We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”
Review of Mountaineer Field

Mountaineer Field
Ranked #2 of 37 things to do in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the West Virginia University football team seats more than 63,500 people in its stands.
War, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Its always a great time to watch a live WVU football game with fellow fans at Mountaineer field. Lets gooooooo Mountaineers!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wvu1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    38
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Average Stadium”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We arrived in town two hours before the game thinking that would give us plenty of time to park and get to the stadium, but were we wrong! People were parking on the shoulder of the road, and any open place they could find a spot! Before leaving home we checked out the website for parking information, but it wasn't very helpful for someone who isn't familiar with the campus. We finally found a parking lot where Boy Scouts were collecting money, so we parked there. The university really needs to have better parking information on the website.

We were a bit concerned about what to expect after hearing/seeing all the announcements regarding drinking too much alcohol and being a good sport. Our concerns were heightened since we were visitors, but not sitting in the visitor's section. Our fears were settled when the person sitting next to my husband asked if we were from Texas (it was the Texas Tech game) and my husband responded yes. The man then said: Welcome to Morgantown! We had no problems in the stands!

We never had to wait long for concessions or restrooms. They have cushioned seats available for rent. We were surprised to see the amount of tailgating that was going on prior to the game. Due to the amount of traffic we decided to take our time trying to leave town. We stopped to get some snacks and then sat in our car about an hour before deciding to leave. That didn't really help as there are so few ways to get out of Morgantown, and coupled with the rain that moved it, it took us what seems forever to get out of town.

Nothing set this stadium apart from any other that we've been too. We're just glad our team won, even if it meant ruining homecoming for WVU! I would suggest allowing ample to time to find parking if you aren't familiar with Morgantown/the campus.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank UOtterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
229 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Great place to watch some college football”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Mountaineer Field has some of the best fans in college football. They also have some great football being played on the field. The stadium is still a work in progress and is constantly being improved. Go see a game if you can.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephens City
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Let's go Mountaineer's”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Sadly, the team lost. But, it was a great game. Great sound,, great seats. Wow, can this group have a wild tailgate. Whew.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank taterhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The best place to be in West Virginia on a Football Game Day”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I'm a WVU graduate, so I might be a little biased, but Mountaineer Field is one of the nations great college football stadiums. From the passionate WVU fans to the singing of "Country Roads" at the end of the game. It is an experience worth being a part of. Come and be a part of some of the greatest tailgating in the country.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountaineer Field also viewed

 

Been to Mountaineer Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing