We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
ACE Adventure Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Wright, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Spent 4 days here in the cedar cabins. Although the weather wasn't cooperative, the staff at ACE did. We had a great time on the river, went mountain-biking (great suggestions from staff!), and hiking on some fabulous trails. The layout in the cabins is nice - 2 queen and 2 trundles, which means that everyone in fam of 5 can have their own bed. Everyone from the folks who cleaned the bathrooms to the desk staff, bike shop, lake, and rafting were knowledgeable, friendly, and went the extra mile. Cannot wait to come back. Will probably stay somewhere a little closer to the center of activity at ACE next time as with the rain and mud, the drive was sometimes a bit of a hassle. Huge property, but you've done a great job developing while keeping the outdoors feel. Lots to do for all ages. Wish we were back already.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 41011KYfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    77
    14
    6
    13
See reviews for
175
55
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

It has been along time since i had such a great time. It was a great week. We had our company getaway there. From the cabins to the camp ground everything was perfect for us. We did the white water and zip. The white was epic and Zach our guide definitely was the reason. He made our trip, not one person in our raft didnt walk away with an amazing time on the river but also amazing memories we will be taking about for years. (I will schedule my personal vacation around hisbwork schedule so we get hom as our guide) I chose to camp and while a wet one it was a great time. Others chose to stay in cabins and seemed to really like them. And the ones that wanted a hotel regretted their decision. While there are other choices Ace Adventure will be mine from now on. Again thanks to everyone at Ace and a big Thanks to Zach!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gosborne2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

It is always important to judge an establishment on its primary purpose. Ace is a Guide company specializing in River activities. If this was my only criteria I would rate them a five. We went river rafting guided by Mattie and she was very competent and made us feel safe and welcome. I'm still wondering how she yanked me out of the water given I am 215+ and she is probably 120 soaking wet. The only criticism is directed at our accommodations. We stayed at a cabin "luxury" Chalet. We were there three nights and had six people to feed. The cabin itself was fine. It was clean and functional. The kitchen, not so much. The refrigerator leaked from the freezer, the kitchen utensils were scarce and we were missing glasses. We had no can opener and I had to hunt down additional larger pots, cutting boards, can opener at the service desk. It takes little effort to provision a kitchen with the basics and unfortunately ACE did not meet even the basic standard. I am metering this by designating the accommodations as necessary evils for ACE and not there core offering. In no way am I suggesting that someone should exclude them in your choices of places to stay, but ACE management take note. You need to focus on getting your kitchens in order. If you do select ACE bring with you your own pots, pans and utensils.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TomNTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Spent weekend camping,rafting,zipping! Awesome time! Cleanest campgrounds with friendly staff.
Our river guide, Chicken Head( yep, he's for real!) was absolutely fantastic. Could not have asked for a better experience. Lunch on river by the team was great! Wild ride met all our expectations. Didn't lose a single paddler overboard!!!
Zip line guides excellent as well. Kept everyone safe and enjoyed the incredible views. You gotta see this place!! Do it all again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ktkayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous weekend at Ace. The campsites were great with nice clean bath houses. I was very nervous about the whitewater rafting, but our guide, Chickenhead, was the best! I felt totally safe and confident and had a blast! I can't say enough about how great he was. He knew the rapids like the back of his hand and nobody fell out of our raft all day. They served us an awesome lunch on the river. It was so much fun. We zip lined on Sunday and, again, had super guides. Paul, Chelsea, and Brent saw to it that we had a great time and the scenery was gorgeous! Can't wait to come back! Thanks, Ace!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorikaysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just got back from a great weekend here and I'm already ready to head back! :) We stayed in a lake view chalet which was exactly as described right down to the private hot tub(which is the best thing after a day of rafting!). All of the staff was incredible...including our awesome raft guide Kevin!! This was our second year rafting with him and we can't wait until the next, he is great at what he does! We surfed, swam down rapids, ate a delicious lunch, and had an amazing time on the Lower New. :) The atmosphere at Ace is so friendly, laid back, and relaxing...I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent get away ! Cabin tent ,A5, was very accommadating and efficient,comfortable sleeping etc. if your a camper it will be much better than most .Lower New with 'Bear" was terrific, fun, wild good times. Bear is a knowledegable ,experienced guide with an obvious love for his lifestyle and his job.Provided instruction and info on the gorge and history of area.We are already trying to plan the galley trip for this fall ,and yes ,I would be requesting bear as our guide. The facility is awesome , food is good and really pretty fairly priced.If your thinking about this destination ,do it ,it s more than worth it . Troop leader was "chicken Head' and he kept the entire day moving orderly and without any snags really.Lunch on river was also real tasty,I would not hesitate to return,and will do so.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Hill
17.7 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
2.8 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
14.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
7.8 mi away
Adventures on the Gorge - Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACE Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACE Adventure Resort

Property: ACE Adventure Resort
Address: Minden Rd, Oak Hill, WV 25901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on the Travel Channel, we offer amazing vacations, most of them wet! We are North America's largest outdoor vacation resort, where you can try whitewater rafting, zip line canopy tours, kayaking, rock climbing, mountain biking, hiking, paintball, ATV tours, a mud obstacle course, alpine tower, stand up paddle boarding, fishing, horseback riding, a bridge catwalk tour, or relax on the beach of our 5-acre lake full of inflatable toys. Come get away from it all on our 1,500-acre property in Southern West Virginia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ace Adventure Hotel Oak Hill
Ace Adventure Center Hotel
ACE Adventure Resort Oak Hill, West Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing