We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean and not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not clean and not worth the money”
Reviewed 25 July 2009

If you're looking for a clean, comfortable room for a reasonable price, avoid this place.

The day we checked in there was only one person working the desk, and we had to wait in line for quite a while after a long day of travel in order to get our room. When we finally got there we found there were stains on the carpet, the tub was dirty, and most disgusting of all, the sink was very unsanitary, with cracks in the finish around the drain which were caked with some sort of grime.

When we went to the pool area, we got in the hot tub to find that it was not working. Not only that, the entire pool area was dirty. The rim of the hot tub and pool were filthy. There was black, moldy grime on the rubber rim liners of the pool and hot tub, and rust on the walls. Even worse, there was a very loud whining noise coming from one of the pool pumps that was so loud it made it impossible to hear normal conversation.

There's a Super 8 hotel right next to this place that didn't look bad, and it's considerably less expensive.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank opinion8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgwnn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Hello my name is Gabriel Bilonick and I am the General Manager of the Holiday Inn Express in Morgantown WV. Thank you for your comments.. Good or bad I believe that is how a business can work on improving their guest satisfaction. I am very sorry to hear about your experince that you had at our property. I wanted to reassure you that we are fully renovated and I am the General Manager. We take our guest opinions very seriously. I hope that you would consider visiting our hotel if you are ever back in the area. Please feel free to contact me personally if I can be of any assistance. 304 291 2600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    47
    20
    5
    12
See reviews for
45
23
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

Stayed at this location while in town for business/volunteer activities. Hotel was clean and in good condition. Room was spacious and offered a very comfortable bed with really nice pillow selection. Small fridge and microwave in room. Bathroom was good size as well. One small problem with the shower curtain though. The way the curved shower curtain bar was installed caused the shower curtain to constantly migrate toward the middle, leaving the ends open. Bathroom was very clean, however. Another issue in the room involved flies and wasps between the window screen and the glass window. The window is made to open for fresh air but we did not open it due to the several flies/wasps we saw. One somehow made its way into the room late that night. I couldn't locate any holes in teh frame or screen so how they got in was a mystery. Reported it to both the front desk and housekeeping the next morning who indicated they would send someone in after we checked out. The staff member working the front desk adjusted our bill to compensate us for the inconvenience. All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast offered a good selection, including a make your own waffle station (a personal favorite!). Pool area was nice though the pool was very cold (apparently not heated) and the whirlpool was lukewarm at best. Area seemed to be well-maintained otherwise. Would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank PeaceLoveBoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2007

Our room was very clean, at least as clean as much more expensive places at which we have stayed. The staff were friendly and courteous. Although we could hear the people in the room above us, it wasn't a big deal. This hotel is conveniently located just off I-68 in a shopping center with (among other stores and restaurants) a Ruby Tuesdays, an IHOP, and a Shop and Save grocery store all within easy walking distance. There is a BP station in the shopping center if you need gas. It's about a fifteen minute drive to downtown Morgantown from the hotel. The pool seemed small but suitable for families with children. We enjoyed our stay here; this is a comfortable, clean, well-run hotel.

  • Liked — Courteous, friendly staff and cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zephyrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2007

We have stayed at this hotel several times while visiting WVU. Found the staff to be very helpful. Good food, although the area is small. Good location, can be hard to get a room during home football games, but this is true all over town. The staff will go out of there way to try and help you though. We will continue to stay at the hotel when we travel to Morgantown. We found it to be one of the best overall for service and confort around.

  • Liked — Great Service
  • Disliked — Small food area
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blev0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2006

This is a nice basic hotel on the outskirts of Morgantown and located close to I-68. The hotel sits on land that is shared by a Motel 8, Lowe's, a grocery store, a convenience store, 3 restaurants, and a small shopping center. It's convient to have all this nearby, but it makes the access road crowded. The hotel itself is really nice, the staff friendly, the rooms are clean and the breakfast area is supplied with whatever you would normally make yourself including a waffle maker, toaster, and fruit. All in all I'd stay here again. I did not use the indoor pool and whirlpool because I didn't have time, but it's located just beyond the lobby and breakfast area. We did walk in and take a quick look at it.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — not as close as some hotels to the church
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank letsgonow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

This was our first stop over on our road trip that included 5 adults, ages 22-55. The hotel is conveniently located right off the expressway and near many restaurants.

We had one large suite with a pull-out sofa and 2 queen beds, which were very comfortable. Having 2 televisions with 5 people was nice as well. The shower and the bathroom were great and clean. The room in general was kept clean and tidy. Having free high-speed internet access was definately a plus.

The breakfast was really good, including waffles, eggs, cereal, bagels, muffins, coffee, juices, milk, etc. Definately a good way to start off the morning.

The pool area was on par. The pool was nice and relaxing, so was the jacuzzi. However, the jacuzzi was shown some filth. The rim of the jacuzzi needs to be cleaned. The only other problem we had was that we requested additional pillows but they were never brought to the room. We did find an extra one under one of the televisions though.

In conclusion, a nice hotel, very convenient, good breakfast, spacious suite, very homey feel, friendly management. Will stay here again.

  • Liked — Spacious Room, Good Breakfast
  • Disliked — Dirty Jacuzzi Tub
  • Tips/Secrets — A good stopover hotel
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KingCobra7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2006

Hotel is located off I-68, exit 7 in a shopping center. Great location. Many restaurants like Outback, Ruby Tuesday and Bob Evans within walking distance. Pillow-top Queen Size beds were very comfortable. Rooms have a microwave and small fridge. VERY SMALL BREAKFAST AREA for this hotel. Only 9 tables! Tried a few times to get a table, gave up and ate at Bob Evans instead (which I am sure was much better). Front Desk just ok. Manager not customer service focused.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alias1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#2 of 24 in Morgantown
622 reviews
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#11 of 24 in Morgantown
301 reviews
4.0 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
5.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Morgantown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
Address: 605 Venture Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-7305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Morgantown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Morgantown. We are a 68 room hotel that features many amenities such as a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool, spa and exercise facility along with meeting space for 40 classroom style or 60 theatre style. All rooms are accessed through interior corridors and feature a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, two-line speakerphone with data port, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and free high speed wireless Internet access. An elevator is available for access on upper floors. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel is conveniently located on I-68, exit 7 (Peirpont Rd/Airport) or from I-79, Exit 148 (I-68 East/Cumberland), exit 7 (Peirpont Rd/Airport). Stay with us and our friendly staff will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown Hotel Morgantown
Holiday Inn Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing