We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Just like going back to 1800's

First time in area and went to the special candlelight evening done one weekend a year. Weather was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Lou B
,
Villas
via mobile
Worthwhile trip

Went with a group. We had tickets for ferry ride, dinner and covered wagon tour. The ferry ride... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Lanie46
,
East Coast, USA
Read all 290 reviews
  
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
172
86
25
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
86
25
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wagon ride mansion tour ohio river day trip gift shop blennerhassett island stern wheeler costumed guides aaron burr covered wagon state park paddle wheel original house period dress buy your tickets snack bar ticket booth
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time in area and went to the special candlelight evening done one weekend a year. Weather was cold but atmosphere and presentation took you back in time being part of history. Lots of activities to enjoy. Would do candlelight weekend again.

Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went with a group. We had tickets for ferry ride, dinner and covered wagon tour. The ferry ride is little misleading. It is on a ferry and it is a ride....maybe 3-4 minutes. Backs out from one dock, does a turn in the river and docks on the island. We did the candlelight tour and it is MOST impressive. I wouldn't envy those who had to light all the candles,but the effect was beautiful.The dinner was a tad disappointing....the food was good, there was plenty of it, but we ate in the darkness in an open sided building with only candlelight. Romantic perhaps, comfortable....no. Seniors, a word of warning...wooden picnic tables, sometimes hard to get seated. It was chilly and the food was cold. As long as you could find and walk in the gravel paths (again by candlelight) it was okay, but grassy portions of the lawn were soggy and hard to avoid.We used the lights on our cell phones to keep out of the mud. The covered wagon was not uncomfortable, our driver was friendly, well-informed and gave a history of where we traveled. My only problem and that's my fault for going at night is that the full impact of a beautiful place was muted by not being able to see everything. The volunteers (many of them and all friendly)were dressed in period clothing and made quite an impression. The inside of the mansion, by candlelight, was wonderful. Lots of music, all live and period oriented. Big bonfire with lots of seating. It is handicapped friendly and we saw several disabled who were enjoying everything. Overall, a good trip....I want to go again during daylight hours and see more of the island. Great gift shop.

Thank Lanie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We did this event and it was absolutely breathtaking seeing the mansion and island by candlelight. You start your trip over to the island by steam wheeler. When you get off, we headed straight to the tent to eat (meal was separate from other ticket but well worth it). We ate ham, green beans, corn on the cob, potatoes and a roll followed with either pumpkin pie or apple pie as a dessert. The food was delicious! We sat under a covered area and enjoyed our meals by candlelight and music. We proceeded to the next location which was the palm reading, servants party then toured the beautiful home and finished off with a covered wagon ride around the premises. The workers were dressed in character and music played throughout the island. There were gingerbread and apple cider treats throughout the events, which was a nice surprise. Had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this event. I’ve added a few pictures to help.

Thank luvmypoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I made reservations for the Mansion by Candlelight special event weeks ago. In our excitement to leave (a three hour trip) I forgot our tickets. The ladies at the museum were super nice and extra helpful. They were very understanding and reprinted our tickets. They patiently answered my son's neverending questions. Later, we saw them a as we were boarding our boat for the island. They said hi to him and answered a few more of his questions.

Thank Bryna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Blennerhassett Island State Park is located on the Ohio River and is accessible only by an old fashioned Paddle Wheel type ferry boat (fee). Beautiful setting for the "Mansion" which was originally built by Harmon Blennerhassett and was a working plantation back in the late 1700's to early 1800's..it was destroyed by fire. The main house and buildings were later rebuilt to replicate the original. It is truly wonderful and furnished with period furniture and some original pieces are there, as well in the Museum located in downtown Parkersburg, WV. Wonderful place to tour and to have a picnic. Kid friendly with lots of "room to roam", level paths are gravel and hikes are easy. You can even fish from the riverbank !
Carriage rides and a tour of the Mansion are available for a fee.

Thank chipshaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Everyone needs to see this little-known chapter of American history. Most of your friends will nod when you mention Aaron Burr and his role in America's past. But ask them about Harmon Blennerhassett and watch the puzzled look on their faces. This island recreates a portion of the incredible story of these two men. Touring the rebuilt mansion alone is worth the price of admission. The ferry ride is a pleasant way to reach the island. And you must take the wagon ride. The drivers are very entertaining as well as informative. Also, be sure to walk down to the Putnam house. John will tell you many interesting stories about that house. Overall, a great way to spend an afternoon. There are even volunteers that will help get you around on a golf cart. Check the schedule before you plan a trip. They aren't open every day.

3  Thank bimmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Wow, what a great trip! Four couples, retirees, great friends, decided to take a weekend trip to visit Blennerhassett Island. We drove from Cincinnati to Parkersburg, WVa and checked into the Blennerhassett Hotel. I will do a separate review for this great hotel. We drove on a Saturday in August and after checking into the hotel, we walked a few blocks to the Blennerhassett Island State Park Museum. We bought the "package" ticket for $25 each which gave us a tour of the mansion, ferry ride over and back, wagon ride and tour around the island. We also had access to the museum and viewed the 15 minute video about the island. I thought the package deal was the way to go.

The next morning we took the first ferry to the island. The ferry Captain was fantastic as he gave us a lot of the history of the island and area on the cruise to the island. We started with the mansion tour, then we took the covered wagon tour of the island. The story of the Blennerhassett's and the history of the island was fascinating.

We were ready to take the ferry back to Parkersburg by 12:30 p.m. which gave us plenty of time for lunch and drive back to Cincinnati. I highly recommend this visit to anyone in W.Va or Ohio who finds our history fascinating.

5  Thank alangarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Don't miss the chance to take a scenic sternwheeler ride on the Ohio River to Blennerhassett Island. Enjoyed the horse-drawn carriage ride, as well as tours of the Mansion and Putman House. Had a lovely afternoon on the island.

1  Thank LJL1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed the ferry ride to Blennerhasset Island. The ship Captain shared some interesting facts along the way. He invited anyone to take a turn at the wheel. I think young people would enjoy that! The horse drawn wagon ride was fun. Our driver/guide was very well informed and my the trip nice for all. The guides at the mansion were nice. Some of the presentation of information could have been more direct. It was obvious they were dedicated to doing their best. I would recommend the trip to all who like to spend some time living on an island!

2  Thank sk05630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Beautiful rebuilt historic home. The boat trip to the island is a treat, the tour of the home is worth the price. The horse drawn wagon was hot, smelly and a rough ride. On the other hand my wife loved it. It's your money.

1  Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews