We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for WVU Homecoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for WVU Homecoming”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We stay here every year we go to WVU Homecoming. It is right on High St. and the parade passes right in front of the hotel. Being downtown is such a plus, near all of the restaurants and bars.

The hotel is clean and the staff is really friendly. If you like historic architecture, you'll love the building and the interior of the hotel. There is a good sized fridge in the room (holds a case of beer), a coffee pot, large sized bathroom, and every room has a sofa and a desk. The bed is really great with a selection of pillows. Its not a huge room, but is is extremely comfortable. Not your standard chain hotel room.

There is both a lobby bar and a restaurant and bar on the top (8th) floor. The food was really good, at least the appetizers that we ate each night. In fact on Friday, the restaurant staff specially delivered food from the restaurant to the lobby bar for our group. We spent Saturday night hanging out on the roof-top bar/restaurant, overlooking Morgantown and saw a beautiful sunset.

Breakfast, which is included with your stay, is served every morning with a wide selection of food, fresh made waffles, milk/coffee/juices, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, pastries, fruit, and best of all, sausage gravy and biscuits. Basic, but there was a lot available.

For those who start the day with the newspaper, there are stacks of three different papers available in the lobby.

If you stay in this hotel, please remember that you are staying in an historic hotel. Don't expect upscale and trendy. It is clean and comfortable, appropriate for the time it was built, but is is not the Ritz.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachdinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    81
    48
    25
    7
See reviews for
67
55
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The Hotel Morgan is the perfect location if you want to enjoy Morgantown eateries and night life located downtown. It is within walking distance of many restaurants and bars. As one of the oldest hotels in Morgantown, it has retained the charm lacking in newer hotels, and the quirks that come along with that.

Some people may find the quirks annoying. It smells old. They still allow smoking in the rooms, and if you don't smoke, avoid those rooms if at all possible. My husband got shocked when he pushed the down arrow on the elevator. Once we checked in our room, it hadn't been really cleaned, and housekeeping said the room had been used by a customer who usually only stays a couple hours. Check your refrigerator for left overs from previous guests. Don't expect much more than clean towels from daily housekeeping. Don't bother valet parking and keep track of your car at the meters.

We have stayed there many times, and have taken the same attitude as you might about elderly, annoying relatives (usually of the spinster, eccentric variety) who take you out to a nice dinner then subject you to corny jokes or embarrassing discussion about their latest health problem. Just part of the package.

If you are looking for new, sterile and efficient, you probably won't like it. If not, see you there soon.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NjoyNLifeandLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

You can't beat the location of the 'Clarion' Hotel Morgan if you have business to deal with on WVU's campuses. Built in the 1920's, it's located downtown and was fully restored about 10 years ago. It's pretty cool and there are some really nice shops, restaurants (and college bars) downtown, too. The Walnut St. PRT (personal rapid transit) station is one block away. It can take you to most locations throughout WVU's campuses, including the football stadium for 50 cents, each way!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank godonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I was not sure at booking that the hotel would be a good choice since it was an overflow hotel for a conference.
It was a pleasure, from start to finish and a few blocks from the convention center. The bed was fine, the restraurant and roof top room were amazing. We ate at the hotel restaurant both nights, and this is almost NEVER the case when staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

always have a nice stay when we are visiting our son who attends WVU. Great location, friendly and courteous staff, large, clean rooms. Love the restaurant on top of the hotel also. The best restaurant in Morgantown!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Top notch service and yes, older rooms. But this is a historic building. Thats what makes it unique from cookie cutter hotels. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Free Valet parking was great.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landpilots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I stayed at the Clarion Hotel Morgan for a wedding which was being held at the hotel. The hotel itself is in a great location which is located in the heart of downtown Morgantown, WV and around some great shops, restaurants, and bars. However, the hotel even though it has been updated is still a bit old.

The hotel had wireless internet in the rooms which was a bonus. However, the rooms and beds were a bit old as was the shower and fixtures. It wasn’t to the fact that the shower and room was physically dirty but that everything in the hotel was just older from another time. Downstairs, the front desk staff was very friendly. However, when you first check in and receive your parking pass, you are instructed to park in the parking lot that is leased to the hotel which is down the street and located along the river bed which is not very convenient. Also, there is a small coffee shop located downstairs but if you wish to eat, you are better off walking down the street to Buffalo Wild Wings or some type of establishment like that.

However, the wedding that I was attending was located at the hotel and I do have to say that even though I was disappointed in the rooms a tad, the service and food for the wedding reception was extremely good for hotel food and did not hear many complaints from other hotel guests. So if you are planning a wedding for this hotel, this reviewer thought the food was pretty good.

All in all, there are not that many choices for hotels in Morgantown but the Clarion Hotel Morgan is not a bad choice if you can get a good rate for it. If I needed to be in Morgantown again, it wouldn’t be a bad choice to stay there again but I would look other places first.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#11 of 25 in Morgantown
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
1.6 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 25 in Morgantown
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#5 of 25 in Morgantown
644 reviews
2.1 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 25 in Morgantown
306 reviews
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Morgan

Property: Clarion Hotel Morgan
Address: 127 High St, Morgantown, WV 26505-5412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Morgan 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Morgantown
Clarion Morgantown
Morgantown Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing