We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a Fine Weekend at the MMI”

Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlinton
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We were going to take the VP of operations for me of our largest accounts on a motorcycle ride in the Marlinton area on the weekend of May 8th. After reading a few of the reviews I became a little concerned but went ahead and booked MMI anyway.

Everything went very well. We arrived after midnight our first night and were treated well at checkin. The rooms were very clean and in order. Beds slept fine. There were two bulbs out ;-) but 8 other working bulbs in the room so we had plenty of light.

The next morning we had an xlnt country breakfast in the restaurant with the waitress being very friendly andhelpful, we enjoyed "cutting up"with her...both days.

One of our group had a minor emergency on our last day and we ended up checking our at about 7 Pm rather than staying. At checkout the eek employee offered to give us a partial credit for the night. We did not ask for this but gratefully accepted. This was a very nice gesture on their part and one I rarely have received elsewhere.

Our experience at the MMI was very good and a heckuva bargain. Everyone was very pleasant snd helpful an our rooms were quite clean.I have booked a second stay in two weeks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank khelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed here for one night with my boyfriend and to say we felt uneasy is an understatement! First, our room did not have any clocks in it and as soon as we made it inside, it felt a little "off" if that makes sense. Second, as we went outside to smoke, we kept seeing this strange bright light in the distance.... not necessarily anything to do with the motel, but it didn't help with the nervous feeling we both had. Then, I woke up in the middle of the night and thought I saw something like a black mass standing in the corner but shrugged it off because I was sleepy. The next morning as we were leaving, my boyfriend proceeds to tell me (without knowing what I saw) that he woke up a couple of times to what felt like someone breathing down his neck! He also said he saw a black mass but didn't wake me up because he didn't want to scare me. FREAKY!

In the morning, we packed and got out of there pretty quickly. I love visiting the town of Marlinton but this was the first time we've ever stayed overnight. If we stay again, I can assure you it will NOT be at the Marlinton Motor Inn!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarapricex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

In June we stayed here because they allowed pets. Big mistake. The lighting was so poor that I purchased brighter bulbs so I could read. When we left I gave the bulbs to a biker couple that had similar complaints. Place was NOT clean.
In Octtober we revisited the area. We made other arrangements.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 18thOtterCrewchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My wife and I like having a coffee pot and coffee available in the room because that's the first thing we want to do when we wake up: relax in bed for a while with a cup of coffee. It's important to us. So, I rose and put on the coffee, but it didn't work. Nothing. Tried the switch, tried two other sockets. No. So, I called the front desk and the woman seemed unconcerned about my need for coffee. She just noted the problem. I was waiting for a "Well just come down to the restaurant and get a couple cups on us." Nothing. So, as I was checking out I mentioned the problem again. She said, "Yeah, I'm the person you talked to on the phone." If she had offered a couple cups of free coffee for the road, I wouldn't be writing this review. Also, the room had a loud heater that rattled.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RiverTim50027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This place was fine for a very basic motel-- a blast-from-the-past of a
place, circa 1965. It is about the only motel in this excellent town for all-season
outdoor fun, though there are several very nice-looking Bed and Breakfast places in (or
very near) town as an alternative. I did a very careful bedbug check and found no
evidence in my room. There was a couple in the adjoining room with a dog, but I
never heard them. The room was clean, simple. BTW, eat in downtown Marlinton @ the
Dirt Bean--fabulous food and cool atmosphere, & no other good alternative nearby
except the restaurant at Watoga State Park..

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MobileMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Rooms are big and clean. Very dated but comfortable. AC unit was newer model. Hot water took a little bit to get heated up. Very friendly staff, nice lounge and the food is excellent. Comfortable bed. Walls are a little thin and im sure we kept the neighbors up doing the hibbity dibbity.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firstdownfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

This motel isn't new. The rooms are larger than the average motel room, not decorated by a designer, but are comfortable, clean, and have all that I needed. The staff are friendly and helpful. The resturant is a bit on the slow side, but food is good. The motel location is good, with easy access to & from Rt. #219. I have stayed in the motel (orginial & addition) sence the 70's and have never had a problem or concern. As a matter of fact I will be staying with my husband in October for 3 nights. All of my cousins stay here, as well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiDeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
11.4 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
74 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
120 reviews
22.7 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
5,350 reviews
11.4 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
143 reviews
11.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#20 of 24 in Snowshoe
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlinton Motor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlinton Motor Inn Motel

Address: Elk Route, Marlinton, WV 24954
Region: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlinton
Price Range: £67 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marlinton Motor Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring swimming pool, jacuzzi, restaurant, lounge, and Fenton Art Glass gift shop. 72 extra large rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers, and cable. non-smoking & smoking rooms available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Marlinton Motor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlinton Motor Hotel Marlinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing