We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went out of their way to accommodate us.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterfront Place Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Louisa, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Went out of their way to accommodate us.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Our daughter graduated from WVU in Dec. 2013. My family went up for a couple of days, to include her grandmother. Some of the family ended up staying an extra day. Toni, at the front desk was extremely helpful in coordinating our rooms and ensuring grandma had a room next door. She also assisted us in allowing us to keep our existing rooms when we decided to stay an extra day, despite the hotel being at almost full capacity. I also can't say enough about the all you can eat prime rib and crab leg buffet in the dining room. What great food for the value. Thanks again Toni and all the staff. I will be contacting you in the fall to come back and watch some great Mountaineer football!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DptyDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Waterfront Place Hotel experience; we sincerely appreciate your polite words. Our staff takes great pride in their work, and Toni is a valuable asset to our team. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Toni and the entire team, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    184
    82
    32
    18
See reviews for
143
123
35
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buckhannon, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at the waterfront because I had a Nursing test at the jackson-kelly building. We were told it was a great place to stay at... The bed was wonderful, however the tv wouldnt work correctly. The tv remote wouldnt turn it on and when you actually pushed the buttons on the tv all it would do was turn it on. It was blasting loud and the volume and channel buttons didnt work. The heater vent rattled and made popping noises all night, evertime it came on and shut off. Needless to say i slept all of 3 hours for the most important test of my life.... Food was good in the restaurant, but small portions for the big price. Over all i really wasnt pleased with my stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Waterfront Place Hotel, please accept my apologies for any troubles you experienced during your stay. After speaking with our Chief Engineer, we are perplexed by the popping noises you have described with regards to the heating system. If you would, please, feel free to contact the hotel so we may learn more about this issue and prevent it from possibly inconveniencing future guests.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here recently on a trip to plan my daughter's wedding. Very nice room and lobby with everything you need right there. Great pool and jacuzzi. A real gym. Staff was very courteous and helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky1Sarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review; your excellent remarks are truly appreciated. We wish you all the best with your daughter’s wedding plans, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

On Jan 21 -22, 2014 a business associate and I became 'stranded' in the Waterfront Hotel due to about a 5 inch snowfall. We could not make our meeting in nearby 'Grafton, WV' because the roads were to icy. We could have left via I-79 north to Pittsburgh but had another meeting to attend on the 24th in a town in northern Ohio.

The temperature plummeted to -5 and stayed that way for the next several days. The snow accumulated all day, while we were warm and snug in the Waterfront.

Restaurant Alert: (I would place the Waterfront Restaurant on a par with any major eating establishment and I have eaten at many in NY, Boston, Chicago etc..)

There are several good restaurants nearby including Oliverios. However, due to the snow/cold we chose not to venture out. We had such a fabulous meal our first night (they specialize in prime rib), we split the prime rib and a NY strip steak. The French Onion Soup was the best I ever had (even better than the Old Station House in Huntington, WV) which prior to this was the best. We decided to stay in the 2nd night and had just as wonderful an experience. I had butternut ravioli dish that was superb!!!

Also, we had breakfast twice and enjoyed very good service from all the staff, but particularly excellent service from 'Kat' who made it in the first morning and was the only server available for a couple of hours. She stepped up to the challenge as we had a group of 13 for the breakfast and there were other customers as well. Thank you Kat!

Room Tip: All are good, but those with a river view are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Steve C,

Waterfront Place Hotel would like to thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable despite the brutal weather conditions affecting your plans. I will share your review with the members of our hotel and restaurant team, and we hope you will visit us again the next time your travels bring you through Morgantown.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were having some work done at our house, so my husband and I checked into the hotel for the weekend. It was very comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed the free wifi and had a good dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank scmorgan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Your excellent review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you in the future at the Waterfront Place Hotel. Thank you again!

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My now-Husband and I stumbled upon WPH when looking or a deal midway b/w Ohio and DC. Priceline led us to WPH. We love this place! It is extremely nice, quiet (unless its a football weekend) and "plush" - especially since the rates are reasonable. Stepping into the hotel, there is an immediate feeling that you are in a hotel in a metropolitan area. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Same as every hotel - steer clear of the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRW1122A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
On behalf of the Waterfront Place Hotel, I wish to thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us. We value and appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Head, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The proximity to WVU and our daughter is perfect. The rooms and hotel itself are kept up very nicely. In the fall there are restaurants walking distance away. Many restaurants were closed in January so we just ate at the hotel for all of our meals. Everything you need is right there. Prices fluctuate throughout the different seasons. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Never had a problem with rooms. Might ask not to be near a party of guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Myla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Myla B – We greatly appreciate your excellent comments regarding your Waterfront Place Hotel experiences. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit your daughter at WVU.

Best regards,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.6 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#8 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#15 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#4 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Property: Waterfront Place Hotel
Address: 2 Waterfront Pl, Morgantown, WV 26501-5954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Waterfront Place Hotel, overlooking the picturesque Monongahela River in Morgantown, West Virginia. This beautiful, full-service Wharf District hotel boasts 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with an abundance of amenities, making this premier waterfront hotel perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, free high speed wireless Internet, a beautiful indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, on-site dining, availability of spa services, room service, flat screen televisions, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing