We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
271
123
49
31
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
123
49
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub thatched roof beautiful village great beer roaring fire sunday roast duck full english eggs benedict fantastic location chipping norton following morning one night stay clay pipes blenheim palace ales cotswolds
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018

This was a special midweek night out for us and our friends visiting us from Canada. They knew the pub and wanted to return to this idyllic village. Wandsworth who own this pub are very fortunate, it must be there flagship. Located in the best north Oxfordshire countryside and must be one of the most original pubs in the country.
Ok that’s the positives, we ordered our four meals from what is basic but posh versions of standard pub grub, they can push the price up in this area as at weekends it’s most full of the green welly brigade from the cities playing at being country folk.
Good beer and expensive wine saw us through until our food was served, fish and chips,meat pie and the risotto. Good potions but bad on quality, the ladies did not finish there fish mainly because of the poor chewy batter the risotto was average and the pie had extremely poor quality meat. If it was half the price it may have been just acceptable.
So verdict?
Weatherspoons would have been better but I admit not the surroundings.
Wadsworths please note, we pay good money just please serve good food.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Cristofipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for a drink and stayed for Sunday roast. All inside tables were booked. We were happy to eat outside and watch the horses go by. Roast beef and chicken were the order of the day. Both presented nicely with roast potatoes carrots and parsnips with cabbage. All were cooked very well and the beef was medium rare. Good selection of ales. Booking a must.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

We stayed at The Falkland Arms overnight about a week ago. We had a very warm welcome on our arrival and our room had not long been beautifully refurbished. It seemed that no expense had been spared on it and the soft furnishings were just stunning. A very comfortable room ( and bed ) although sadly the bathroom was just soooooo small! We had a delicious meal in the evening, the bar area has great ambiance . This place is delightful. Would we return ? yes of course but would request a room with a bigger bathroom !

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We went to the pub for lunch to celebrate my mum's 69th birthday. Positives were obviously the lovely building and the two young women serving who were working like mad to keep the whole thing running. That's where it ends unfortunately. We arrived at 1pm and our food came at 2.30pm by which point the adults had lost their appetite and my daughters were extremley hungry. There was obviously a problem in the kitchen as we heard the chef getting agitated and we were told there was only 1 chef as opposed to 2 and that instead of prioritising us he had been serving the smaller tables. The worse thing though was the quality of the food. The risotto was too thick and very salty and the 'rustic garlic bread' was french bread halved with very little flavour. The worst, however, was the fish finger sandwich which was several pieces of hard batter between bread with no fish in site. Literally a batter sandwich. This was then replaced by a tuna sandwich which was fine but the salad on the side was slimey. By this point I'd given up asked for a discount, was given 15% and we left. Despite the beautiful setting I would not recommend this pub.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank familyoffive14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

i've a cottage in chipping norton and been travelling between there and my home since 2016 and only just found the falklands.
the staff are a real credit to the place, very friendly. my partner and i went for lunch recently and sat outside in the lovely sunshine with our dogs. we had a risotto starter each which in itself was plentiful and delicious.
we will certainly be visiting again as its a mere 5 minutes up the road from Chippy! next time we will try the sunday roast.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews