We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”

Forks of Cheat Winery
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Orwell, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stopped in on our way thru. I loved every sample I tried and had a very hard time making my pick to purchase. If you like the sweet fruity wines....this is a must stop for you! and if you live close to Orwell, Ohio...bring me a bottle of the Pear !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pamsbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVaTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Forks of Cheat Winery, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Remember, we can ship directly to you in Ohio! Just give us a call and we can make sure you never run out!
Have a great day!
Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    23
    10
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best Wineries in the USA!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

WE highly recommend if 21 and older to visit this winery. The folks are warm and welcoming. The tastings superb, and let us just say we bought some wine to take home. As did the others who there when we were. They make you feel like you have been friends for life and their product is outstanding. They have moonshine as well and the Apple Pie is Awesome.
Tastings are FREE, Gift shop is cute, Views are beautiful and you can have a tour as well. We did not sit outside but there is a deck with tables and chairs to sit, relax, and enjoy the View.Plus they have a small amount of snacks to purchase but we did not which is self serve.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVaTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Forks of Cheat Winery, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We're so glad you enjoy our wines and hope to see you again soon! Thanks for helping us spread the word! (Remember to 'Like' us on Facebook and join our newsletter mailing list at the website!
Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice setting - ok wines”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a simple little place off the road with beautiful mountain views. They have wines and a ton of West Virginia food items for sale. The wines were good, but most of them were fruit wines for which I am not a fan. But the owners are very nice and the tastings are free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginiabellarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVaTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Forks of Cheat Winery, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thanks so much for stopping by! We actually have a fairly big selection of dryer, more traditional grape based wines, too. Hope you'll stop by again next time you're in the area. Check out our distilled products as well!
Thanks again, Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

First off, let me say that I do not like wine, generally. However, this place does offer some good ones. I highly recomment the Bad Cat...very sweet and tasty! My husband loves pretty much everything here. They do offer free tastings and have a little gift shop of wine accessories and WV trinkets. The grounds are pretty, especially in the summer when all the plants are in bloom. Forks of Cheat also offers by-appointment tours of the winery/distillery.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Micalyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVaTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Forks of Cheat Winery, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thanks for coming! We're happy to hear that both you and your husband have found some of our wines that you enjoy. Make sure you guys get to try our distilled spirits next time you visit!

Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Forks of Cheat Winery”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Beautiful views of the surrounding mountains while sitting outside on the deck. Great wines to sample and buy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoyceDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVaTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Forks of Cheat Winery, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit! Make sure to come back in the fall and check out the views of the changing autumn leaves from our deck. We look forward to seeing you again!

Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forks of Cheat Winery also viewed

 

Been to Forks of Cheat Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing