traveling with family to Logan, WV, I was charged with selecting accommodations. I am so happy that I read about this amazing gem in SW WV. My only regret is that we did not have more time there to enjoy the beautiful surrounds & hotel amenities. My kids did get to enjoy the fire pit while some other guests shared some s'mores. The breakfast spread, in my opinion, was better than the Bob Evans nearby (biscuits & gravy too). The rooms were a nice & clean basic hotel room and the housekeeping staff did a nice job and provided use with extra toiletries when needed. Not sure when our next visit from FL will be, but I look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati,Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We took our 12 yr old grandson for a 3 day weekend trip-Excellent place- had a room on the second floor which is the ground level- with a walkout patio- room was very clean and comfortable, even had a small refrigerator, the hotel is beautiful with a nice indoor pool ;there is a large rec room that has a large indoor pool, tennis , track, game room (did not have time to explore this)we enjoyed the large firepit-in the evening- the staff is very friendly and helpful- the grounds are immaculate with beautiful, mountain views- the continental breakfast was very good -with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal,hot bisquits and gravy and many more items-we ate dinner at the restaurant on Sat evening- too tired to go out-after a long day at the park- were very surprised- after reading the negative reviews -the food was delicious- enjoyed the state park which is about 15 minutes away-there is a lot to do there- my grandson enjoyed fishing, a civil war re-enactment was taking place that weekend-which we tremendously enjoyed- beautiful area!!

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor have a patio-
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepper001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallipolis, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Check-in and Check-out was efficient. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was acceptable although the room was somewhat small and the setup was inefficient. We did not eat in the restaurant due to reviews on this site.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were there for a class reunion.

The rooms were very comfortable and the restaurant was ok. Very nice continental breakfast. We had a balcony overlooking the firepit.

Very strange that there was no alcohol allowed in the conference center.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Beachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dellroy, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Beautiful scenery, excellant place. Staff was extremely friendly and room was very clean and comfortable. Food was another story. We've had better cuts of ribeye at a Ponderosa. Service was good in the restaurant and management was helpful on adjusting our bill for the meal. I don't know why, but it seams like every state park lodge we've eaten at, whether it be in Ohio or WV, had food that was subpar. Go to Chief Logan Lodge for a wonderful stay, just go somewhere else to eat. Oh, on a footnote, Verizon wireless, at least from Ohio, has no service in that part of the country.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Following the winding road up to Chief Logan Lodge made this destination really feel like we were 'getting away from it all'. Check-in was a breeze and there was plenty of parking. Our room was spacious and clean. The room had a back door that led to a small private patio which to a larger shared green with a fire pit and excellent view. Our room was on the ground floor; the rooms above us had a balcony. We appreciated the quality mattresses after spending our days visiting the Hatfield and McCoy sites within driving distance. Nearby, in one direction, there is a large shopping plaza with plenty of restaurants to choose from. In another direction you can find more quaint places to eat. I felt safe coming and going to my car and while relaxing on the patio under the stars watching heat lightning over the forested mountains. The indoor pool looked really inviting - families were having a wonderful time. I didn't really wander around the facilities but the front desk was manned with helpful employees when I shopped at the little gift shop there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Logan
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Logan
5.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Logan
4.6 mi away
Best Western Logan Inn
Best Western Logan Inn
#1 of 2 in Chapmanville
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Tug Valley Inn, Inc.
Tug Valley Inn, Inc.
#1 of 3 in Williamson
14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Chief Logan Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chief Logan Lodge & Conference Center

Property: Chief Logan Lodge & Conference Center
Address: 1000 Conference Center Drive, Logan, WV 25601
Region: United States > West Virginia > Logan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chief Logan Lodge & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to Chief Logan State Park, Chief Logan Lodge and Conference Center is located between Logan and Chapmanville, West Virginia. The mountain lodge is open year-round and offers upscale rooms, an indoor guest pool and hot tub, fitness center, conference center, full service restaurant, business center, gift shop and on-site free parking. The grand lobby features a fireplace and space for families to gather. An expansive outdoor patio area and small gazebo are also special places on lodge grounds to relax and enjoy the Mountain State scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chief Logan Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chief Logan Lodge, Hotel And Conference Center
Chief Logan Lodge, Hotel Logan
Chief Logan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing