We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect too much...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grave Creek Mound Archaeological Complex

Grave Creek Mound Archaeological Complex
Ranked #4 of 12 things to do in Moundsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic site features a mysterious 69-foot-high Native American burial mound that was built between 250 and 150 B.C.
Cheswick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Not very exciting, there is a museum with some neat exhibits. Kids went through it quickly. Now I know where the name "Moundsville" came from. Worth a walk across the street if you happen to be at the Penn.
View from the top of the burial mound was nice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevekaz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    20
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth a look, that's about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This mound is literally right across the street from the prison, so you might as well take a look. No visitors were allowed actually on the mound when we were there, so we didn't go inside. Unless you are a huge history buff, it is pretty boring.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank prettyflygirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great views from the top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Kind of interesting, views from the top of the mound were great. Would visit again if given the opportunity.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank michellemarie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A big pile of dirt a great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We decided to hit the mound today over our lunch break so it was a quick visit. The hike up isn't bad but if you do it too quickly you may end up with a little vertigo. The view from the top is quite pretty. I figured this was built around 1200-1500 but was amazed to find out it was built around 200 BC. The museum is nice, but like I said, we didn't have much time. They not only teach you the history of the mound but they also have displays on the Homer Laughlin Company (Fiesta Ware and dishes), period clothing, glad blowing and the Marble King marble company. We loved the glass exhibit with blown glass flowers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank b_perigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
224 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Okay if you have some extra time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We visited the museum and mound after taking a tour of the Prison right across the street. The museum is literally within walking distance so we didn't have to even move the car. The museum is free and has a small gift shop and restrooms right near the entrance. Unfortunately, we didn't find the museum to be that interesting and if you have small children you might have trouble keeping them entertained. Maybe it would be better when there are more activities going on. A very large display on the first floor consisted of dolls in different period clothing. I did think that the big marble display on the wall was really neat. Upstairs, there was detailed information about the mound and its history. We looked through this before heading out to walk up the mound.

The walk up to the mound was cool and we got some neat pictures once at the top. Wear some good walking shoes because the steps are a little steep. One thing I did notice was that the top had not been mowed or taken care of in a while. The grass was rather long and there were lots of big black bugs that were coming out when you walked.

In my opinion, I would not travel a long distance to visit, but for someone who enjoys this then this museum might be exactly what you're looking for. It's free so you have nothing to lose but some time. If you are visiting the Prison across the street and have some extra time, I'd stop for a bit and at least walk up the mound.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank funinthesun037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grave Creek Mound Archaeological Complex also viewed

 

Been to Grave Creek Mound Archaeological Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing