We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful romantic getaway !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blennerhassett Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Parkersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect place for a romantic weekend getaway! Gracious staff, lovely appointed rooms, historic charm , great food choices! Our favorite place to stay in Parkersburg ! Weekend evenings enjoy music and dining on the patio . It also boasts a library, coffee shop and gift shop !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bobbi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
There are newer reviews for The Blennerhassett Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

My class reunion was in the area and this hotel offered a group rate for those who wanted to stay. We were met at the door by a nice young man who offered help in parking or to carry a bag.
I don't know if I am on a reunion "high" but I enjoyed every moment of this trip.
The room was very clean and the bed was cofmy. I think there were ten pillows on the bed.
The library is a nice little room with sitting space for those who want to congregate.
We were on the third floor and there was a very nice sitting area that had sunlight.
There is a nice outside area to sit with bar service.
The elevators are a bit slow - but that is the only drawback.
I have not been many places where the staff was so friendly.
The furniture is antique. Many pieces are amazing.
I would love to have my family reunion here.
We enjoyed the Father's Day brunch.
Everything was top shelf.
From oysters to egg's benedict and a carving of roast beef,
very good and worth the price!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerfunOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Blennerhassett Hotel is an excellent vintage hotel in downtown Parkersburg, WV. The staff is excellent--friendly and helpful. We needed a refrigerator in our room and one was brought to us right away by a very cheerful lady who made me feel right at home. The vintage features include antique furniture, gentleman's smoking room turned into a lounge and lovely dinning area with an alfresco dinning area as well. There was also a coffee depot off the desk area. The towels were wonderful--very fluffy and absorbent. This was our second stay at the Blennerhassett and it was great both times.

Room Tip: There is the original hotel and also an addition put in place later. You might want to get into the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Wonderful hotel for the antiques and polishing. From the lobby, to the library, to the somewhat snooty dining room, to my wonderful corner suite. This hotel makes you feel like you're back in the early 1900s when service along the Ohio River was king. The king size bed in my suite was so grand, that you needed a couple steps to get up into the overly comfy mattress and pillows. From the overstuffed chairs to the wardrobe that hit the flat-panel TV, this suite with its high ceiling reeked luxury. I've never been in a shower stall with so many options from the rainfall head in the ceiling, to the handheld on the wall, to the half a dozen different shower outlets on one wall. I wanted to spend an afternoon just in this getaway. I recommend at least cocktails and appetizers in the garden outside or a fine meal with a fabulous wine list. Don't tell anybody but this luxury comes at a bargain rate. One of the top notch hotels in West Virginia

Room Tip: If you can get it, ask for the William Morris suite
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choochoo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Although a bit out of the way, Blennerhassett is definitely worth winding your way through the neighborhoods. Rooms are small but there are lovely sitting areas on some of the floors which provide a nice place to congregate. Visited twice this year and both times had an issue in the bar when one of our party ordered a cocktail and it wasn't what they expected. Neither time did the wait staff offer to replace it!? I've never experienced anything like that. The restaurant - Spats - is exceptional! The food and service were excellent! Chef Rick came to the table and was both personable and helpful. Everyone liked their food and given that this was a tough crowd ... bravo!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PegTMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Spent one beautiful night. Had breakfast next day for 7. It was excellent would definitely recommend this hotel. Everything was clean and perfect. On national registry so will forgive slow elevator. I give it 99/100. Hope to go back. Parkersburg is not a prime destination but if you are there check this hotel out even if you are not staying there.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank hrposse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel and room were very nice. Had a bit of a problem when I was double charged on 2 credit cards as I used one to reserve the room and the other to pay. I spent some time with the help of the manager to sort it out. Downtown Parkersburg is pretty much a ghost town. Don't expect to find anything thriving there. And don't wander too far out of the historic Julie Anne District with its lovingly restored houses. You will find yourself in unsafe neighborhoods. I won't go back to this faded beauty of a city.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel, away from street noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffy_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkersburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parkersburg Downtown
11.7 mi away
The Lafayette
The Lafayette
#6 of 11 in Marietta
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Parkersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Parkersburg
98 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Parkersburg
Comfort Inn Parkersburg
#7 of 11 in Parkersburg
115 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Vienna Parkersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blennerhassett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blennerhassett Hotel

Address: 320 Market St, Parkersburg, WV 26101-5337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Parkersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Parkersburg
Price Range: £90 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Blennerhassett Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blennerhassett is an elegant, historic, full-service property located in downtown Parkersburg featuring boutique-style guest rooms and state-of-the-art conference and catering facilities. Located in the heart of downtown Parkersburg, guests are within walking distance of museums, bike trails, live theater, the Blennerhassett Island boat launch and diverse local dining options. You can also enjoy live music and exquisite cuisine in our own Spats Restaurant & Lounge, or Spats Patio seasonally. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, newspaper, fitness center, valet parking and our own coffee bar serving Starbucks Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Blennerhassett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blennerhassett Hotel Parkersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing