We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Somewhere Else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Wellington, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay Somewhere Else”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We had 10 Room there and were going to stay 3 weeks but are switching hotels after the first week of nightmares. we were the first full week of January and not only are the matresses in dire need of replacement, the hotel staff needs an overhaul all the way up to management. Of the 10 rooms, we had 1 room get there change stolen, which was in a pile with expense reciepts, also had food from the fridge stolen. (The maid actually open a sealed package of ham lunch meat and took some, and left their half drank pop in the fridge.) Food was taken from another room. A maid was also disgusting enough to use the hairbrush of another one of our employees in yet another room. Several other accounts of maid disturbing belongings. This was reported and not even a simple appology from the management was given. So feel free to stay here if you wish to have all your belongings rifled through and possibly stolen but I recommend any other hotel over this one!

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Steve T.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced. We are sincerely concerned when situations like these occur, and would like to investigate further. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional information about your stay.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    47
    20
    5
    12
See reviews for
45
22
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Located off I-79 in Morgantown, W. Va. This Hotel is fantastically situated near a mall and plenty of restaurants. Ruby Tuesdays, Outback Steakhouse and Wendy's Just to name a few. The Hotel has recently gone thru renovation and is in immaculate condition. The Jacuzzi in my room was much larger than Jacuzzi's in other hotels, the furniture is new , the carpet is spotless, bathroom and tub are big and rooms are spacious. Krissy the Front desk clerk who checked my wife and I into our rooms , was more than friendly and helpful. She helped me locate my priority club account and provided a temporary card as well. Like Krissy , Mary the front desk clerk in the morning was extremely kind and pleasant to help with things and breakfast was the best I ever had at a Holiday Inn Express. Heather who prepared breakfast had a mango drink I have not seen at any Holiday Inn breakfasts anywhere. the mango drink as well as the best gravy I have eaten at a Holiday Inn express almost makes me want to come back just for the breakfast. Anyone traveling thru and needing a room for the night. I strongly recommend Holiday Inn Express Morgantown 605 Venture Dr. the staff is very warm and friendly , rooms are clean and the breakfast is truly great. I also enjoyed the cardboard statue of Elvis behind the check in counter. Definitely more bang for your buck, " thank you , thank you very much"

Room Tip: The Hotel is located off the highway and surrounded by a shopping center and quick access to the fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Md
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I enjoy the stay about 80% of the time.

I will say that the huge upgrade are the rooms... They have redone all the rooms in the past couple years and you can tell... The cleaning staff is great, and will help whenever they can.

The front desk does a pretty good job, except they dont welcome Plat members, by making them feel welcome. I have been Plat for 5 years and on the 30+ visits, I am not recognized anymore.

Dont go during a WVU game, its pricey

The hallways havent been updated, but I am sure they plan on it. Take the stairs, its faster than the elevator...

The pool is small but great for a couple laps.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ch3ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband accompanied me for an orientation at WVU and we were both very pleased with our accommodations. The staff were friendly and helpful and the pool and hot tub were very nice. It was in a great location convenient to shopping, restaurants and the university and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank In4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The bed I slept in gave a new meaning to "climbing out of bed". It sagged so bad it was difficult to get out of and I slept poorly. The mattress was many months beyond its useful life. The desk clerk acknowledged that the mattresses were in need of replacement and said there was an ongoing effort to replace the mattresses, but someone waited way to long. All I got from my complaint was "sorry".

Room Tip: check the bed before accepting the room.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hotel is located off of I-68 in the middle of shopping, restaurants, and service stations. The lobby of the hotel, including the staff, was typical Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were okay but not what you would expect for the price. On my next trip, I will browse the area for better deals but, if none are found, I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connoisseur72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

It was a typical stay with no surprises, which I find more I find more and more is the best kind. It wasn't fancy, but everything was good. The room was clean every day, the breakfast was adequate, and the sleep quality was good. Stayed here for a week in June for work, and I've stayed in pretty much every Morgantown hotel, and I found this one to be one of the best. A little pricey in my opinion for what you get, but it was very vanilla, which is OK.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gliddle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
5.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
4.0 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
3.4 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Morgantown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
Address: 605 Venture Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-7305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Morgantown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Morgantown. We are a 68 room hotel that features many amenities such as a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool, spa and exercise facility along with meeting space for 40 classroom style or 60 theatre style. All rooms are accessed through interior corridors and feature a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, two-line speakerphone with data port, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and free high speed wireless Internet access. An elevator is available for access on upper floors. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel is conveniently located on I-68, exit 7 (Peirpont Rd/Airport) or from I-79, Exit 148 (I-68 East/Cumberland), exit 7 (Peirpont Rd/Airport). Stay with us and our friendly staff will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown Hotel Morgantown
Holiday Inn Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing