We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice. Simple. ”

Greenbrier Grille & Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenbrier Grille & Lodge
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice. Simple. ”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Base room price is about 55 dollars, with 10 dollars each additional person. No military, AAA, or AARP discounts. 12% in various taxes. Children under 12 are free.

Room lacks refrigerator and microwave. However, I've noticed that several other lodges in town don't have microwaves, stating that it's part of some ordinance. View of Greenbrier river is beautiful. Beds are comfortable, plenty of blankets, towels, and space. My family of four was comfortable with the size of room. People are nice. Checking in was easy.

No wheelchair access to the rooms, that I've noticed. Stairs seemed ominous being 6 months pregnant with two kids and luggage, but we made it!

Restaurant has great food. Great appetizers. Service can be extremely slow, however, they have options to order ahead if you're in a hurry. You get a 10% discount on their already low menu prices if you're staying in the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

First off this is a restaurant with I think 5 rooms on the second floor. I have stayed here before so it was not a terrible experience. You have to go up the outside stairs to get to the second floor from the deck that goes most of the way around the building and ha a beautiful view of the Greenbrier River. The check in is in the restaurant. If you eat there you get a 10% discount for staying there. The rooms are decent and clean. It almost feels like a b&b room. My room this time had an almost constant noise from what sounded like the hvac unit for the restaurant but I am not sure. For $55 I had a view of the river that was great. You are in the country and while you can wander about town there are no large stores or fancy bars to go to. I will say that over the years I have been going there I have seen some improvements but a few of the older unique establishments have closed. A half hour away is Snowshoe if you want flash.

Room Tip: I know room 1 has a river view and I think 3. Room 5 has a view out the front with some of the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motorcycle-tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

If you are going solo, this is a pretty good bet. An air conditioned room for 45 bucks, with good cable TV selection and a small flat screen. For an overnight stay for a hiker/biker, nothing wrong with this choice at all.

Only issue I had was slow, late check in - room was not ready until 3:30 PM - but it's a minor thing. The carpet was also pretty stained/cruddy but the rest of the room was clean. If I went back solo to Marlinton to ride the trails I'd stay there again. But I'd never take my wife here :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich_in_Richmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuBois, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

If you are staying in Marlinton and can not do without cell service or internet, this is one of your two choices. The staff does not know how to check you in or out or give receipts. Service to rooms during multi-night stays is does not happen. And there is no one around after 9 pm. Also, in some rooms (but not all) you can hear your neighbor peeing and they can probably hear me snoring.

But if all you need is a room to sleep in, it is great! You can open your windows and hear the ducks on the river. The restaurant downstairs would be great if they would realize walls don't have to be white and lighting can be non- fluorescent. But it does have good pie. Also you can walk to a couple other restaurants and later in the week there is a bar across the street.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sabulodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
2.9 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
58 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
113 reviews
13.6 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbrier Grille & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbrier Grille & Lodge

Property: Greenbrier Grille & Lodge
Address: 814 First Avenue, Marlinton, WV 24954
Region: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Marlinton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Greenbriar River in the heart of Marlinton, WV, the Greenbrier Lodge has five rooms with private baths and features cable TV, ceiling fan, central heat and air conditioning, phone with computer hookups. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing