We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Lost River
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$105
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Motel(Petersburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
48
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeneral storeb bhome goodssomeone else'swest virginiahidden jewelscreened in porchtonihostsjauntpropertyloungerelaxation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This was our first experience staying at a B & B. Ted and Toni were fabulous hosts. The food was A-MA-ZING and the accomodations were spacious and welcoming. The General Store is a must see and a must shop. We are definitely looking forward to the next time we can stay here. Thank you so much Ted and Toni for treating us we the most relaxing time we have experienced in a long time. We hope to see you very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d0llyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I enjoyed this rural gem of a B&B thoroughly. Full with 10 guests, the proprietors were running but produced the best breakfasts to order you can imagine. Food was great. They offered dinner our first full day and it was wonderful as well. Truly warm and low key country hospitality with great mattresses too. Beautiful spot (some road noise) but mostly quiet and very rural. On premises a very funky but sophisticated little general store/cafe with great ice creme and sandwiches, gifts and local products;they will prepare a box lunch for a hike or a canoe outinging, etc. Pretty spring fed stream, nearly next to the local craft guild store and valley museum and just next to the Yoga studio. If you like country with a bit of sophistication you will like this place. Ted and Tony deserve the accolades.

Room Tip: Spring house and smoke house in back probably have no road noise at all and might be considered suites.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoosierDaddy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

After spending a week with our children and grandchildren at a home rental in Massanutten, VA, we had booked a two day stay on the way home to NJ. What a pleasant surprise this B&B was. We stay at B&B's all the time, but this one was one of the best. The facility was tastefully decorated with a nice mix of antique and new furniture, not overly decorated like some. There are two nice common areas, one with a large screen TV. There is also a spacious outdoor deck and garden. Our room, on the ground floor, was very clean & comfortable, with a nice loveseat., The hosts, Ted & Tony are delightful people and made it a most wonderful experience. The breakfasts, which are served in the sunroom (the home's old enclosed porch) are delicious and beautifully presented, and there were 4 entree choices along with juice choices and a yogurt parfait. Ted prepares a complete dinner meal on Saturday night that was delicious and included dessert and coffee.There were 4 choices for the entree, and the price was reasonable. Complimentary beer & soda are always available in the sunroom. The general store, which is in a separate building in front of the B&B, has some interesting items, in addition to delicious sandwiches, etc. Just down the road is an old barn with local crafts and a little museum. Next door there's a yoga studio, and some friendly donkeys and sheep. About a half mile away there's some good bass fishing. There's also Lost River State Park with a swimming pool, hiking, canoeing and horseback riding. We also saw an eagle and a hawk. A few restaurants are also nearby. A young couple, that were staying at the B&B played violin and guitar both in the general store and in the evening at the B&B. Her violin playing was a special treat. Too bad the B&B is a five hour drive from our home, but we will return.

Room Tip: Our room was on the main floor, no steps, while the other 2 rooms are on the second floor..
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My husband and I had the opportunity to spend our wedding anniversary at the Inn at Lost River. It was such a treat! The Inn is surrounded by the mountains, which is so relaxing. There is a lot to to do too: hiking, several walking trails, horseback riding, and canoeing nearby (saw lots of natural wild life) or you can just lounge on the porch to read a book! The Inn is clean and tighty, beautifully decorated and the couple that run it, Toni & Ted, are so hospitable and not to mention AMAZING gourmet cooks! They also run a cute general store next to the Inn which has some wonderful treasures to buy...custom made place mats & napkins, rocking chairs, and cooking tools...to name a few! A memorable experience. We will definitely be going back! Thanks for the wonderful weekend, Toni & Ted!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teenbop15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at the Inn at Lost River for our first anniversary weekend. It was absolutely perfect. The hosts were so warm and welcoming and attentive, and the property is gorgeous. Loved our little Smokehouse cabin (separate from the main house). The breakfasts were AMAZING, everything fresh and not too heavy. I also loved the Summer House- a little outbuilding that's all screened in and perfect for lounging with a book. Great stuff to do nearby- rafting and horseback riding and hiking. We hope to make this an annual trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtakpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews