We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cabin in a Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pipestem Resort State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We rented a two bedroom cabin which had beautiful wood floors and ceilings. The kitchen and living room was nicely appointed. One bedroom contained a queen bed and the other two single beds. A lovely fireplace is also usable.

Room Tip: I believe all the cabins are similar. I have not seen the rooms in the lodge but I understand they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray-n-Sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Mountain Creek Lodge which is only accessible by using the tram. The tram ride is fun and you see great views of the mountains surrounding the park. Once you arrive at the lodge it is quiet and peaceful since it is so secluded.The Bluestone River flows right by the front of the lodge which is beautiful and it is fun for the kids trying to catch a fish or skip stones. There is a playground for children, a gift shop, and a game room. There is a restaurant there as well but it is only open for dinner and you have to make a reservation. We were unable to get a reservation during our stay because it was so busy. We ate at the dining room at McKeever Lodge for most of our meals. The food was okay ( choice of buffet or order from menu) and the service was average. We recommend leaving the park and eating at Brandon's ( just across from the park entrance) or traveling into Princeton for a variety of restaurants. Overall, it was a nice weekend and we plan to return soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at Mountain Creek Lodge have a great view of the river and own private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We got a weekend package of room and meals Friday evening through Sunday breakfast. The Friday buffet was excellent! The other meals were fine too. We were with a group of Square Dancers, so our time was packed with our own entertainment. Got in some hiking on very well maintained trails before the snow came and created a spectacular mountain winter scene.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We travel a lot for archery competitions. Pipestem was one of our stops. The resort was nice, but it was the view that was breathtaking. The walls in the lodge were a little thin, so you could hear the people in the room next to you if they were watching TV too loudly. But other than that, it was a nice stay. Prices at the restaurant were average. Watching the wildlife is a bonus!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trjh_sapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our room at McKeever Lodge had a view of the gorge (which one needs to request) and only cost about $55/night. There was no real advantage to getting the reservation through a travel website; it was just as economical to go through their own website, www.pipestemresort.com. Of course many of the trees are bare when we went around the Thanksgiving holiday, but there was light snow the covered everything our first day there, and that has a beauty all its own. The staff were all pleasant and responsive. While other reviews here are correct in saying that buildings look somewhat dated, the rustic style of the lodge rooms themselves is somewhat timeless. Wifi was free, but not that great. They told me they were actively working on improving it. Getting off the elevator there was a medium-sized meeting area. A group must have reserved it because they had tables set up and their own snacks. Heading into the nearby hallway, we could still hear the group, but not once we were in our room. One far end of the complex, near a huge hall, had a (permanent?) exhibition of an artist, who displayed great skill in painting things found in nature. We would definitely stay here again, especially at the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This lodge is in a beautiful location and is a beautiful place itself. We stayed here for a class and enjoyed the amenities. The restaurant food was sub-par although an outside company runs that and is not under control of the state. We did not get to enjoy the pool but it was large. Do watch for the abundant wildlife while in the park.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have gone here for 25 years to a conference and have never been displeased. In factor my husband and I have spent many a New Years Eve enjoying the scenery and the peacefulness of the place. In fact it is one of our favorite places to go and not that far from home. For the last maybe 20 years we have stayed in the cabins when on business with another couple. We cook dinner from anywhere to 6to 10 people , keep the fire going , play cards while everyone else goes to the conference. A great place to go whether to the conference or as just a couple for a wonderful quite get away. The staff is very hard to bet wherever you go. If anyone gets close to here I would suggest you go.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAROL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pipestem
13.2 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
12.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Princeton, WV
13.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
22 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Beckley, WV
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipestem Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipestem Resort State Park

Address: 3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979
Region: United States > West Virginia > Pipestem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Price Range: £27 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The vistas of the Bluestone Gorge and exciting array of recreational opportunities make Pipestem Resort State Park a favorite getaway spot. Pipestem offers guests two lodge options: the year-round McKeever Lodge and the seasonal Mountain Creek Lodge. McKeever Lodge features an indoor heated pool, game room, saunas and exercise room. Enjoy the full service Bluestone Dining Room or lighter fare and specialty coffees of the Canyon Rim Cafe. The secluded Mountain Creek Lodge can be reached only by a 3,600 foot aerial tramway that crosses the Bluestone River before delivering guests to the lodge. Each room features a balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Pipestem Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipestem Resort State Park Hotel Pipestem
Pipestem Hotel State Park
State Park Resort Pipestem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing