We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremly pleased, great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterfront Place Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremly pleased, great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

After a long drive, my daughter came upon this hotel as we were arriving to visit the University. At first glance, I told her it would probably be too expensive, but we checked it out anyway.
Pros:
Great views
Fantastic work-out facility
responsive staff
prompt service
Front desk was top notch
Beautiful, large rooms with new, comfortable beds
Free wi-fi

Cons,
This hotel is just on the outskirts of town and may present a bit of a walk to the university, but you would probably want to walk when schools in session due to parking limitations anyway

restaurant tip: Boathouse Bistro was about 200 yards from the hotel and the food was contemporary with a french~south american flair. It was excellent.

  • Liked — workout facilities
  • Disliked — I got the feeling the bedding was not changed after every guest...... not sure.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SugarLandRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    184
    82
    32
    18
See reviews for
143
123
35
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

We were happily pleased with this hotel. It's a newer hotel located along a bike and walking trail. Nice hotel restuarant and pool. Clean, spacious rooms, ours had a nice view of the water and mountains. We asked for a quiet room and we had a room that was in the back of the hotel on the water, nice and quiet.

  • Liked — views, tranquility, pool
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhodeIslandPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

Where do I begin? This was certainly NOT what we expected! This was my second stay at Waterfront Place Hotel, and when we were there in October we had a wonderful stay. The staff was attentive and helpful. This trip unfortunately I can not say the same. We were there to attend a wedding and the staff, be it pleasant, has no clue how to run a hotel or have a clue on how to handle a wedding. The bride/groom made up gift bags for the guest and only half of the guest got them. The rooms were not worth the money that they charged the guests. The room needed upgrading, bad bedspreads, holes in the sheets, not too inviting and the walls are thin we could hear everything going on next to us. Additionally our room was not serviced by housekeeping for 2 days despite our calls to the front desk. My husband and I have figured that we must have been on the club floor last time as the bedding was much different on the 11th floor, as was the service. The breakfast and dinner was very expensive for what was on the buffet- the chicken on the Prime Rib buffet was awful and the beef was fatty. This was especially disappointing because when we were there in October they had a great menu that we were very much looking forward to. I will not even touch on how much they messed up on the actual wedding. It was like it was there first time having a wedding. Very unorganized! I would tell people NOT to have a wedding here, actually I would suggest that if you are looking for a hotel in Morgantown you try the Residence Inn. Our friends stayed there and had a wonderful time and they got the Marriott points as well.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mountianeers78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

Bottom line....I feel swindled. I asked for a welcome reception for 50 people, but the conference manager said that they were expecting 65. She up-sold me on hot appetizers. When I confirmed that no more than 30 were attending and tried to downsize they said it wasn't possible because of the timing. It had only been an hour before that we discussed the hot appetizers. I asked for them to be removed with no success. Finally, I asked if the total bill would approximately be within a certain limit and the conference manager assured me it would, but it wasn't. We ended up having only 15 people, a lot of wasted food, and a horrible conference experience from a sponsors viewpoint.

Tip: be a hard-[--] when dealing with this place. I tried the nice route and ended up getting screwed.

  • Liked — average place
  • Disliked — the conference staff is horrible...specifically the conference managers
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jaysalyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

We stayed here Sunday night during the WVU graduation weekend. The rooms were spacious - much larger than a conventional hotel room, but furnished with the standard pieces. The bathrooms are also very large, with plenty of space around the single sink. Check in was efficient, and the front desk folks were friendly and courteous.

The parking situation is a bit funky. There was no convenient place to pull in for check in, and there were no apparent valets at 4:00 on a Sunday afternoon. We eventually figured out that we should use the parking garage next door. Some improved signage would probably help an easily confused weary traveller.

We had a few drinks in the Rat Pack Lounge. The bartender was very attentive and the decor was pretty cool. I think we hit happy hour, since the prices seemed very reasonable. Even though smoking was allowed in the bar, the ventillation system seemed to handle it very well for the small crowd at the time.

We also ate in the Regatta Bar and Grill in the hotel. Because it is not listed under restaurants, I will say a few words about it here. Since it was graduation weekend, they had a special buffet with prime rib, a chicken dish and several sides for $22. The prime rib was great, but the chicken was on the dry side. They had all the fixings for caesar salad, a pasta salad, mashed potatoes, and several vegetables. They also had three or four desserts. I thought the food was a pretty good value for the money. The service was kind of slow, even for a buffet. We ended up with quite a stack of dirty dishes at the end of the table before any of the wait staff picked them up.

Breakfast at the Regatta Bar and Grill was not very impressive. The prices were high ($10 for a simple bacon and eggs), and again, the staff seemed to have trouble keeping up with the light crowd. We had to ask for a second pitcher of coffee three times.

A final thought. I am impressed that the hotel management is monitoring the comments here on TripAdvisor, and posted at least one response. The response was thoughful, and not defensive. Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaphod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2008

We stayed here as my husband was giving a paper at a conference at the University is this hotel is the one they use for visitors. It’s a fairly new hotel next to the river and an easy walk along the river into town. The rooms were clean and spacious, although none of the windows in the rooms open which felt a little claustrophobic and also annoying as the air-con could be quite loud. The pool and gym were great and normally very quite and all of the rooms have free internet access. The reception staff could be a bit hit and miss, but we got all of the help and information we needed, although they didn’t let us know that we’d be charged for parking when we checked our hire car in. The bell hops were really helpful and took us up to the University and to the airport for free. The hotel restaurant was pretty good and the waiting staff were really helpful (even getting a fridge put into our room so that we could keep our leftovers cold and giving recommendations for our trip to Pittsburgh!). The only strange thing was how much we got charged for breakfast, which seemed to vary from day to day – some days we got charged for hot water and juice, other days not. We just increased the tip according to how much we hadn’t been charged for! The food was good though and the bar well-stocked. Morgantown doesn’t have a huge number of restaurants, but we would recommend both the Boathouse and Oliviero’s just long the footpath next to the river. Both do good food (make sure you have desert at Oliviero’s!). Staff at the Enterprise hire car in Morgantown were incredibly helpful. It’s probably the best hotel in Morgantown and a reasonable price for that.

  • Liked — Pool - usually just me in it.
  • Disliked — Windows that couldn't be opened.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Skittykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgettstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

My family and I checked into the Waterfront for a weeked to come and see a basketball game and to visit the WVU campus.
The staff at the front desk were always very friendly and made our check-in and check-out process very speedy. Our room was clean and fresh, the bathroom was spacious and clean as well.
The location of the hotel is pretty good, as it is located on campus and it just a few minutes away from the Coliseum.
Dining at the hotel is alright. I don't recommend the Sunday Brunch at the Regatta Bar and Grille, it is very pricy for such a limited selection. I would suggest ordering off the menu, you get a better deal. Although the service at the restaurant is friendly, it's slow - our drinks did not come until we were almost finished eating! Overall, it was a pleasant stay and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Morgantown.

  • Liked — Clean and Fresh Room
  • Disliked — Slow Service at Restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mountaineer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.6 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#8 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#15 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#4 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Property: Waterfront Place Hotel
Address: 2 Waterfront Pl, Morgantown, WV 26501-5954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Waterfront Place Hotel, overlooking the picturesque Monongahela River in Morgantown, West Virginia. This beautiful, full-service Wharf District hotel boasts 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with an abundance of amenities, making this premier waterfront hotel perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, free high speed wireless Internet, a beautiful indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, on-site dining, availability of spa services, room service, flat screen televisions, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing