We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was a quick get away to relax and visit with friends. I found the resort easy to find right off Rte 68 without congested roads and highways. It was very scenic area and I enjoyed the peaceful serenity of the area. Although not a golfer the resort offered excellent food (Legends and Fusion) at a reasonable cost. The room decor was very stylish with separate make up mirror area from the bathroom. Coffee maker made it easy to have that first quick morning caffeine fix to start my day off. The room and bath was immaculately clean and the bed very comfortable. The service was excellent, from finding where I could buy helium balloons to where to park during the busy evening activities (they had 4-5 people directing cars to available parking spots). They several large outdoor wooden decks that overlook the golf course and are great places to relax with meet with family and friends. I am already planning my next visit to the Lakeview Resort to take in some white water rafting and hiking at Cooper's Rock. Had a fabulous time and would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVRoomsManager, Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort. We're glad that you are please with our recent improvements to the hotel. White water rafting on the Cheat is a must do on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

A friend and I visiting Morgantown over the weekend stayed one night at Lakeview Resort. The rooms appear to be recently renovated and were clean and comfortable. Even though the hotel was busy that Saturday night hosting some private parties and a prom (!) downstairs...we had no problems up in the room with noise. The wireless internet worked great.

Of course a big attraction here are the golf courses and we don't golf, but it makes for pretty scenery. I also saw several families including one that seemed to be having a family reunion. There is definitely elevator access to the upper floors if you go through the lobby. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful when asked about local attractions, where to find something, etc. We dined in both Legends (lunch) and Fusion (breakfast buffet) and both were excellent. The location allowed easy access to the interstate or local roads for getting around. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVRoomsManager, Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We would like to thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. We hope that you will join us again on your next visit to Morgantown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just went on a golf trip with a bunch of buddy's to lakeview in Morgantown. It wasn't anything less than outstanding. the prices were very reasonable and the courses were absolutely in great condition. Our rooms were very spacious and clean and the food was fabulous!! Thanks again Lakeview, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVRoomsManager, Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review. It's always nice to hear feedback from our frequent guests on what they think of our recent improvements. There are still more upgrades to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our family arrived at the Lakeview for a family-oriented conference. Having two rooms reserved, they offered us one of the timeshare Condos for the same price, which we loved.

We were in Condo 18, but I'm assuming they're all mostly the same. Upstairs had 2 bedrooms: Master w/ Queen bed, swivel chair and bathroom w/ jetted tub, 2nd bedroom with 2 twins beds and shower. Both bedrooms have TVs. Downstairs has another 1/2 bath, a full washer/dryer, a full kitchen and a love-seat and sleeper sofa with another TV. Balconies are off of the master and the living area. There was a gas fireplace which wasn't working. Each condo has 1 assigned parking spot.

The hotel itself is pretty spread out. We attended conferences in the seminar rooms on level 2, which is actually downstairs from the main lobby. This was a very busy resort with lots of events happening simultaneously. The staff were all super friendly to our two young children. There is not a ton to do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. For example, there isn't a single pizza place that will deliver to the resort. The resort bar/restaurant does offer pizza, but it is a bit overpriced and it's not the best quality. If you need supplies or want to shop, it's at least a 15-20 minute drive into Morgantown.

Parking is the biggest issue they have. During the day, golfers take all of the parking spots closest to the hotel entrance, which means hotel guests who are paying to stay there have the longest walks. Later in the day, while the golfers are still on the course, and guests are arriving for other events (weddings, etc.) the lot is at capacity. People park in the lanes of the parking lot, which makes navigating the lot in anything larger than a golf cart quite difficult. We even encountered golfers 'tailgating' from the back of their pick-up trucks in the afternoon. If I were to make a suggestion, it would be for the hotel to issue parking passes to all guests of the hotel and only allow those vehicles to park in the main parking lot. Golfers who are only on site for the golf course should have to park in the lower lot which is directly adjacent to the actual course. I would also suggest having a parking attendant on site during the busiest times to make sure that guests are parking in areas that make it difficult to navigate the already-filled parking lot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdwgbgpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Like stepping into a page of one of my favorite novels, my family and I attended the Lakeview Resort's Easter Buffet. I have never experienced something so extravagant in our hometown! We started by checking in with the concierge as we had a 1pm reservation. I was impressed that our wait was minimal as I found out they were serving nearly a thousand people for this event throughout the day. Then as we were directed into the dining area, the white linens on the tables glistened because the natural light from the wall of picture windows overlooking the lake beamed into the dining room. The selection of food was way more than one person could consume in a day, let alone for one meal. There were fancy breakfast foods, seafood (shrimp, crab legs, and smoked salmon), a pasta bar where you could create your own Italian delight, a carving station for prime rib, a bread display with various different breads and pastries and other a la carte items sprinkled here and there amongst the buffet items. As if that wasn't enough of a "wow" factor, there was the Candy Land room. It was festively decorated for Easter with white lattice, sparkling lights,Easter baskets and candy and cakes EVERYWHERE! My children could not believe their eyes nor could they stuff their little hands with candy fast enough! For the grown up taste, there was a buffet table of fancy cakes ranging from carrot cake to cheesecake along with bowls and bowls of your favorite candies. To top it off, the Easter Bunny was available for pictures and hugs in the middle of this candy bliss. This was a fabulous experience for my family and I would recommend it to anyone. It is a "must do" whether you are a Morgantown native or just visiting!

Room Tip: We were only here for the brunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVRoomsManager, Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for joining us for our Easter Buffet! It is one of our most popular events of the year and we are glad that you enjoyed it so much. Please join us again for our other holiday events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The furniture looked like it was pieced from yard sales, there was crusty "stuff" on the bedskirt, mildew or mold on the ceiling although it does look like they covered most of it with a very poor patch job, tub liner was cracked and squishy, mattresses appear to be very old, thick dust/crud on baseboards throughout the room. I called the front desk to see if they had anything better. Front desk clerk said she thought they had rooms on the 1st floor that were being renovated but the room I was in was the best they had. She offered to send housekeeping to replace the bedskirt. The front desk manager then called and asked if I had a flat screen, when I replied yes, she said my room had been renovated. The furniture "style" they wanted to keep the old look of the hotel through the renovation. The hotel was a dump. I learned from a friend in the business in the area they buy their furniture from other hotels in the area when they are renovating. I would have checked out immediately but I was attending a wedding there that weekend. Beware. It's more a $40/night hotel, not $100.

Room Tip: If you must stay here take cleaning supplies. You'll need them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy_tripvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We paid for a king suit for a recent event, and received confirmation email saying that our king suite was reserved. We booked with part of a group and another member of the group also upgraded to a king suite. When we arrived, we signed the receipt with the correct amount to be charged ($128) for our king suite. We got to our room and found it to be a double suite with 2 full sized beds. We immediately called the front desk and Mercedes (front desk receptionist) responded by saying, "your reservation shows that you booked a double suite" (after we had JUST signed the paper with them at the front desk for a KING suite. After telling us it was our mistake repeatedly, we said we were on our way back to the front desk to show them the email. All of a sudden she said, "no, no that isn't necessary... I actually see here where you did request a king suite. Unfortunately, since you booked with a group, you can only upgrade to a double suite." This is NOT what they said on the phone while booking, and this is NOT what we paid for. Soon after, we learned that the other member in our group who paid for a king suite was able to check in NO PROBLEM and got the suite he paid for. We told Mercedes this, and she said, "We're sorry for the inconvenience, unfortunately all the king suites are unavailable. We will provide you with free breakfast as compensation." We called back AGAIN (absolutely furious) and said how unprofessional it was that they couldn't admit THEIR booking mistake, and KNOWINGLY sent us to discover the WRONG room. We said, "So since you bait-and-swithched us, didn't apologize for YOUR mistake, and accused US of booking incorrectly, what are we going to do about this?" Once the bait-and-switch phrase was brought up, she decided to discount our rate $25, but refused to apologize for THEIR mistake and only said, "We're sorry for the inconvenience." Extremely unprofessional. Here's a review of our stay:

-unprofessional customer service
-Didn't get the room we paid for
-dirty bath tub
-ring of the bath tup faucet fell off
-had to call twice for more towels, and they took over an hour to get
-Not at all worth the money

Needless to say, we will never be staying here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
6.7 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 24 in Morgantown
55 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
124 reviews
5.9 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
315 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#11 of 24 in Morgantown
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Lakeview Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-8061 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range: £61 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing