We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a great football season!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Thanks for a great football season!”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed at the FFI in Morgantown four times in September and October because we have season tickets for WVU football. Yes, the rooms are more expensive during the football games but this is true of every hotel in Morgantown (and every big college town) during football game weekends.

This is a relatively new property but management is keeping it up well. The hotel was always clean and in good repair. There is a very good continental breakfast available each morning. We received a local newspaper at our door, even on Sunday. Very well located with several restaurants and stores right outside the hotel.

I especially want to compliment the staff at this property. They were always friendly and welcoming during each of our stays. We had no problems, but I felt that if we did they would be handled immediately. See you next year!

Room Tip: We prefer to get a room with two queens even when it is just two of us. The king bedded rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSUAGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    83
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
108
52
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ont
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stopped here on our way to South Carolina. This is a nice new property located in an area with many new retail outlets as well as several chain restaurants. It is easily reached from I-75 and once in the area everything seems quite convenient.
The staff were very nice and willing to please. The room was clean and quiet but modestly equipped. So help me I can't understand why Marriott, a large American firm, supplies shampoo made in China. There are US companies that make shampoo. The towels were cheap and rough. Breakfast was not fancy but OK. This facility could be improved with a few simple steps.

Room Tip: I paid less for a Marriott Courtyard on the same trip. To me this hotel priced on the high side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starsky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed here once a while back for business getting our standard corporate rate charge and was very satisfied. The only complaint that I have is that when I went to make some return reservations all of a sudden the room was about $60 a night more expensive because of either Mountainfest or football games which they felt enabled them to charge outrageous rates because hotel rooms were in such high demand.

This scenario left a bad taste in my mouth so I have hence been staying elsewhere and I have no plans to return in the near future!! For some short term $$ gains (because they could) they lost a long term customer (because I could).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark19591977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Being a parent of a WVU student gives you a specially discounted rate. The rooms are really nice, beds are firm, but pillows actually hurt my neck. I've asked for new ones, but they're all the same. I usually bring my own king-sized ones from home. The Fairfield is close to everything, from shopping malls to every restaurant type you can think of; there's a Cracker Barrel in the same parking lot, as well as eight others on the way out, from an Olive Garden to a from a Red Lobsters...not to mention a gas station at the base of the hill. The Marriott's Fairfield Inn has exceptional service personnel at the front desk and also in the FREE breakfast bar area in the mornings. You get several different free newspapers, access to the indoor pool, the jacuzzi/whirlpool, and a small, but entirely adequate gym. Their continental breakfast is in a lounge with tables and chairs, armchairs, sofa, flat screen TV, etc. You make your own Begian waffles, toast three different kinds of bread, two or three types of bagels with cream cheese, butter or margarine, Jimmy Dean sausage and egg biscuits that need to be microwaved; yogurts, four kinds of breakfast cereals, hard-boiled eggs, three kinds of juices and two kinds of milk, and the list goes on; not bad for a free continental breakfast. They have hot water for tea, freshly-made coffee, either leaded or unleaded, fresh fruit, including red and green apples and bananas. Checking in and checking out is a breeze!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed one nice and had no problems. The room was very clean, good prices, and free breakfast with waffles, eggs, Jimmy Dean buscuits that you can heat and coffee and juice. Very nice stay. They are right off the highway, on a hill with a view. There is a Cracker Barrel next door.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleyTMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights. Problem was we came back to the room at 6:30pm the following day and the room hadn't been cleaned. We had to ask that it be cleaned on two of the three days we stayed there. Front desk explanation was they clean rooms based on check outs first then the rest. Well ah If you stay one night its not a problem. Understaffed hotel is the problem. Breakfast was lackluster, we ate elsewhere. Nice location with poor management.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArlingtonVA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The room was clean and nicely decorated. Only complaint is that the sheets did not fit well on the king size bed and kept slipping off. Internet access was very good. Hotel lost power during the night, and no one had much to say about it. Breakfast was mediocre. The hotel is in an area of fast food restaurants: Chilis, Red Lobster, Olive Garden, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#5 of 25 in Morgantown
645 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Morgantown
3.1 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#4 of 25 in Morgantown
521 reviews
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Address: 161 Lewis Dr, Morgantown, WV 26501-2445 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown Granville)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Morgantown, WV hotel is close to West Virginia University and Mountaineer Field, and steps from shops and restaurants in University Town Centre. Our Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown Granville is also near Mylan Park, Coopers Rock, Prickets Fort, and the beautiful Monongahela River. Start your day with our hot complimentary breakfast, relax with a swim in our heated indoor pool, or work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Morgantown Granville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown Granville Hotel Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing