We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaang Thai

Chaang Thai
Ranked #141 of 285 Restaurants in Morgantown
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food, attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My wife were in Morgantown for a short while and saw Chaang Thai as we were walking and stopped in because we like Thai food. We were greater nicely at the door and shortly after we picked a table. We were given a menu of items that were for a fast lunch crown and also the full menu because we were not in a rush. We ordered the Tum Yum Goong soup with shrimp that was delicious. There was a special on items prepared with crispy duck. I ordered the pad Thai with duck and the favors were excellent and the duck was well prepared. We also got a simple vegetable with shrimp dish that was unremarkable but it tasted delicious. The owner of the restaurant introduced himself and check to see that things were good, which they were.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bassman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    32
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice alternative to fast food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Tried on a recent overnight in Morgantown. The apps were good - spring rolls and chicken satay. We also had a noodle dish with tofu which was good and a chicken basil dish. I asked for no bell peppers in my chicken dish so it was only chicken and tons of it. The one portion could've fed an entire family! The service was courteous with out being intrusive. I would go back and order less food next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cnpotluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Attentive to customers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Decided to go to Chaang Thai based on this website. Was greeted by the owner and served promptly by our waitress, Ruth. The appetizers were tasty, but our food was brought out before we had a chance to finish. My husband ordered the Drukin Noodles with a level 4 spice. He said that the taste was very good, but not enough spice. My dish was the Chaang Pineapple Delight. It was very tasty with lots of fresh vegetables and plenty of chicken.
Our waitress was attentive and continually refilled our drinks. If she was not there, each table is equipped with a call button which I thought would be useful in many restaurants.
Will go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kcurbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lucky find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were about to go to another chain restaurant, but found this one in our GPS when we stopped for the night in Morgantown West VA on a trip. My husband spent a year in Thailand in 1970 and likes to get authentic shrimp fried rice. He loved it and ate the entire huge portion. The staff was friendly and attentive. Cost was reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rainelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Excellent Thai food, great appetizers and the lady that waited on us was not only customer oriented, she was funny. Try the Thai Basil, dumplings and skewered chicken. Right on Main Street with decent wine.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tourismgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chaang Thai also viewed

 

Been to Chaang Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing