We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, well appointed, friendly staff... ahhhhhhhhhh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Lost River
Ranked #1 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is almost heaven in West Virginia. A lovely setting, easy to get to, tucked away, with a great pool area, lodge setting, etc. A lovely mix of both gay and straight patrons made for a really fun memorial day weekend. I've gone before, I'll go again! Tammy gives one of the best massages I've ever had, so don't miss that!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScorpionCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed at the guesthouse this last weekend! Absolutely amazing! Staff was extremely friendly and true meaning of hospitality! Food was also excellent! Overall an amazing experience. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNorBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This property cannot be called a B&B. It is more like a mini-resort. The staff were great, the accommodations were top-notch. (The room could not be any cleaner. I was very impressed.) I have to say that the food in the restaurant was extremely good, and the company in the bar was great I will certainly be back.

Room Tip: If it is open, go with the premier room. You will get your own private balcony area. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The wife and I spent the weekend at Guesthouse Lost River for out 20th wedding anniversary. Gary and Jesse are wonderful hosts and they did everything possible to make our stay a memorable one. The location is incredible; beautiful, quiet and secluded. The breakfast was delicious. Being served family style allowed us to comingle with the other guests allowing us to make new friends.

Dinner at the restaurant was top notch. Meals were created with locally sourced ingredients and in-season vegetables and fruits as much as possible. Friday night we had the Maryland Eastern Shore Crab Cake appetizer, Appalachian Regional Vegetable Soup, Hardy County Cabernet Chicken, and Atlantic Salmon Filet with Brown Sugar & Mustard Glaze. For dessert we had the raspberry cheesecake. Saturday night we had the Blackened Salmon Filet, Chicken Breast Stuffed with Herbed Goat Cheese (the special), and the Carrot /Ginger soup with Dill Crème Fresh. Dessert was the Key Lime Tart. We have nothing negative to say about the food at all. Both meals were awesome.

The bar has a good selection of beers, wines and cocktails and we enjoyed ourselves both nights there, having cocktails and hanging out with the other guests.

During the day on Saturday we had a nice drive out to the Shenandoah Valley to tour some of the wineries, shops, and farmer’s markets.

We stayed in Carriage House room #3. the views from the deck are awesome. The shower is a bit small but it wasn't anything we couldn't overcome.

We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Carriage House #3. Views from the deck are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Had a great weekend at the Guesthouse. The service was A+ at all times. Gary and Jesse make your stay absolutely perfect! It really goes a long way when they call you by your first name. All the food was delicious, the family-style eating for breakfast allows you to mingle and get to know the other guests. We had so much fun hanging out by the fire and playing games. Very relaxing weekend away. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The Guesthouse is always a great weekend away. Breakfast is something to look forward to every day. The restaurant has great food, and the rooms are big and clean. Hiking trails are just a few miles away. At night, when the sky is clear, the stars are beautiful at this location! I look forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We had a great weekend at guesthouse. Gary & Jesse are wonderful hosts. Our massage was fantastic. Thanks for putting a deal on living social. Our suite was beautiful. We had a great weekend away. The food was very good. Breakfast was included and was very generous.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammsw97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lost River
13.2 mi away
South Branch Inn Moorefield
South Branch Inn Moorefield
#1 of 2 in Moorefield
69 reviews
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
14.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
23.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
23.0 mi away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Lost River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lost River

Address: 288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810-8392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range: £125 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come find yourself in Lost River! Whether you're looking for an intimate getaway for two, a celebration with a group of friends or celebrating a life event such as your commitment ceremony or wedding, you've found the right resort with the Guesthouse at Lost River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guesthouse At Lost River Hotel Lost River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing