We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Time”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
ACE Adventure Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Nine of us just returned from our Ace Adventure. Just getting there is the first adventure if you are traveling in an RV on those mountain curves. Six of us stayed in two of the cabins and 3 used the campground. Camping was spacious and enjoyable with good location near showers but they did leave something to be desired. Cabins were nice with hot tub and picnic table. A fire pit is provided at each cabin also. Our cabin had a futon which would not be comfortable for sleeping but only one used it and we placed 4 pillows and one rolled up blanket on it and made it more comfortable for one person to sleep. If you go, be sure to buy the meal package. There were incredible buffets for breakfast (lots of fruit, cereal, bacon, sausage, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, sweet rolls, etc) and the dinner buffet was incredible. One night we had barbecued fibs that were fabulous! The real reason to go there is for the adventure and those who did white water rafting and zip lining said it was incredible. Their guides made it so much fun. Our "adventurers" ranged in age from 12 to 72 and the "old guy" had a blast!! For those who cannot do the adventuress, there are sightseeing areas. We went to a winery and sightseeing. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a great place to stay for a weekend or so. I went with my overnight camp so there was around 55 of us. The girls stayed in cabins and us boys stayed in the 2 tent things. I hate staying in tents and I actually enjoyed staying in these ones! There is so much room to play outdoors, or build a fire. The main area of the resort was nice too, and the breakfast buffet was amazing. White water rafting the new river was an amazing experience, as was repelling and climbing rocks. Also the adventure park is cool too. Overall a perfect way to represent a beautiful state and boost its reputation. The staff are very generous too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pschnee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed at Ace this past weekend. We had 4 in our group and stayed in a cabin. The cabins are very nice and clean. We had a hot tub, a/c, fire pit , grill and picnic table. The staff is very nice and helpful. We rafter on Saturday with Marilyn who was by far the best guide we have had so far. She was very experienced and showed us a great time. She is safety conscience and kept all of us in the raft. They cook you a great lunch on the river too!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a "quiet,secluded lake view chalet" and I was very disappointed. It is right next to a small lake which had kids yelling and playing during the day. In the evening and at night there was more road noise than at home. It was not kept up well very clean. There were dust bunnies and the shower was dirt No way I would have showered without flip flops. I am 5'8 130lb and I barely fit in the tiny shower. The water pressure was so bad it took 30 min to get cleany. The hot tub cover was held together with lowes packing tape.Most of the cabin needs redone. The bed linens were old and did not smell fresh. The towels were AWFUL! Like using sandpaper. Lastly, I was awake at 5:30 because there are huge east facing windows with no curtains. Who wants to wake up with the sun on vacation ?!? Not me. I definitely would not return and I feel this was Mis advertised and very overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewright923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, Manager at ACE Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hello,

Thanks again for another review of your experience at ACE. Again, we do read all of our reviews and we do take these suggestions very seriously. We have changed some of the text on our website regarding these cabins. As you mentioned, they are very close to the ACE Lake and the center of livelihood of our property. Many folks desire these cabins because of their convenient close-to-the-action location. My apologies, that was clearly not the experience you desired.

As per the rest of your review, our maintenance and housekeeping crews have been notified. Although we do not claim to be a five star resort, we are disappointed to read about your experience and hope to do all we can to make sure another guest does not leave feeling the same way.

Thanks again,
Heidi Prior
Social Media Manager
ACE Adventure Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were at Ace from 7-5-2014 to. 7-11-2014 and had a great time from the time we got there. Kids enjoyed the lake everyday. This was our second time there & we are so happy we were able to bring our 2 dogs this time. Thanks ACE for making that change! The guides are awesome making sure everyone is having a good time but safe at the same time. We made sure to get Steve Reid as our whitewater rafting guide. He's awesome! We did a scenic bike ride with Lucky as our guide & must say we were lucky to have him. He was very friendly & accommodating. He even picked berries for us along the way. We forgot a purchase we made in his book bag & he made sure we got it back informing the front desk to contact us. The wait staff at the restaurant was also very friendly. In particular John who took really good care of us. ACE staff are a class act . Wonderful place! Definitely will be back. Our doggies too. They loved their walks in the"woods".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Reno146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I love whitewater rafting and had yet another memorable trip in mid-June, our third trip with Ace. We didn't think it could top the past two experiences but it did. But this is not surprising because we've always marveled at what an efficiently run company Ace is - it has its operating model down to a science. Its customer service has always been excellent and is consistent among different individuals. The past two times we rafted with Ace we did not stay overnight on Ace property but this time we decided to book a cabin for the night before the rafting trip, and we were glad we did. The cozy park cabin we stayed in was clean and well-stocked with plenty of towels, soap, dishes, etc. The hot tub was awesome and such a nice way to relax. While the cabin was not large or fancy, it had everything we needed with the best part being it felt extremely private. My only recommendation would be for it to come equipped with a portable fan for the bedroom. It was also nice to be able to roll out of bed and be right there on property for the trip the next morning.

On to the rafting trip: we did the Double Lower New trip (rafting the same terrific stretch twice in one day) on a 14 ft raft and were paired with a couple guys that we enjoyed getting to know. Our guide was Zach, and we couldn't have gotten luckier. Not only is he extremely knowledgeable about all things rafting, he has extensive experience - from WV whitewater to regular guiding in Costa Rica. He was also just plain fun - laid back, smart and entertaining. The water was running great that day and we had some amazing surfing experiences, laughing and yelling almost to the point of exhaustion. Zach was top notch at getting the best surfing done. We're hoping to do the Gauley in the Fall and if so we will absolutely want to request Zach. That said, all of the guides are great and were super friendly. We had fun mingling at lunch (grilled burgers and chicken, veggies, chips, and what might have been the best cookies ever...). And the shower facilities were so nice to have after the trip. Ace really does an outstanding job. We can't wait to be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VA_Vacationer128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in the cedar cabins for 2 nights. It is a nice cabin and we were fairly close to the bathroom/showers. The cabin smell of cedar was a bit overwhelming but we got used to it. We did the all day white water rafting trip thru Ace. We had a great time going down the New River with our guide, Joe. Joe is a trip and catered our rafting trip to our level of adventure we wanted to take.
We ate at the restaurant there at Ace. The 1st night we had the buffet which was ok. The next night we ate outside and had the brick oven pizza. A much better choice! The pizza was good. Our server was not so good. She was very slow at getting our drinks and order. When our pizza came she came with the pizza but not any plates. By the time she came back we had finished the pizza. Overall pizza good - service not so good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NavyWifeJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi P, Manager at ACE Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello and thanks for your review. We love hearing that Joe gave your group the perfect level of adventure on your New River trip.

I have passed this review off to our Food & Beverage Manager for his immediate review. Our goal is to always get 5 stars and to surpass people's expectations. It's great to hear the brick oven pizza was such a good choice, now it's our job to make sure it is delivered with a top notch smile and excellent service. Every. Single. Time.

Should you want to discuss anything in more detail, feel free to shoot me an email at heidi@aceraft.com. Thanks for visiting ACE and we truly hope we get another shot to WOW you.

-Heidi Prior
ACE Adventure Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Hill
2.6 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
224 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
14.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
9.9 mi away
Days Inn Mount Hope
Days Inn Mount Hope
#1 of 1 in Mount Hope
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACE Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACE Adventure Resort

Address: Minden Rd, Oak Hill, WV 25901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range: £9 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on the Travel Channel, we offer amazing vacations, most of them wet! We are North America's largest outdoor vacation resort, where you can try whitewater rafting, zip line canopy tours, kayaking, rock climbing, mountain biking, hiking, paintball, ATV tours, a mud obstacle course, alpine tower, stand up paddle boarding, fishing, horseback riding, a bridge catwalk tour, or relax on the beach of our 5-acre lake full of inflatable toys. Come get away from it all on our 1,500-acre property in Southern West Virginia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ace Adventure Hotel Oak Hill
Ace Adventure Center Hotel
ACE Adventure Resort Oak Hill, West Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing