We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice Resort!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here for the Joz Noz Kidz Celebrity Golf outing the Weekend of June 27. The rooms very very clean, the service was second to none and the amenities were fabulous and they had a nice bar just off site you can walk to called Tropix.
There is no doubt in my mind, if you are looking for a hotel that will give the big boys a run for their money, I would seriously recommend Lakeview for a stay in the Morgantown/Cheat Lake area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    122
    110
    86
    67
See reviews for
177
132
16
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I'll start off by saying Cheat Lake is gorgeous and this resort is in a beautiful part of the country.

That being said, the resort definitely needs some work. The rooms are more in line with that of a super 8. Not exactly what I would call a resort. The first thing we noticed upon entering our room was a fishy/mildew smell. The room was cold and felt almost damp. The linens were decent. No really complaints, just not what you would expect at a "resort".

The outdoor pool was warm, clean, and pretty. Definitely outdated, but as long as it's clean I don't really care.

The lobby was gorgeous. If they would redo the rooms to match the lobby, it would be beautiful.

If you want a nice place to get away in WV, I would definitely recommend Stonewall Resort or Canaan Valley Resort over Lakeview.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Looking for a couples getaway in West Virginia, having recently moved from Miami, we were nervous when we read the lakeview reviews on trip advisor. I am so glad we Ignored the reviews and went!!! I believe having a pleasurable experience is all about EXPECTATIONS! This trip was exactly what I expected, a great, affordable, mini vacation to connect with ourselves, one another and West Virginia!

You cannot see the lake from the hotel, but a drive around it is romantic. I am an avid spa goer and thought the services at spa Roma were top notch and wonderfully priced, we had a couples massage.

The hotel is clean and comfortable, if you care about thread count or wall color, you belong at the Breakers in Palm beach-not here. If you prefer to actually experience your vacation instead of counting your hotel bathroom's square footage, the lakeview will work for you!

We experienced the breakfast, which fit the bill (typical complementary offering, I probably wouldn't pay for it ). We had snacks and drinks on site as well. Beautiful views of the course on the balcony while enjoying the day's beverage special. Flatbread and burgers were tasty.

We also enjoyed the Heston farms package, which was organized through the hotel, it is a really nice taste of WV! If you are lucky enough Mr. Heston will take you on your tour of the facility and wow you with his WV ingenuity and hospitality! The dinner was amazing, great value!

In summary, a nice place for a weekend getaway, if you have the right expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romulus, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in this resort Jan 1-5 2014. The resort was great however the incline to get to our condo was nearly impossible. The activities listed did not happen 40% of the time but that may have been due to the weather as well. The gym facilities were wonderful although the pool was a bit small and there was little supervision of the young Kids in the hot tub but I guess that falls to the parents. Our condo was clean and we had all the necessary dishes and utensils with the exception of a corkscrew which I was more than happy to go out in the snowstorm to purchase. The spa was great and the ladies there were very kind and helpful. Overall a very nice mini vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpackingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVRoomsManager, Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return when we have nicer weather and you can enjoy all of the activites that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

A lot of positives seen at Lakeview....the Registration Staff were extremely friendly, allowing me to get my room an hour early. I was told that I was given a better room...not sure what that meant. The hotel lobby was beautiful. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The sports bar/restaurant was a nice place to spend time and the food was excellent. I do not golf...but the golf course was beautifully manicured. The hotel is older but there have been a lot of renovations in the rooms and main hotel areas. The outdoor pool appeared to be rarely used as there were very few chairs and it appeared that it could use upgrades...but if you needed a dip, it would fulfill your needs. It was clean, as well as the indoor pool. The indoor pool was nostalgic with low ceilings and darkness from being built on a low level without skylights. There were plenty of guest that did use the hot tub. I know that most guest go to play golf or for weddings. I really enjoyed my stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Treasa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVRoomsManager, Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We are currently undergoing renovations in our guest rooms and are glad to see you enjoyed the changes. We hope you will join us again to see our continuing upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had the pleasure to plan my daughters wedding here for two years and the event took place recently and every detail was excellent.The entire staff was professional ,prompt and a pleasure to deal with.Shelby in the catering office was a standout to deal with.This location is a great facility for everything we could have hoped for.Thank you to everyone involved with making our family event a truly fantastic event.

Room Tip: The suites across from the indoor pool have an outside patio with a view of the lake that is teriffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVRoomsManager, Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Lakeview Resort & Spa as the venue for your daughter's wedding. We are pleased to hear that everyone enjoyed themselves over the celebration weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I am not certain why other reviewers rated this hotel poorly. It was established in 1956, so it is not a brand new shiny beach resort. It is a nice, clean hotel nestled in the mountains of WV with beautiful views of the mtns and lake.  

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajwrenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
6.7 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#8 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
4.9 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Property: Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Lakeview Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-8061 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing