We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The Morgantown WV Hilton was close to Ruby Memorial Hospital where my husband had surgery. I would NOT recommend it. Up until this point, we've always chosen to stay at Hiltons because of quality and service. (We are Hilton Honors members). However, this Hilton could easily be compared to a cheap-rate, two-star hotel... and that includes staff.
We asked ahead if staying additional nights would be an issue and were told, by in-person hotel staff, it would be no problem; however, it was a repeated problem/hassle and caused continued undue stress. Requests to speak to a manager were ignored. When issues seemed resolved, our key cards were deactivated, locking me out of our room one night. Then, we were told we'd be were unable to get the government rates and that our rates would change daily. We had to call hourly to see if our room was still available daily! Staff could not answer basic questions and didn't know how Hilton Honors worked, when asked. Lots of run-around, unprofessional attitude, and inability/un-cooperation to help. Little things were issues too. Room service "wasn't available" at stated hours, business office equipment would not work multiple times attempted, wifi worked extremely poorly, and wired Internet connection dropped constantly. We needed to hunt down cleaning staff to get items refreshed each day. (When we arrived, the shower was not clean; I had to do this).
We finally spoke with a manager on our third day here, 5/29, despite complaints and asking to speak with one each day beforehand. It took me calling corporate that morning to inquire about their "satisfied or don't pay guarantee" to get to a manager at our location, since corporate just bounced our complaints back to the hotel. The manager here didn't mention the satisfied-or-don't-pay guarantee or address it when asked. She brought us new key cards, gave us a complimentary breakfast pass (we told her we had morning appts and would not have time for breakfast, only dinner tonight, but she said she was giving us breakfast buffet passes anyway and offered us an extra pillow. Checkout, we received two sets of bills under our door-- one with rates all over the place. We had to go down to the front desk to straighten that out too. (There was a businesswoman in line before us, complaining their shuttle schedule was all incorrect and she couldn't get to her conference now).
So, even after calling corporate we had issues. If it wouldn't have been for my husband just having had surgery, I would have went to find somewhere else for us to stay. I would never stay at this Hilton again and will rethink choosing Hilton as our go-to hotel choice from now on after even calling corporate wasn't very helpful. Our stay was an extremely disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIMorgantown, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I sincerely regret that you experienced any inconvenience during your stay with us at Hilton Garden Inn. I will follow up with my team immediately to ensure we take all necessary steps to make sure this does not happen in the future. Thank you again for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This Garden Inn is much like other Garden Inns and is as you would expect, having an inviting lobby, clean rooms with refrigerator and a clean rest room. It is away from any major highways, offering a quiet stay, but still close to many locations within Morgantown. There are several restaurants and fast food chains within walking distance. My bed was not as comfortable as I would have liked and my refrigerator made a buzzing sound, accounting for the rating of three dots. Breakfast, while not included in the base rate, was batter than average, offering eggs and bacon cooked to order. This is a good property, especially considering the reasonable rate. I wish I could have given this a three and a half dot rating, but that is not an option. I will stay at this hotel again. Hopefully I will have a more comfortable bed, and it will earn that fourth dot!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIMorgantown, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our hotel accommodations and staff. I do apologize for the issues with the bed. We hope that if you find your self in the area again you will stop by and give us a second chance. Again, thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel site sets in a town center with 10-12 restaurants within walking distance (Buffalo Wild Wings; Tilted Kilt; Five Guys Burger & Fries; McDonalds; Sonic; Chinese Buffet; etc);/ short driving distance to WVU Hospital & WVU Stadiums

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIMorgantown, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay and taking the time to give us feedback about your experience. Again, thank you for providing feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel was very clean and the staff was exceptional! Location is wonderful. Location was hosting guests attending a large conference in the area and they treated all guests equally as important. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jhoni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIMorgantown, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share the postive feedback with the staff. Again thank you and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

First, the staff was very attentive.... Alicia at the front desk gave "legendary customer experience"

She was very supportive and friendly. The breakfast was very well stocked and the staff was prompt. The rooms were very quiet which was nice.

Overall, a great experience, and well recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricanranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIMorgantown, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay and taking the time to give us feedback about your experience. I will be sure to share your survey with Alicia and the rest of the team! We hope to see you again soon at the Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Clean, spacious and comfortable. Nice pool area, a bit small but nice and clean (and warm). Breakfast for a nice price and the hotel is within walking distance of many things. Try Pies N Pints- you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIMorgantown, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We sincerely appreciate you taking time to review your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon at the Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Dirty bath tub even after reporting the problem to the front desk. It took 3 nights to remedy the situation. No compensation was made despite their guarantee of satisfaction. I, however, still like the hotel chain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIMorgantown, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality experience and it seems we have fallen short during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you while staying with us. I will follow up with my team immediately to ensure we take all necessary steps to make sure this does not happen in the future. Please feel free to contact a member of the management staff so that we can discuss this situation further. Thank you again for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
2.3 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#4 of 25 in Morgantown
530 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Morgantown
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown

Address: 150 Suncrest Town Centre Dr, Morgantown, WV 26505-1827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morgantown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#3 Family Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range: £78 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy many of the comforts of home while on the road at the Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown. With easy access to many of Morgantown’s businesses, the West Virginia University campus, nightlife, dining, shopping and more, this hotel puts you in the center of the action. While you stay, take advantage of free internet access, take a dip in the pool, order a cooked-to-order meal at the Great American Grill or heat up a microwavable meal from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry in the comfort of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown Hotel Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing