We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place to stay, but not our first choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn New River
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Brighton, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Fine place to stay, but not our first choice”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

To let everyone know who is looking at the area hotels, this hotel and the New River Inn on Fayette Landings are the same hotel. The city changed the road name with the new interchange.

This was not our first choice for area lodging, but seeing we got such a late start to planning this vacation we were unable to get the premium lodging on ACE Adventure Center property. Since we were in Oak Hill, WV 6 years ago, the rafting scene has changed dramatically. Where ACE had been in competition with several other companies at that time, the economy has forced several rafting companies to sell their names and assets to two remaining companies: Class IV and ACE. This consolidation has placed a squeeze on the premium climate controlled lodging at these places. Therefore, we chose this establishment to stay in.

There is nothing to make this property to stand out from any other hotel in the area, although others staying here stated that one of the area indoor pools had so much chlorine in it, just entering the pool area burned one's eyes and lungs. The rooms were of adequate size and clean. We were able to get a hot shower at any time, no matter how full the hotel was. However, we can not state positively the friendliness of the desk staff. We made no crazy requests and were met with a "humph" from the front desk for the internet username and password. If that is so much a bother, put it in the room. With this economy, one might think a person would want to make sure they kept a job they had.

As for noise, thankfully it was not the weekend so there were no parties or boistrous people near us. We asked for and got a room on the third floor near an exit on the back side of the property. It was a little disconcerting as we brought our luggage to our room and feeling and hearing the hall floor creak and groan the entire way.

As for the internet, I swear they had scheduled outages or sent software to my wireless that would turn it off. I also had software conflicts that I did not have before staying there, or since I left the establishment.

The breakfast area was small, but efficiently run. The employee kept cleaning the tables and making sure that everything remained stocked. They also had two flavors of Belgian waffles each day, along with hard boiled eggs, sausage gravy and other items. If you leave hungry, you are way to picky. As for the other meals of the day, there are many other dining options close by in the strip mall: El Rio Grande mexican, Subway, Shoney's and an Asian buffet that the local like.

Bottom line; would I stay here again? Yes, if I could not get a premium place to stay on the rafting company's property.

Room Tip: Just ask when checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    61
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
55
54
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
QUINTON
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We were here for 2 nights. The beds were comfortable and the room clean. Nice size fridge. Maid service was terrible.

Breakfast had a lot of variety with hot items in a very clean and well stocked room.

The room and bath are smaller than average and, as others noted, the walls are paper thin. A lot of noise from both above and beside us. It wasn't that distracting as it quieted down by bedtime. (most folks, as well as we, were probably there for the rafting early in the morning). Only 1 mile to River Expeditions, which was a great outfit to raft the New.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EERQuinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Ida, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We had three rooms for two nights with our mission team. We went on the New River Gorge rafting. The hotel was new, clean, great mattress, good breakfast. I can't find anything to complain about except the halls and the elevator smelled strong with smoke. The staff was very nice. They went out of their way to get the girls swim
towels. They put our rooms
adjacent to each other. The pool was small but clean. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at the New River Comfort Inn because we were looking for a hotel that was close to our rafting trip meeting point. It was within 5 minutes which was very nice. When we checked in we were given a room which was pretty clean and on the first floor. I called the front desk to get an access code for wireless Internet, but no one answered. I then walked to the front desk but no one was there. I waited for about 10 minutes before saying screw it. Went back to the room and went to bed, or at least tried. It felt like you could hear everything everyone was saying in the whole hotel. Anytime someone would walk upstairs on the second floor, there were all kinds of loud creaking and pinging noises in the ceiling and it sounded like something was going to come through the ceiling at any moment. The beds were also some of the most uncomfortable beds I have slept in, the worst being in Mexico. For the price we paid I would expect more and and expect a little better breakfast as well. We'll deff stay somewhere else next rafting trip.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smoke1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I requested a roll-away bed online and when I arrived they told me that they didn't have any even though it was a option. They mentioned they had air mattresses but they were all being used, so my daughter slept on the floor. I didn't realize they had a pool either, it was heated but full of leaves. Otherwise, the hotel was neat and clean. Close to white water rafting adventures and that is why we stayed there. Restaurants and stores right up the road.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Hill
2.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
213 reviews
16.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
20.8 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn New River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn New River

Property: Comfort Inn New River
Address: 801 Mall Rd, Oak Hill, WV 25901-6119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn New River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn New River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn New River Oak Hill, West Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing