We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Russell, Pa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

BW Mountaineer Inn was very comfortable and a very good value. It is easily accessible from I-79 and is easy to find. The fitness room and pool were well maintained. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was fresh and tasty with a moderate selection of items. The room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    108
    56
    41
    54
See reviews for
156
88
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
masontown
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

The staff is very professional and friendly!! The price is right for so much that they offer! My son had his birthday at the hotel and the manager provided us with excellent service for such a large party. The Best Western staff made my son's birthday very special and we are grateful to have a hotel that is family friendly. My entire family was very pleased and we recommend this hotel for anyone needing an excellent place to visit Morgantown!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank frequentrvlr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippi, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Yes, the rooms (Mainly bathrooms) need a bit of attention or updating. But I had no problems with any of my recent stays and was even given the option of moving to a different room (Which I did move) when my room had a musty smell. If you just need a place to sleep and move on the next day, I would recommend this hotel. If you prefer a fancier place, then you will pay more. After being in hotels for the past 7 months during my husbands rehab stay in Morgantown, WV, this is the best value that I have found for when I just needed a place to sleep at night and rest/relax.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigsville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I spent two nights at this hotel with my daughter while in Morgantown WV for medical treatment. We had originally booked one night. We were thrilled with the first night. The staff was EXTREMELY helpful and friendly. The room was very clean. It had a newer heater in the room. The pool area was very nice and clean. There was no wifi in the pool area but a strong signal in the rooms, as well as the lobby. The breakfast was average but good. The coffee was very good. Each room had a microwave and frig. The hallway is cold. For the amenities, the price was great.
After going to an appointment. We had to stay another day in Morgantown unplanned so, naturally we went back to this hotel. It was different staff. They were not friendly or helpful at check in. We had a different room. It was NOT clean. There were hand prints all over the bed backboards which were wooden. There was trash in the frig. The remote was broken and taped together. I had to take it to the front desk to have it "retaped" so I could use it. The front desk lady said, "pretty ghetto huh." The heater was old and didn't work very well. This was problematic due to zero weather.
It was like we stayed at two different hotels. The first experience was perfect and the second experience was less than average. Would I stay there again?? I am not sure. The location is nice though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeley, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My family and another family stayed for a surprise trip for our kids and it was great !!!!!! Very clean , friendly , and affordable ..... We all will be staying again and again . The hotel was very close to all the activities at WVU. The central location gave us many convenient stores and nice restaurants .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kristal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angleton, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

WAS ONLY THERE FOR THE NIGHT. EVERYTHING WAS EXCELLENT. The hotel seemed they went under major renovations. The interior was very beautiful. They even had an indoor salt water pool. I would definitely stay here again. I would rate this hotel 4 and half stars

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The "Mountaineer" is a bit dated and doesn't seem really clean though I did notice that it was dirty. The breakfast was fine. The hotel is located not especially close to many restaurants. Also there are no sidewalks on either side of the road, so walking can be a bit hazardous (especially when there are mounds of snow piled in February)
Still the bed, sleeping and bathroom was fine. Would return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
3.9 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#19 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#5 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn
Address: 366 Boyers Avenue, Morgantown, WV 26505-3046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring newly renovated rooms, this Morgantown hotel is an ideal lodging choice for West Virginia University visitors. Ideally located near West Virginia University, the Best Western Mountaineer Inn provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. This West Virginia University hotel is located 1 mile east of Interstate 79 at Exit 155 just .05 mile from the West Virginia University Coliseum and one mile from the main campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountaineer Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Best Western
Best Western Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing