We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice great views good hiking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pipestem Resort State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed one night on way to Richmond va. Called hotel directly and asked for room with gorge view. Room was clean with great view. Also stated we planned to take the cable car to the restaurant at the bottom for dinner. When we arrived we found out the tram was down for scheduled work, wish we had been informed. The hiking was good the views great. A good stopover if you need one.

Room Tip: Call hotel directly to get room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wvu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Mountain Creek Lodge at the bottom of the gorge. The scenery was great, the service generally good, and the room was fine. There is a lot to do in the area (we really liked the hiking trails and wildlife). But there was a big disappointment for us. There is no food service during the day. On a previous trip there, we found a nice breakfast service and a very nice dinner service near our room. On our latest trip, there was no breakfast offered, even though it was listed in their brochure. We were told that we could get food from a vending machine and heat it in a microwave (it was bad, with only variations of frozen sausage offered) or we could bring in our own food. To get real breakfast food, you had to ride the tram to the top, drive several miles to the upper lodge, and eat there (where the service is REALLY slow). Then you had to drive back the tram station, and ride the tram back down. This could easily take a couple of hours out of your vacation time. You had to repeat the process for lunch. At dinner time you can eat at the lower lodge... the food is good but very expensive. If you want to spend all your time at the bottom, be sure to take plenty of food along! You have to carry it down on the tram and also need to carry utensils and other food supplies in and back out. A number of reviewers have suggested eating off site (outside of the park). That's OK, but it is supposed to be a "resort park" with all needs right there. You shouldn't have to work so hard!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise be sure to get a room away from the tram stop. It runs until well int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buster1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here as a close getaway during the week of July 4th. Although the rooms were a bit small, and the rooms and property were a bit outdated, the property was clean and the balcony view made up for the "tiredness" of the property. There was plenty to do here with our family: hike, take the sky tram down to the creek, fish, golf (both 18-hole championship course, and 9-hole par 3 course), observe nature, use the game/arcade room, swim, etc. We did not get to do all that was offered. The best part was that the park and the lodge were not crowded at all. It was very quiet during the evenings on our balcony while we watched the sun set.

An added bonus was the on-site restaurant. The food was surprisingly good and was also reasonably priced. They even allowed us to bring our own bottle of wine to dinner and uncorked it for us without a corkage fee. One thing I would recommend is to bring your own ice chest with your drinks as there are no refrigerators in the rooms. And, the nearest town is at least a 15-minute drive from the lodge.

Room Tip: Stay at the McKeever Lodge and DO get the balcony "gorge" view! The 4th floor is the floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hokie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have been coming very years now for a family reunion. Unfortunately, this year was not an ideal stay. The air conditioner was broken for almost the entire trip - over the July 4th holiday. One of the room doors kept breaking and the door had to be taken off the hinges to gain entry. The handicap lift broke and I have a wheelchair bound daughter. Earwigs were everywhere. The food was not very good and over priced. The sliding glass door was broken and we could not shut it which meant it could not be locked. It has a lot of potential but definitely needs to be updated and some remodeling done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The view is breath taking. The hotel is outdated. Needs new carpet, new beds and bedding, new towels, and spells like old mold. There were bugs in the bathroom. The sliding glass doors and windows hadn't been cleaned in a while, it had hand prints all over them. The food is way over priced and not very good. Staff was not very friendly at the hotel. Staff for the tram was nice. We were staying for our anniversary at Mountain Creek on July 4th. We were told it had a free breakfast but they don't, the woman at the desk said if we wanted breakfast we had a fridge and microwave in room, we should have brought some.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melinda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We come here every other year for a family reunion. The lodge rooms remind me of the old Holiday Inns of my youth. 2 beds a TV and a bathroom. Nothing more nothing less. The lodge is dated to say the least but you come to expect that at most of these state and national parks. The park itself is wonderful. Clean and beautiful with lots of activities to do. My family particularly enjoys the horseback riding and I would highly recommend that.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tb0n3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The resort is outdated and needs to be renovated. We had no air in our room. However, the scenery and activities are awesome. My son loved the horseback riding and paddle boats. Also there are a lot of playgrounds on the property along with games, a huge outdoor pool, golf course, and mini golf. The indoor pool is super warm and clean! The restaurant had great food but it needed to be updated in decorations. The hotel is also confusing with multiple levels and hallways that don't have signs of where things are at. I will stay here again because of the outdoor perks. I hope to see it updated soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHarper15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pipestem
13.2 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
12.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
13.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Princeton
270 reviews
22.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
18.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipestem Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipestem Resort State Park

Address: 3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979
Region: United States > West Virginia > Pipestem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Price Range: £29 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The vistas of the Bluestone Gorge and exciting array of recreational opportunities make Pipestem Resort State Park a favorite getaway spot. Pipestem offers guests two lodge options: the year-round McKeever Lodge and the seasonal Mountain Creek Lodge. McKeever Lodge features an indoor heated pool, game room, saunas and exercise room. Enjoy the full service Bluestone Dining Room or lighter fare and specialty coffees of the Canyon Rim Cafe. The secluded Mountain Creek Lodge can be reached only by a 3,600 foot aerial tramway that crosses the Bluestone River before delivering guests to the lodge. Each room features a balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Pipestem Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipestem Resort State Park Hotel Pipestem
Pipestem Hotel State Park
State Park Resort Pipestem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing