We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterfront Place Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
26330
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The rooms are large, clean and quiet. There's a modern looking bar and restaurant that serves good food. The location of the hotel, along a rail trail that parallels the Mon River, places it within walking distance of several varied restaurants. We've stayed here before and will stay again.

Room Tip: River views are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dapyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your polite comments regarding your recent stay. Your patronage is greatly appreciated and we look forward to providing you the same experience during future stays.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    184
    82
    32
    18
See reviews for
143
123
35
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

When we first arrived, I thought....wow, this is a nice place. Lots of conference space, a restaurant, parking buildings and a nice location.
However, a closer look found worn furniture, holes in linens, small stains in carpet & a room in need of a fresh coat of paint.

It was quiet and the location allowed us to walk the nice paved trail to very close restaurants along the water front & have a drink with not needing a designated driver.

We will stay here again in the future & recommend to others, based on the fact that it was very clean.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brennon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Brennon,
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at Waterfront Place Hotel. We are grateful for your recommendation to other travelers, and we look forward to seeing you again at the Waterfront.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

What a wonderful hotel! Walking distance (along the river) to some wonderful restaurants (we went to Oliverio's) but hotel also offers a shuttle service. The rooms are large with large bathrooms; bed very comfortable with multiple pillows to choose from (very fluffy to nice and soft). Pool large with hot tub adjoining. The location is not far off the interstate and just down from the University of West Virginia. Antique shops a very short drive and we not only were browsers but also customers. The ONLY negative was the breakfast buffet and this is MINOR complaint. While there was a variety and a fresh omelet/eggs-made-to-order bar, it was a small enclosed space and only one person making omelets...long line. And take our advice and spend the extra for the river view!

Room Tip: The higher you go is not necessarily better...We were on the third floor so our river view was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingal2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review regarding our river view rooms and amenities. We appreciate you taking time to review your stay, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is the 3rd time I've stayed at The Waterfront Place hotel. The beds are Comfy and clean. One of the main reasons I book here is because it has 2 great restaurants and bars. We had the prime rib and crab leg buffet and it was fabulous! We were disappointed that the Rat pack bar closed early all 3 nights. It's really the gem of the hotel. Our bartender told us about the free shuttle service the second night of our stay. We wish we would have known about it on other stays. Maid service was a little disappointing. We are late sleepers, so we put the do not disturb sign on the door. The problem was that they never came back later to tidy up and I had to ask for fresh towels to be brought up. My son ended up staying with us for 2 nights so we asked for a roll out bed and they don't have any. All minor issues, and overall we loved the hotel. I wouldn't however pay the $300/night they want to charge for graduation weekend. So we will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Tina C.,
Your kind remarks regarding your recent stays at the Waterfront are greatly appreciated. Your patronage is incredibly important to us, and we hope to make your future stays just as enjoyable as your past stays.

Thank you for mentioning the issues you had during your stay. Guest comments like yours provide us the opportunity to continually improve the guest experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was here for a meeting; Staff were extremely accommodating and the rooms were in great condition! The bathrooms were very spacious, which is rare in hotels these days. Location was great, very easy to access and was within driving distance of WVU campus and other Morgantown attractions. The only negative I would say is parking. The parking garage is quite a distance away from the hotel and if you have a lot of luggage, could be difficult; however, there is valet parking if you're willing to pay for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Michelle,
Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay. We value your polite remarks regarding our property, and we look forward to seeing you again at the Waterfront Place Hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is very easy to get to when traveling through the area. It is modern, very clean well appointed, the beds are comfy and the bathroom shower and linens very nice. It has a very acceptable restaurant, regatta and it has a separate bar/lounge. We enjoy the hotel, the staff and their professionalism and friendliness. Ir is a winner for us.

Mary Alice
Lewiston, ny

Room Tip: We get the suite, a great value, a larger bath room and a separate living. Both living room and bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryalice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Mary Alice,
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding our hotel accommodations, restaurant, and staff. Thank you for your excellent review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The beds were very comfortable and the staff was very nice. I just wish housekeeping hadnt started knocking on our door at 9am since we had the do not disturb sign up and were checking out that day. Seems unnecessary to bother us so early.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabardite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, Sales Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Erica S.,
Thank you for your recent review. On behalf of the hotel, please accept my apologies for the disturbances you encountered in the morning. Our Executive Housekeeper will address this issue with our Housekeeping team to ensure it does not occur again.

We hope to see you again at the Waterfront.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.6 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#8 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#15 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#4 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Property: Waterfront Place Hotel
Address: 2 Waterfront Pl, Morgantown, WV 26501-5954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Waterfront Place Hotel, overlooking the picturesque Monongahela River in Morgantown, West Virginia. This beautiful, full-service Wharf District hotel boasts 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with an abundance of amenities, making this premier waterfront hotel perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, free high speed wireless Internet, a beautiful indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, on-site dining, availability of spa services, room service, flat screen televisions, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing