We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, and rotten staff attitude”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced, and rotten staff attitude”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

It was Memorial Day weekend, and my partner and I were heading home from Miami to Toronto.

We've always been pleased with Econo Lodges, but this was overpriced for what we got.

Room was basic, nothing fancy, and should have been at least $25 cheaper.

We arrived and unpacked around 10:30 p.m. At 11 - we noticed the toilet handle was not working properly. By 11, we spoke to the young woman at the front desk, who offered to switch us to another room, "But the maintenance man will be here within the hour and can fix the toilet." We said ok, as we had already unpacked, and were exhausted.

By midnight, the maintenance man had not arrived. The woman at th desk had no clue when he would be arriving - "maybe the next morning".

Had we been told IMMEDIATELY that the maintenance man was not arriving, we would have switched rooms. I AM LIVID that we were not told the truth from the beginning, and obviously owners/managers do not communicate with their night staff.

I should not have to pay for playing toilet, and for dishonesty.

When I reported the incident, the following day, the manager/owner at the front desk shrugged and said, "sorry." NO OFFER OF COMPENSATION.

I had to report this incident to Choice Hotels, and it took three times speaking to a Choice rep before I was satisfied. I don't think Choice customer service got anywhere with management.

I'm angriest at the staff miscommunication, dishonesty and attitude. a working toilet is a basic necessity.

Room and breakfast are ok if you're just passing through.
It's not worth more than $50 a night. (We paid about $75 with tax).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RivitheLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    13
    24
    13
    24
See reviews for
25
21
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My daughter and I stayed here one night while moving her back across the country. The hotel is old and worn out. From what we could tell is occupied mainly by truckers who hang out at the entrances to smoke. There was no hairdryer, iron or ironing board as was advertised. Internet access was spotty at best. We could not wait to leave the next morning.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DianaB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morgantown hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed at this econo lodge listed above in WV. Check in staff was ignorant. She acted as if we were bothering her by checking in. Room was disgusting, floor was not swept and when I pulled back the bedspread, the pillow was full of hairs! Upon closer inspection, found that many hairs were all over the beds. It was a foul, foul disgusting experience! Do not ever stay at this motel ever! I called the 800 national number for this chain and complained until I received an apology and monetary satisfaction.

Room Tip: Stay away from this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janwheel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendall Park, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Every year, we stay at the Econo Lodge for Homecoming. Our Alumni Band friends always know where to find us. The staff at the front desk remembers us and are always very accommodating and friendly. They honor room requests if at all possible, and are quick to resolve any issues such as need for a new light bulb. It isn't the newest motel in the area, but it's clean and run well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVUDrummergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

arrived at this hotel very late at night with my two young children for a short break only from Toronto. The location is good being close to the highway, the bad news is- the room is dirty, carpet was dirty, bathtub was with dirt stains on all sides, window dirty, aircon was blowing dust and noisy, fridge not cooling much and the freezer was full of hard iced. Breakfast was disgusting- stale muffins and pastries, coffee didn't taste fresh, white sliced bread still in a bag- not even presented in a tray. No cereals or fruit to offer the children.
The breakfast area is in the same side of the reception and too close to the entrance. Room decor obsolete and dusty. The price was okay but it would have been better to offer it for a much lower price!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank havensprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We were fortunate to get a room anywhere in Morgantown for the night as everything was sold out so we were happy to get this room, however, it is nothing special, just a typical motel, but there was a smoky and musty smell, and some good ol' boys were a bit noisy but by nighttime it was quiet. Probably wouldn't have been our first choice, but it gave us a place to sleep and it was reasonably clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChildOfTheSixties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckley, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

As said before the place smelled like a giant ash tray. I had a discount coupon is the only reason I stayed. They accepted the coupon but didn't honor it upon check out. Avoid at all costs. The staff is not at all helpful. I got out of here after only one night. I stayed some where else for the duration of my visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mor422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#19 of 24 in Morgantown
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
2.1 mi away
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
#14 of 24 in Morgantown
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 24 in Morgantown
46 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#16 of 24 in Morgantown
219 reviews
3.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 15 Commerce Dr, Morgantown, WV 26501-3875
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Morgantown
Morgantown Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing