We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a few problems.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights. Problem was we came back to the room at 6:30pm the following day and the room hadn't been cleaned. We had to ask that it be cleaned on two of the three days we stayed there. Front desk explanation was they clean rooms based on check outs first then the rest. Well ah If you stay one night its not a problem. Understaffed hotel is the problem. Breakfast was lackluster, we ate elsewhere. Nice location with poor management.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

The room was clean and nicely decorated. Only complaint is that the sheets did not fit well on the king size bed and kept slipping off. Internet access was very good. Hotel lost power during the night, and no one had much to say about it. Breakfast was mediocre. The hotel is in an area of fast food restaurants: Chilis, Red Lobster, Olive Garden, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have stayed at several Fairfields along our journey from Maryland to South Dakota and back. This Fairfield did not disappoint! We were expecting it to be a little more expensive due to the fact that Morgantown is a college town, but the price was the same as our room in Madison, Wisconsin and this one was a suite! Our 2 Queen bed included 2 tvs, a nice desk, spacious bathroom, mini-fridge and microwave, and nice modern decor. Would suggest it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay with restaurants and stores in close proximity.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelbylynn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stopped at the Fairfield Inn on our way to Myrtle Beach, the hotel is right off the highway, and situated up in the mountains, so it's a nice view. There was a strong sulpher smell when you first entered the lobby, but not in the rooms. The hotel lobby, and rooms were very clean and modern, and a nice pool. There is a Craker Barrel restaurant located next door, and several other restaurants, gas stations, a shopping mall and a movie theater, very close by. It was an ideal location to make an overnight stop. Parking is included as well as breakfast, the next day. They also have coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available throughout the day and night which is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgirlwaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My 6yr old son and I stayed here while visiting family. No complaints everything was great, room was clean and comfortable, breakfast choices were good and very convientent to shopping, restaruants, and movie theater. Very easy to find, right off I-79. We flew in to Pittsburg and only had about 1hr 15min drive to Morgantown...had no problems finding this hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleE531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here July 9. We were in Morgantown to pick up our son from soccer camp at wvu. I really couldn't tell what hotels were closet to his campus location, so I decided this would be a nice central location to all points. It turned out to be that. We had a king room which was not ready on arrival so we went to a local winery.

After checkin we changed into bathing suits. The pool was inside but adjacent to a courtyard with table and chairs. We pulled ours into the grass to cut down on the heat. Very pleasant.

There ws no hair dryer in my room but it arrived within minutes of requesting it. Our room was clean, the bathroom was spotless, and we heard no noise. We did not have a frig which certainly would have been handy. Breakfast was the usual. There was an ample selection and ample seating

We were adjacent to several restaurant chains but it was impossible to walk to them. The crackle barrel was within walking distance.

I run but there was no place safe to run. I used the exercise room and I had the whole place to myself for 30 mins

We ate in the wharf district and walked the rail trail. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mekopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were looking for a hotel to stay at on our way home from a trip to Indianapolis. We were planning on staying at the Springhill Suites (also owned by Marriott) but got totally lost trying to find it and also realized the location was going to be extremely inconvenient! We wanted a hotel right off the highway and near restaurants, etc. We saw this hotel on a high hill off the highway exit and turned our car around to go find it! It was a very good decision!!! This hotel, as I mentioned, is located on a high hill with beautiful views of the mountains, etc.!! As we learned, it is located in a newly-developed area with lots of stores and restaurants. Right next door is a Cracker Barrell and down the hill are several restaurants, such as Longhorn Steakhouse, Olive Garden, Chile's, Cheddars, etc. There are also many, many stores, such as Target, all within about a 30-second drive!!! The lobby of the hotel is very clean and nice and features free cookies and coffee!! Everyone who worked there was extremely nice, and they have a great pool and hot tub (my children especially loved the pool since we were the only ones to use it!!). The rooms are plenty spacious and ours had a great view (which we did ask for at the front desk). The curtains had a little bit of dirt and the bed's headboard had some sort of stain but other than that it was very nice!! We ate dinner at Olive Garden, which was wonderful, and stopped by the store at Cracker Barrel afterwards for some treats!! The hotel had a free breakfast, which was very nice. Overall, we just loved this hotel, and the location is absolutely perfect!!! We have already decided we want to go back for a weekend trip to the area and stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MominVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Morgantown
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#5 of 24 in Morgantown
558 reviews
3.1 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#12 of 24 in Morgantown
684 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Morgantown / University Town Centre
5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#8 of 24 in Morgantown
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown

Address: 161 Lewis Drive, Morgantown, WV 26501-2445 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown Granville)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range: £68 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Morgantown, WV hotel is close to West Virginia University and Mountaineer Field, and steps from shops and restaurants in University Town Centre. Our Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown Granville is also near Mylan Park, Coopers Rock, Prickets Fort, and the beautiful Monongahela River. Start your day with our hot complimentary breakfast, relax with a swim in our heated indoor pool, or work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Morgantown Granville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown Granville Hotel Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing