We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, gorgeous, plan on going again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pipestem Resort State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I attended a conference in February at Pipestem so it was during its off-season. The staff was wonderful, the accommodations were nice and even though the weather was typical for February (cool, wet, rainy) the scenery was gorgeous. There is a deck on one side of the resort overlooking the West Virginia Mountains. It was beautiful. Very quiet out there with the resort being 30 minutes from the nearest town. That is something that you need to be aware of..... pack everything that you need before you get there because you can't just run to Walmart if you forget something. This place reminded me a lot of the resort on the movie Dirty Dancing. Quiet, serene. Keep in mind that it might not be quite as quiet and serene during the summer. There were a lot of walking trails available and next year I plan on packing some walking shoes to do just that. (I packed business attire since it was a business trip). Bring a book or your kindle and plan on having a relaxing time.

Room Tip: If possible, request a room with the gorge view. Pack some snacks to keep in your room since you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank familyoffiveMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just don't hang out in your room that much, and you will love it hear. The Park is fantastic, the people are friendly. I thought it was a beautiful view. We took the crazy funicular to the restaurant at the bottom. It was pricey, but the portions were huge and it was delicious. The chef even made me my own vegetarian entree.

Yes, ok, the rooms are old. But it was clean enough, and its better than camping.

Room Tip: Balcony is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlleyArch30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I had read all of the reviews (good and bad) on McKeever Lodge at Pipestem. My husband and I just returned from a weekend trip there and were happy in every way with our room, the view and the service. The room we had was a "gorge view room" on the 4th floor. I was expecting to walk in and find a drab, unclean and out of date room---instead it appeared to be freshly painted, newly carpeted and very clean. The sheets were great---good quality silky cotton. Just trying to cover some of the complaints I had read here. It could be some of the rooms are being remodeled and some have not been yet---thus the complaints. But, we were really happy with ours! The only complaint (not to the hotel) is the smoking on the balconies. Nothing like walking out onto the balcony to overlook a beautiful gorge and smelling smoke from someone's cigarette on another balcony. I believe all of the rooms are non-smoking in the hotel---so the balconies have become the designated smoking spot---a real shame for those who do not smoke. We did not eat in the dining room at McKeever, but had a hamburger down at Mulligan's-- the golf bar. The food was not very good and the place just felt kind of grimmy and poorly run. It is too bad because it could be a nice place to eat with some remodeling, better seating and better management.

Room Tip: Ask for remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcnewton50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I've been coming to Pipestem since before I could drive myself there. First the good: the state park has a lot to do. Two golf courses, two pools, mini golf, horseback riding, archery, hiking, fishing, boating, you name it. The golf courses were in OK shape, but they are well laid out and a lot of fun to play. The tram trip down the mountain to the Mountain Creek Lodge is worth the trip. We had an amazing gorge view room on the 7th floor. If you decide to go, shoot for a 3rd floor gorge view (they have the view and a balcony, with no craziness like the pool on the 4th).
Now, the average: The pool was fine, really busy one day, but empty the next. Probably in search of more revenue, they've started charging for everything (shuffleboard, tennis, etc...).
Now the not so good: the inn needs some work. The beds and pillows are probably 10+ years old (or so my neck told me). No one in our group slept very well during our stay. The service in the Blue Ridge Dining room for breakfast was poor to say the least. There was an overall "moodiness" in the staff. I can probably guess what the management is like.

It's really a shame - the park itself is a lot of fun. I've been to few places with as much opportunity to do so many different things in one place. The view is amazing. Sitting on the balcony as the sun sets is very peaceful. I'm speculating that there's been a funding decrease that's caused the park system in WV to be hit hard. I'm hoping when the economy turns around they start funding it again. It's just in need of a face lift in the rooms and in the service.

Room Tip: Shoot for a gorge view on the 3rd floor (view, peace, and a balcony).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flynnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Skip the stay at this resort as the rooms are not a good value and are worn and not particularly clean --- Go directly to the incredible restaurant at the bottom of the mountain. The chef at the "Mountain Creek Dining Room" provides superior presentation with excellent menu items. Taking the tram down to the restaurant provides are unique experience and nature can be viewed from the huge windows while having your courses. This is a very upscale restaurant.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Geri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

First off, I love PIpestem State Park. This place has so much to do and views you cannot get anywhere else for the money you will spend. I have been coming for years and will probably return. That said, the McKeever Lodge needs a serious overhaul. I like the lodge itself, but it needs some interior updates and a thorough cleaning. I would be willing to pay a little more for the stay if these things were done! In addition, the dining room at the lodge used to be much better. Everything seems instant and microwaved now, and the service is lacking as well. I got up to refill the coffee myself, which frankly I really don't mind doing. Because of the fantastic views and activities offered at the park, I will definitely return. I will probably tent camp next time though!

Room Tip: Pick a gorge view room with balcony... the 7th floor gorge view doesn't have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncmtlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We have had our 80+ person family reunion at Pipestem every 3 years since 1987. The rooms that were decent in 1987 haven't changed a bit since then-- no new paint, no new bathroom fixtures, no new decor, no new nothing!
Unfortunately, we had to eat breakfast twice in the main dining room in McKever Lodge, and it was barely edible each time. The eggs tasted like powder, and the french toast was cold. We had to work to get a our server to bring a refill on coffee.
I hope we can find another place to go next time. Pipestem is so obviously a state-run "resort," if it can really be called that, and I'd prefer to spend time and money elseswhere.

Room Tip: Top floor view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uvalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pipestem
13.2 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
12.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
13.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Princeton
270 reviews
22.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipestem Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipestem Resort State Park

Address: 3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979
Region: United States > West Virginia > Pipestem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Price Range: £29 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The vistas of the Bluestone Gorge and exciting array of recreational opportunities make Pipestem Resort State Park a favorite getaway spot. Pipestem offers guests two lodge options: the year-round McKeever Lodge and the seasonal Mountain Creek Lodge. McKeever Lodge features an indoor heated pool, game room, saunas and exercise room. Enjoy the full service Bluestone Dining Room or lighter fare and specialty coffees of the Canyon Rim Cafe. The secluded Mountain Creek Lodge can be reached only by a 3,600 foot aerial tramway that crosses the Bluestone River before delivering guests to the lodge. Each room features a balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Pipestem Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipestem Resort State Park Hotel Pipestem
Pipestem Hotel State Park
State Park Resort Pipestem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing