We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Euro-Suites Hotel(Morgantown)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Morgantown(Morgantown)
US$142
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel(Morgantown)(Great Value!)
US$90
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
47
55
23
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
55
23
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon bunsnice basic hotelpancake machinedecent continental breakfastroom was cleana great job keepingoutback steakhousemeeting roomeasy access to the interstatehot tubbreakfast attendantstaff was friendlybad smellnext morningfree hot breakfastwould stay here againnice stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Rather nice HI with some upscale furniture. Great location right off the interstate with plenty restaurants in walking distance as is a shoppin center. Great place to sleep but the storms messed up thd sat tv reception.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Coinerjpo2014,

We want to thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate all comments our guests leave us, it only helps us improve our service to you. I am glad to hear our location worked out great for you. However I do want to apologize for any problems you experienced with our TV service. I would have to say our weather has been crazy this year and when we get storms they have tended to be pretty harsh. Again thank you for your time and business and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thanks

James Locklar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way home from Kentucky. The staff was friendly. Our room was clean and the bathroom was very nice. This hotel is close to the highway and several restaurants which was nice after a long drive. The mattress and pillows were too soft for our taste. There were lots of outlets for charging cell phones and laptops. We even had a fridge and microwave in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Lisa L,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We take all of our guests comments and only improve on them. I am glad to hear you have a wonderful stay with us, however I do understand your issue with our pillows, good news is we recently replaced all of our pillows with new bigger and some firmer ones to accommodate our guests wishes. We strive to provide great service and accommodations to our guests. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Again thank you.

James Locklar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had read some of the reviews after making our reservation and seriously thought about cancelling. Glad I didn't. I'm not sure what some of the others expected from the hotel but it was not anywhere near as bad as reviewed. It was clean, didn't need to be painted, the beds were not bad or old, the hot tub works and the pool was clean. The only thing that I read that did seem to be true was the noise from the elevator...that was all. If you were expecting the Ritz-Carlton....then yes, it was probably a let down but it's not a terrible place to stay as others have said. The staff is also very friendly and accommodating, as one night we let our young son swim, and afterwards he wanted a banana like they have for breakfast, so I asked the young lady if there was any way possible to get him one....she not only came back from the kitchen with a banana but also an apple. Very nice place to stay, and if in the area again, will stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabe_and_Tab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Gabe_and_Tab,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your business and all the great comments about our property and our staff. We like to hear how our guests see our property and how your stay was.

Thank you again,

James Locklar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

It seems like the only competent desk person working was the one working over night, his name tag said Robert. When we checked in the girl working wasn't at the desk and didn't have a sign our anything up. We waited for several minutes and then we saw her come out of the bathroom. Her eyes were glossy, she was sniffing a lot, and she was kind of rude. She stumbled around with papers and apologized she forgot to put a sign up when she left the desk but she seemed like she was out of it or had just snorted something. The rate we had agreed to want the rate we were charged and we ended up going down to the desk around midnight. That's when the night person was working and he adjusted our rate and explained about an authorization charge that would drop off of our account. He also ended up printing us directions and helped us with everything we asked. We told him about the girl working before and he apologized and assured us their staff was great especially the assistant and general manager. In the morning we got breakfast and even though the breakfast was slammed the young brunette girl working was friendly and kept everything well stocked, and the food she made was also delicious. She seemed kind of stressed because every seat was filled and people were standing in line waiting and some people were even standing around eating but she kept her composure and was still smiling and being sweet. Overall or stay was great, the rings were nice, breakfast staff was good, and the night staff was excellent, but I think the evening staff needs a little work.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melcart123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

OK, not my choice to spend my weekend, but I had to attend the WVU graduation this May. First off, $240 a night with AAA is a bit steep, but it is a college town and it was graduation weekend. Well this hotel isn't worth the $40 of that room rate. Generally the hotel is run down. In need of a complete overhaul. We had a two queen bed room on the 2nd floor. The room appeared to be clean, but had a musty smell to it. Finally got the A/C to work and the freshened up the place a bit. The elevator needs work. It is old, slow and a disaster waiting to happen. I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel just because I was running late. My wife and kid did and said it was typical HIE. Now the beds... THAT WAS THE WORST BED I have ever had in a hotel. It was worn out 10 years ago when it was installed.

-- Benefits -- A bunch of outdoor 120V outlets for charging your Electric Vehicle or plugging in a block heater in the winter. Close to shopping, restaurants, etc... Friendly front desk staff. Alexis was VERY HELPFUL.

-- Drawbacks -- Dirty, Poor Furnishings, needs paint work, pool work, elevator work and probably a change in corporate flags will be in order soon. OVER PRICED TOO... They suck you in cuz it is in a college town and they know they gotcha...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Paul_da_Bulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Paul_da_Bulldog,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, and the opportunities to work on. I am happy to know that you were pleased with our staff and amenities.

You have identified issues in regard to the room and overall condition of the hotel. With that, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. As our valued guest, we thank you for your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to serving you again in your future travels.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews