We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dont go here”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have stayed at casinos all over the US and this by far is the worse casino hotel and casino I have been in. The hotel rooms are very average not at all up to par with casino hotels. The casino is dingy and dirty looking -----its very dark and all decorations plastic and cheap-- There is no entertainment other than dog racing which has be viewed from a basement area or restaurant. There are two bars in casino which charge $7 cocktail or wine served in a small plastic cup. There are about 800 or 900 slots outdated appear retired slots from other casinos. During the day most of the tables are closed due to lack of customers. If you want to go to casino in West Virginia go to Charlestown. Hollywood has 5000 slots excellent casino all up to date with complimentary beverages served in glasses. By pass this casino not up casino standards.

Room Tip: If you stay here request top floor too noisy everywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank montana925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    122
    43
    15
    26
See reviews for
63
185
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MAYSVILLE, KENTUCKY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Everyone in the hotel and casino were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good with everything cooked to order and the dinner buffet was a great deal for $9.95 ! The room was clean, large and comfortable. the only thing that was negative was the noise from adjacent rooms and hallway. If you are a light sleeper it may not be for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CAPARONIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
630 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

From check-in to check-out everything here was super! Friendly desk staff and bellman (Eddie) made us feel right at home. Our room was very nice, but they really need to put refrigerators in the rooms instead of mini-bars. Room was clean, service was good. The casino was a pleasure to experience being smoke-free!! And the slots were much more generous this visit compared to our last time here.
Had dinner at the French Quarter. Very pricey, but the service (provided by Denee) and food were outstanding! We'll come back!

Room Tip: 4th floor doesn't have an ice machine, so if that's important to you, book a room on 1st, 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharpShoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A group of friends went for a quick weekend trip and had a great time. The hotel was very nice and the rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The casino was a pretty good size and also very clean. The craps tables and blackjack tables get pretty full on weekend nights so it is sometimes hard to get on the tables. Other than that, the casino was great as well. The buffet had a little to be desired, but it was fairly cheap. The dog racing was fun since I had never bet on them before and it was nice weather to sit out and watch a few races. I would definitely visit again for a quick weekend trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CavaHoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Once again our stay exceed our expectations. Jerry Anderson and his staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. Love having a jacuzzi tub in our room! Having bottled water in the room is very convenient. The free breakfast was amazing with made to order omelets. Looking forward to our next stay for my birthday!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed one night as a stop-over while traveling.

There was no valet parking at the hotel. We also required handicap parking, and there were only 3 handicap parking spaces, all taken. It was raining, so this was an extreme inconvenience for us.

The walls in the rooms were thin and the noise from the hallways and adjoining rooms was disturbing.

Now for the good stuff! The rooms were very well appointed, comfortable, and spacious. Couldn't have been better. Also, the complementary breakfast was restaurant quality with real plates and cutlery. The made-to-order omelet station was fantastic.

The room rate (discounted with a casino players card) was extremely reasonable.

Had a great time at the casino, as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were celebrating our 42nd Anniversary and wanted to go somewhere different. We emailed Jerry Anderson and he had Pam the concierge fulfill a dream anniversary. Her attention to detail is just one of the many assets she has. You can tell she loves her job and loves people. OUr experience was made into a dream for us. The Presidential Suite is like walking into our beautifully appointed home. 2 large rooms, a king size 4 poster bed. A fireplace in the living room. 3 Large flat screen TV's. Private jacuzzi whirlpool big enough for 10 people in our room. The room was quiet, comfortable and luxurious. Pam made each day special for us. Surprised us many times with special treats, food, desserts. If you are planning a special birthday or anniversary you have to go to Mardi Gras.Casino and Resort. Every single person on staff made you feel like you were important. The casino is beautiful. Had a variety of gaming tables and slots. I liked that it was not chaotic and the sounds were not overbearing. It was comfortable playing and they also have a dog track on the premises as well. Several places to eat on site from luxury to simple fare there is something for everyone. They provide a wonderful breakfast every morning replete with chefs making special omelets and eggs over easy to cereals and sweets, bacon, sausage, potatoes, all kinds of juices, coffee. Whatever you feel like eating they have. All done nicely and it all is free. The property is very well groomed. They have a heated pool and gym. For the novice gambler you will find it very comfortable. For the high rollers you will be treated well. Pam will try to make each of your experiences one that you will remember.
It is easy to get there and the town of Charleston is very quaint . No matter what you want to go Pam is there to offer her services to you. We have been to many casino's and even in Las Vegas we were not treated as well as we were here. We can not thank Mr Anderson and Pam enough for making our 42nd anniversary so special. If you want a fun time, good food, nice gambling tables, relaxing atmosphere please go to Mardi Gras...I promise you will not be disappointed. They make you feel like family...and we are forever grateful to them for this wonderful experience.

Room Tip: If you have the money the suites are amazing. And worth every penny spent. The other rooms are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nitro
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
10.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Casino & Resort

Property: Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Address: 1 Greyhound Dr, Nitro, WV 25313-1474
Region: United States > West Virginia > Nitro
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mardi Gras Casino & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mardi Gras Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Hotel Nitro
Mardi Gras Casino And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing