We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Simple, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Baltimore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clean, Simple, Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Found the Microtel Inn in the traveler's coupon book. I had a rate of $59/night in Room 121. The hotel is easy to find just off the exit and up the hill. There is plenty of parking and access in and out is easy. It is convenient to several fast food and chain restaurants. I would not have usually stayed in this hotel chain though was surprised it was as nice as it is.The desk clerk was friendly and welcoming. He pointed me to a very high end steak place for dinner where steak entres started at $20+. Drive north to the next exit and get the chain restaurant steak places for less. The hotels are a step up with a larger variety of better restaurants also.

The room was simple. Double queen beds, wall mounted night table between. A refrigerator, microwave, coffee set were in the room. Flat panel TV with numerous cable channels. Free WiFi access. Window seat with cushion and pill back rest. The wall behind the bed is covered in blue tinted mirrors. My first impression - great place to bring your 'date' for an evening of intimate frolicking! - There, I said it.

Continental Breakfast included cereals, bagels, pastry, biscuit, gravy, juices, coffee. I'm a coffee snob yet the drip coffee made here was very good. Not the usual burnt flavor. Good job staff!

Upon check-in, read the paperwork you sign. There is a fee+tax charge for the "safe use". Have it taken off your bill when you check out.

Images on the Microtel website are fairly accurate with minor differences.

Room Tip: Even number rooms face the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooperpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    267
    132
    38
    29
See reviews for
328
184
58
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed here while in Morgantown for the Mountaineer Kennel Club's dog agility trial. With the exception of one employee at check-in, everyone was very friendly and professional. There was a slight problem at check-in with us not getting the room we were told we would have (an end room, convenient for dog pottying) but we did get a room that wasn't far from an exit door. The staff were very apologetic for the mix-up. The room was immaculately clean. The location is convenient to I-79.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstbadreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here in September for a football game. We booked the room months before for a reasonable price. When we checked in, front desk clerk tried to increase the nightly rate by $100, we said NO!, we showed him our reservation details. He continued and we said NO!
Finally, he agreed and we signed for the original rate and went to our room.
Room and stay was OK.
Then, I receive the credit card bill and it contains 2 charges for the same day--the original nightly rate and then a second charge for just over $100.
Please do not stay here. I have contacted the credit card company.
You do not need the hassle.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imagineLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelMorgantown, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Thank you for your review about the hotel on TripAdvisor. I have read this review and would like to let you know that there was a problem with the computer system at the hotel and that was the reason for the mischarge. There was absolutely no intent or maliciousness to defraud you or any guest that stays with us. I have, since reading this review, corrected the over charge and emailed you a copy of the receipt showing the credit back to your credit card. I apologize for the inconvenience that this caused, however the hotel nor anyone under its employ knowingly over charged you for your stay. I do hope that you give us another chance to show that this is not the norm by any stretch of the imagination, and let us show that we only provide the highest in guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here one night on our way to Washington DC. It was just what we needed, a bed and a bathroom. It is a small room (the name is Microtel, so that's not surprising) but was clean. The front desk guy was friendly and informed us of the impending snow (!!) in October. I would have appreciated 4 pillows on the bed instead of 3 so my husband and I could each have 2. The free breakfast was basic but good. I had a muffin and a bagel, hubby had the biscuits (you toast them to warm them up) and gravy from a hotpot.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarletpaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelMorgantown, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your hotel stay with us! It is our focus to provide the highest in guest satisfaction to each and every guest that stays with us. I am glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and on future trips please let us know and we can add an extra pillow to your bed to make your sleep that much more comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again on future visits to or through Morgantown, WV!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stopped here en route to Myrtle Beach area and were pleasantly surprised. This was our first experience with Microtel, and would definitely stay again. We had a little difficulty with online booking. Our confirmed reservation never made it to the front desk (even after several hours), but the staff more than made up for the inconvenience with a complimentary upgrade.

We tried a few other chains in this price range, but they did not compare. Good breakfast too.

We did notice a tobacco smell in the hallways of our non-smoking wing, but not as bad as in other properties. The room was small, but clean and functional, and we got a great night's sleep.

Excellent choice of restaurants off the next interstate exit north.

We were a little disturbed at the wide variety of rates possible for the same room. Seemed to be a lot of discretion and a potential for premium charges. Check coupons and internet offers to know what to expect in advance.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wasagadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelMorgantown, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you very much for your review of your stay at our hotel! I am happy to hear that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. I apologize for the problems that you had with your online reservations, but I am very glad to see that the staff made up for that inconvenience. If you are looking to come back to Morgantown please call us directly at the hotel and we would be more than happy to try and circumvent any issues like the one you experienced with the online company. We do our best to provide the highest in guest satisfaction and customer service and I am glad to see that we did just that. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We had a very very nice room that was very clean. The queen bed was absolutely comfy! The staff was very kind and the breakfast was excellent. The only concern that I have is the listed prices seem very high although we had a special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelMorgantown, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel! I am glad to see that your stay was enjoyable and that the room, staff, and breakfast were all to your liking! It is our goal to provide each and every guest the highest in customer service and guest satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again if you are ever traveling back to or through Morgantown, WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua,NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed the night of September 14, 2011 while visiting a friend who is a student at the university. The room was extremely clean and the bed very confortable.

In the morning we left our only key in the room and had to bother the staff for another one. The lady working the desk seemed to very happy to get the key for us.

In getting home we discovered that we had left some of our valuables in the safe. Our call back to the motel was answered by Jared. He promised to check the safe and get right back. The return call was from Seth, who is the general manager. He had retrieved our missing items and promised to mail them in the morning at his cost. I tried to pay, but was declined.

The positive attitude of the staff goes a long way to overcome any negative aspects of the place such as room size. I will take this any day and recommend this place to others. If I am in the area I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Killigrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelMorgantown, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you for your review of the Microtel Inn & Suites- Morgantown. I am glad that we were able to get your items back to you and that your room was clean and comfortable. This is the level of guest satisfaction we strive to provide every day to every guest that chooses our hotel. I hope to see you again on future trip to or through Morgantown, WV!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.7 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Address: 15 Lawless Road, Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Business Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Family Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Morgantown
Microtel Inn & Suites Morgantown Hotel Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing