We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I had known about this place a long time ago”
Review of Avalon Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paw Paw
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avalon Resort
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This hidden jewel is only about an hour from my home. I never knew it existed. It was our first time at a nudist resort, but friends invited us there for the Music Folk Fest. We had a great time camping, and it was so relaxing and refreshing. The music festival added a lot to the festivities and crowd, but we enjoyed the dances at night to live bands even more, and everyone was very friendly. We got over our modesty quickly, and it was hard to get dressed to go back home. The pool and hot tubs are a lot of fun, and we cooked out around the campfire, and slept in a tent. There are plenty of hot showers and hair dryers around for use, and a bar and restaurant. We did all our own cooking, but it was nice to know there were options. We were very favorably impressed, and will be going back! I can't speak for the lodge or hotel rooms as I did not see them, but the campsites were nice. We camped down near the playground close to all the facilities. I can't say much about the other camping areas as we didn't venture that far back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Virginiaabitspoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Avalon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2008

We actually stayed in the campsites at Avalon over the Memorial Day Weekend. The facilities were one the best for a RV Park and they had great primitive camping sites as well. The staff was friendly and the crowd staying for the weekend were good company. The outdoor pool has a snack bar, new lounge chairs and a small pavilion you can eat under. The indoor facilities includes a large pool, two hot tubs and a work out room. In the evening there are two places you can have a drink. They also have an area they called NUDSINO where you can play WV Slots and mingle. The best part is that all the people were great to be around. There are some single men there, but they wer very polite to everyone I seen. I would definately take my wife back to Avalon. If you want a relaxing weekend, naked is the way to go!

Stayed: May 2008
5  Thank wineandinemandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

Avalon is a genuine nudist/clothing optional resort that maintains the highest standards of behavior.

Our lodge room was basic, but comfortable. Queen bed, private bath and just down the hall from the dining area at one end of the lodge and the indoor pool at the other end of the lodge. Be warned that the lodge rooms have very thin walls. 'nuff said.

Also just down the hall was the "Nudsino". The bar with three West Virginia lottery slot machines. The smoke was so thick that we couldn't stay in the room for more than a few minutes.

The restaurant served very good food--especially considering the location in the middle of nowhere.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

The crowd is friendly and genuinely nudist. Several families with young children were there.

Be warned that you will have no cell phone connectivity. Wireless broadband is available for free in the lodge area.

A great place to enjoy a quiet weekend of nude recreation with some of the most friendly folks we've encountered in our nudist travels.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank FairfaxBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

My wife and I certainly are not newcomers to the Nudism scene but had some strange experiences with Avalon. Has the potential to be a great resort, from the rolling mountain hills to the cozy condos, the setting is beautiful. What is not beautiful is the amount of gawkers and single men who seem to frequent the resort. My wife made her way to the empty hot tub and within seconds two men were on either side of her not staring at her beautiful face. She was so disgusted by their display of perversion we had a short stay. We went back to our condo. While back at our place, I caught a peeping tom red handed looking into an adjacent condo window. The next night involved a dispute with a single women who refused to keep proper distance. This is not what nudism is about. If this is what Avalon is about, AANR needs to drop by for a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
19  Thank nudistcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

Great Staff and location easy to make friends and have a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
4  Thank besidec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, PA
135
Reviewed 2 March 2003

While in Berkley Springs, WV we saw an ad for the La Belle Pomme Restaurant at Avalon Resort. We decided to inquire and found out that portions of Avalon are clothing optional. Yes that means that you can be naked eating, drinking, exercising, receiving a massage, hiking their trails and who knows what else. We had a first nude experiance in front of others and loved it. After we got over the shock of being nude we really enjoyed the food and the spa services.I would recommand everyone try it at least once.

35  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YasminkS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paw Paw
8.5 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
169 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
187 reviews
15.7 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
19.7 mi away
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
#1 of 1 in Flintstone
1,239 reviews
15.4 mi away
South Branch Inn Romney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Address: 223 Avalon Rd, Paw Paw, WV 25434-9006
Region: United States > West Virginia > Paw Paw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Paw Paw
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is nestled in a lovely valley in wild & wonderful West Virginia. As soon as you arrive, your tension and stress from the outside world begins to melt away. Whether you sit on the green grassy lawn or play volleyball or tennis, you will find your daily cares slipping away. Or you may decide to sun by the pool or soak in the spa to begin your relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Paw Paw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing