We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience of our lives! No heat.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We checked in around midnight to our first room. It was frigid, so we turned the heat up and started to settle in. Found a shirt crumpled in the corner (did not belong to us...), hair and red spots on sheets, cigarette burn hole in the sheets. Dead bugs in corners.
We changed to a different room bc of the filth. The second room was also frigid so we turned the heat up. The sheets appeared cleaner, but there was only a sheet and very thin blanket on the beds. Bugs in the corners. Suspicious red stain on bathroom floor. Water stains and paint peeling on the ceiling. It was 1am by that point so we went to bed. The heater blew cold air for an hour, never getting warm. We turned it off completely and slept in many layers with hats and socks, huddling together for warmth. After one of the worst night's sleep of our lives, we got up and got ready to leave. There was hair found in the shower that wasn't from us. The shower got hot but temperature varied wildly.
It was so horrible that we went to the front desk and asked about getting out of our reservation for the next night. The lady at the front desk was absolutely unhelpful and there was no manager available to help us.
We went back to talk to the manager and they had our refund for the next night waiting for us. That is the only good thing that happened out of the experience.
Do not give this place your business. I will be reporting to the Better Business Bureau. This place should be condemned.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KHEnglishTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

Worst hotel I've ever stepped into. Came down to Morgantown from Pittsburgh for a WVU game and booked this place last minute. The people at the front desk were very nice, but we were disgusted when we took one step into the room. Broken fixtures, stains everywhere, and a mildew and grime ridden bathroom. Stayed for a whole 20 minutes before we decided to just drive back to Pittsburgh right then and there. Didn't check out. Didn't let the front desk know. Just left the keys in the room and got out of there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wheels0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

i stayed here for about a month and during that month they kicked me out twice because some one else had made reservations so i had to pack my stuff up and look for another hotel came back paid for another week while my stay they shut power off my food got spoiled they did not want to remeburse me they did not want to remeburse me for my four days that they owe me for kicking me out they are disrespectful and dont care about you there outlets in some rooms dont work the television sets dont work good

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were evicted from the hotel for bringing the following items to the manager's attention.

Bug infestation
• Unsanitary conditions and health hazards
• Structural and code violations
• Unreported revenues
• Larceny
• Undocumented workers
• Age discrimination
• Intimidation tactics

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeC1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Awful hotel. The room smelled musty and the hardwood floors were filthy. No sheets for the sleeper sofa, pillows were terrible and bathroom floor and shower head were dirty. Had to sign in for breakfast. My son did so and then tried to take a muffin back to the room and the breakfast attendant told him he couldn't take it out. Ridiculous. Will be back in Morgantown again next weekend and will be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nodakker1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This place was absolutely horrible. I guess you get what you pay for. My husband and I needed a place to stay for one night while passing through. I booked this hotel online as it looked like a decent place to stay. Boy, were we wrong! Here is what happened:

1. The hotel staff was friendly, but that did not make up for the disgusting rooms. The first room we stayed in had stink bugs crawling all over the ceiling above the bed.

2. The faucets did not work properly and the shower (I took a shower before we saw the bugs) didn't drain. When we told the staff we'd like a different room, they said "not to diminish your concern, but all of our rooms have bug issues".

3. We were put into another room, which thankfully had no bugs, but wreaked of cigarette smoke. As a pregnant woman already allergic to smoke, I was less than thrilled.

4. Parking was a pain as there was construction all around.

Instead of sleeping in and enjoying our night, my husband and I decided to get the minimum amount of rest and then booked it out of there the following morning. Never, ever stay here!

Room Tip: No rooms are good. Pay just a bit more and stay somewhere else instead.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just staying in the hotel this past weekend. My first thought when I opened the door to my room was 'this is something out of a horror film'. I seriously have no idea where to start. The sheets were stained, and the floors were dirty. The bathroom was probably the worst part. Between the 4 of us that stayed in the room, the 2 females refused to use the restroom, and all 4 of us refused to use the shower. The floors in the bathroom were scummy, so if you are going to use the restroom, make sure to at least wear sandals. The highlight was the cockroach that kept watch of us on the top of the wall. On a positive note at least I now have an idea of what being in a jail cell must be like.

Room Tip: Go out to the parking lot. Get into your car. Turn it on. Leave.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DNL12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#20 of 25 in Morgantown
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
#14 of 25 in Morgantown
414 reviews
3.6 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 25 in Morgantown
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 25 in Morgantown
51 reviews
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
1.3 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 25 in Morgantown
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center

Address: 1400 Saratoga Ave, Morgantown, WV 26505-3116
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range: £38 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing