We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfront Place Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We just returned from a great 4 night stay at the Waterfront Place Hotel. The hotel and amenities are excellent. The staff we met were very professional, well-trained and were a pleasure to meet. We enjoyed our time spent at the Regatta restaurant. Two employees made our visit special - Rob who bartends in the evenings and Joe H., our server each morning. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for the polite comments regarding our hotel and staff. I will pass along your kind words to Joe, Rob and our entire team. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you during future visits to Morgantown.

All the Best,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    185
    84
    32
    18
See reviews for
145
124
36
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
212 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is attached to the WVU Visitor Center and overnight self parking is $6 in the garage attached to the building across the street. When inside the garage, it's a little confusing, because the signs direct you to the office building, which isn't open in the evening. The hotel itself is very nice and I would have rated it higher if I hadn't needed to ask for some meeting room adjustments (it wasn't set to our usual diagram and we've worked with this hotel before). Everyone was pleasant and helpful and a quick response was provided when I asked for some changes.

Room Tip: To get there: From N or South on I-79: Merge onto I-68 East toward CUMBERLAND Take the US-119 exit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I apologize for the meeting room issues you encountered; however, I am pleased to hear our staff promptly made the necessary adjustments. Again, thank for taking the time to review your experience, and we hope to see you in the future.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

My family had reservations to stay here for the second time. After driving 7 hours and finally arriving, we were told at check in that they were booked. We had our reservation confirmation and we were told there was nothing they could do. The woman supervisor was very cold and didn't seem to care at all.
We then were approached by a male supervisor, John, who had helped valet our car. He asked why we were leaving and we explained what happened. He then got our car and told us to wait for a minute. He returned with a gift certificate for a complimentary night stay. Thanks to John I might return. I am just very disappointed in the woman supervisor that couldn't care less.
Thank goodness we were able to find other accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hbou627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
On behalf of the Waterfront Place Hotel, please accept my apologies as we were over committed that evening. Due to our over commitment, reservations were made for you at a neighboring hotel. I commend John for the manner in which he handled the situation.

We value and appreciate you as a guest, and we are hopeful that you will allow us another chance to win back your confidence.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was a great hotel. Very clean, quiet, and comfortable. My room had a great view of the river, and I was able to walk straight out of the hotel and run on the trail. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueberry4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review regarding our hotel. We look forward to your return visit to the Waterfront Place Hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel had very high ratings on TripAdvisor and we now know why. The room was excellent, the service excellent, the facilities excellent, the staff very genial and polite (top notch). We arrived here on Sept 23, Monday evening. With a nice drive in from the interstate it was great to pull into the well marked driveway for the valet parking. The new looking facilities were worthy of some pictures for my architect friends. The lobby and restaurant areas were very nicely done and well thought out. I can imagine that a busy football weekend may get quite busy but it was pretty tame on a Monday night. Since we were just quickly passing through with minimal time to spend in town we had opted for one of the hotel packages Their Do Not Disturb package worked out very well as it included dinner at the hotel and breakfast. The food was very good, with excellent desserts too. A longer stay would definitely be nice so that we could explore the town further. With a short time window we also did not get to use the pool or hot tub, though I had been looking forward to a good swim. The hotel, the rooms, the restrooms, etc were very clean too.

The location is right on the river and across from the Morgantown lock. Our room had a great view. Unfortunately we saw no ships transiting but the local college girls rowing team did oblige with four shells and crew boat out in the morning mist. They worked out for a good while. The walking path along the river was also nice as was a good look at the tam and locks. We look forward to anothe visit here sometime soon.

One small glitch on going to our room. I never looked up as we went to the elevators. There are two banks, with the upper floors being private. The lower floor elevators for the hotel guests are on the left, and are obvous when you read the rather obvious signage. OOps!

Room Tip: Riverview was a plus for us, and the fifth floor was quiet during our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for the wonderful words regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to hear the “Do Not Disturb” package worked well for you, and I am also happy you were able to enjoy time on the rail trail. We hope to see you again soon at the Waterfront Place Hotel.

Best regards,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I've spending a lot of time in this hotel recently and I all I can say is that the hotel, the accommodations and staff are great. Megan, who was training behind the desk during my first trip (I've been there three times in three weeks) took great care in making sure I was settled. The valets were prompt and courteous. Both the bar and restaurant have excellent food and service. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your stays at the Waterfront Place Hotel. I will make sure Megan and the staff receives your compliments. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit to the hotel.

Best regards,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the WPH on a number of weekends for WVU football games. It is convenient and has a good restaurant and two nice bars. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are not spectacular (could use some updating) but are still very nice and clean.

One criticism is the hotel seems to have used its success to push its prices to the limit and beyond. The prices for football weekends have gone up each year and have now reached the point where Fri and Sat night rates are three times the hotel's regular rate. This would be high anywhere but is particularly so in WV. I am staying there two more weekends this year but if their trend continues I will consider other options (they are becoming available rapidly in Morgantown) in the future. WPH is a great place but $469 plus tax per night is more like a NYC price - I travel quite a bit and am familiar with the prices in upscale hotel chains (My wife and I recently stayed in a suite at the Ritz Carlton outside Dublin, Ireland and also spent a week over New Years at a very nice boutique hotel in NYC - both for about the same price).

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
We greatly appreciate your kind remarks regarding your stays with us at the Waterfront Place Hotel. Your patronage is important to us and we look forward to making your future stays as enjoyable as your previous stays.

Best regards,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.6 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#8 of 24 in Morgantown
240 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
602 reviews
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#15 of 24 in Morgantown
216 reviews
2.4 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Property: Waterfront Place Hotel
Address: 2 Waterfront Pl, Morgantown, WV 26501-5954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Waterfront Place Hotel, overlooking the picturesque Monongahela River in Morgantown, West Virginia. This beautiful, full-service Wharf District hotel boasts 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with an abundance of amenities, making this premier waterfront hotel perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, free high speed wireless Internet, a beautiful indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, on-site dining, availability of spa services, room service, flat screen televisions, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing