We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure... and so relaxing and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Lost River
Ranked #1 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure... and so relaxing and beautiful”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I've visited a few times over the years and brought my partner with me this last visit for his first time. We had a glorious weekend. It's a beautiful lodge with comfortable rooms and the friendliest staff. Gary, Jesse and the team make you feel at home, relaxed, and part of the community for your visit. The pool area is simply lovely, the restaurant and bar are enjoyable and cozy, especially the bar! It's a great weekend getaway with lots of nature and activities around the area, especially in the state park nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScorpionCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
160
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This place is a hidden gem just over the Virginia line in Lost River WV. The owners, Gary and Jesse make you feel like you at a guest in their home rather than a lodger. The property is nicely appointed and very clean. The restaurant offers a nice variety and everything we tried was delicious. We didn't actually spend the night, but arrived for lunch, then each had a massage, followed by time around the pool ( graciously offered by our hosts), an finished up the day with a delicious dinner. The meandering nature of the main building lends itself to finding a secluded porch or patio to relax quietly. I will be going back again and again. Food and beverage prices may be a bit out of reach for some guests, but there are other restaurants and grocery stores in the area if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Thank you so much to Jesse and Gary for the wonderful stay. It is refreshing to stay at an establishment where you actually get to meet the people who own and run it. Gary and Jesse make it like one big family retreat. Another plus is that every staff member we met had a smile and sincere greeting. The breakfast is a major plus! It is a place to get away from it all. Even though the Guesthouse was booked, my partner and I found our own little spot in the main house. It was wonderful to get lost for a little bit in our own little world. Of course the views are amazing! And don't forget to take a moment to watch the lightning bug light show and look up at the stars!! We will most definatly be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Jesse and Gary, the inn keepers/owners were very welcoming right from the start. The property is clean and well kept. The room that my boyfriend and I stayed in was very nice as was the pool area and the large recreational areas. The rec areas have a pool table as well as comfortable seating and all is decorated in a very rustic country meets modern theme that allows for a cozy and relaxing setting. We sat up at night playing board games, a round of pool, and then out on our front porch taking in the sunset over the trees. We stayed on a Sunday through Tuesday so we didn’t get to try the dinner that is served on Friday and Saturday, but if the inn’s breakfast is anything like the dinners, I am sure they are wonderful. The first day they served a quiche and fruit and the second a huge meal of eggs, bacon and really buttery biscuits. The property is about an hour and a half from Seneca Rocks and about twenty minutes from Lost River Brewery, which is a good dinner option during the week. It is right next to the Artisans Cooperative and museum, which is a must do. I would recommend the Guesthouse highly!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Guesthouse Lost River is hands down the finest example of hospitality that I have ever had the pleasure to experience. The grounds are beautiful, the decor is stunning, the pool area is welcoming and relaxing, and the food is delicious. The hosts are warm and charming and make everyone feel welcome. Gary and Jesse so obviously love their life and their home, and everyone who visits gets to bask in that love.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol-AnnInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My partner and I had a wonderful stay at the Guest House. It's a beautiful and unique property perched on the side of a mountain, overlooking the gorgeous WVA countryside. It's wonderful because it's quiet and remote, but full of warm and friendly people, good food, and all the conveniences for a very comfortable stay. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncope74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I spent 2 days at the Guesthouse while participating at a yoga retreat 1.5 miles up the road at friends' house. Proprietors couldn't have been more gracious. Beautiful, rustic elegance. Great common areas. Nice bar and restaurant. Beds were great - firm, new mattresses. Only wish the bathroom was a bit bigger - shower stall was small. All in all a nice relaxing vibe. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin away from the pool. Other friends stayed in building overlooking pool and their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna14200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lost River
13.2 mi away
South Branch Inn Moorefield
South Branch Inn Moorefield
#1 of 2 in Moorefield
65 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
23.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
277 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
229 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Lost River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lost River

Property: Guesthouse Lost River
Address: 288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810-8392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come find yourself in Lost River! Whether you're looking for an intimate getaway for two, a celebration with a group of friends or celebrating a life event such as your commitment ceremony or wedding, you've found the right resort with the Guesthouse at Lost River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guesthouse At Lost River Hotel Lost River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing