We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel needs to update” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Morgantown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Martinsburg, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel needs to update”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel needs to update, put refrigerator & microwaves in all the rooms and pay more attention to repairs & clean linens as well as more attention to things that need repaired like a toilet that was unstable. More TV channels would be a big help as well. The desk attendant was very helpful in giving us one free night because of the problems in the bathroom

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    144
    64
    32
    19
See reviews for
180
94
40
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is overpriced for the age, maintenance, appearance and quality of the rooms and amenities provided. I stay at Hampton Inns around the country and found this one to be the bottom of the barrel. The beds are creak loudly when rolling over and lack of mini-fridge and microwaves in these double bed rooms is very disappointing. Paint peeling from the walls and ceiling in the bathrooms along with mildew spots is horrible. We have stayed at this hotel 3 separate times this year alone and are even more disappointed each time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kohler, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

After my husband returned from Afghanistan, we were pleased to be able to surprise our daughter during parent weekend at West Virginia University. My husband was under the weather, and really needed some rest on the third day of our trip, Saturday, October 5th. After taking our daughter to lunch, we returned to the hotel to rest - and our keys did not work. There was no clerk at the desk, and a sign read the they were assisting other guests and would return. After 20 minutes of waiting, and my husband perspiring in the chair from fever - I went looking floor-to-floor for a hotel representative. I found a gentleman on the 2nd floor carrying a blanket, and asked if he was the desk clerk. He replied, "No, but I can help you." He rekeyed our keys so we could enter the room. By this time, it was well after 4 o'clock in the afternoon. Imagine our surprise to enter the room and find that we had received no maid service - beds not made, towels not refreshed - nothing. My husband said he just wanted to rest. I went down to the desk to find the same gentlemen, and expressed that I was upset that we had not received fresh linens or maid service, and could this be taken care of after 7:30 p.m., as I was not going to awaken my husband for dinner until then. He wrote it down and said he would "see what he could do." In the meantime - I sent a very nice email to the general manager of the hotel from the business cards provided at the front desk - asking that our room receive maid service after we left; I have still not received a response - two days later. We returned to our room around 9:30 p.m. - and my husband's key did not work again. We arrived at our room - and had still not received fresh linens or maid service, despite my asking for clean linens as my husband was going through anti-malaria treatments from serving in Afghanistan - and was experience the side effects. This was no way to treat one any guest lest a United States Service member who just returned from his third deployment in six years. We will not be returning to the Hampton Inn in Morgantown, WV - a place we will be visiting often over the course of the next four years.

Room Tip: Next time I plan to stay at the Morgan Hotel - great service there when we had dinner Saturday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charleston, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is an ideal place to stay for WVU football games and events, and that's the only reason I would stay in this particular hotel. I rated it average due to the overall condition of the facility, a little worn out. The staff is wonderful, and the rest of the place is pretty standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

My family stayed here for a "Family Game Weekend" at WVU in Morgantown. The worst thing was the billing got messed up and family members were embarrased and felt bad over finding out what we paid for the rooms. Otherwise with a few minor exceptions it was a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Coran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have been to Morgantown, WV several times, but this was our first stay at the Hampton Inn. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were comfortable. Hurray!!!! Even the pillows were comfortable. We did not get a chance to try to the free breakfast buffet, but free coffee was available at all times. The only odd thing about the room, was the lack of a mini-fridge. Other than that, we will certainly consider staying at the Hampton Inn again during our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this Hampton Inn recently for the second time in three months. The hotel is clean and has decent amenities, with an above average fitness center. The location is very convenient to the stadium as well as the hospital plus the only Starbucks in town is just two doors down. My only complaint is minor and that is that the staff person I asked about what software was available on the one computer in the business center was completely incorrect in her answer to me, which resulted in my having to trek to the local library (which was very pleasant) to make a last minute edit to some slides; only later did I go back to the computer and realize it did have the program I had asked about earlier.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jewelross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
0.4 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Morgantown

Property: Hampton Inn Morgantown
Address: 1053 Van Voorhis Road, Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Morgantown
#7 Family Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Morgantown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Morgantown is conveniently located next to the Evansdale Campus of WVU. We are just minutes away from sporting events, major medical facilities and entertainment venues. All 107 of our guest rooms are newly renovated and feature Cloud 9 Bedding, 32' inch flat screen televisions, workstations with roll around desks, ergonomic desk chairs and lap desks for your comfort. Our additional amenities include free wireless, high-speed internet access, complimentary breakfast daily 6:00AM-10:00AM, 24 hour business center, and a brand new fitness facility! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Morgantown Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing