We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the 70s Bauhaus architecture!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pipestem Resort State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the 70s Bauhaus architecture!”
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Please don't pay attention to the reviews about being outdated, etc. The lodge and cabins at Pipestem (and Hawks Nest and Twin Falls) are actually fine surviving examples of Bauhaus modernist architecture, designed by none other than Walter Gropius himself (as part of the Architects Collaborative TAC) based in Boston. These three state parks are probably the best (if not only) examples of Bauhas architecture in WV - rustic, modern, organic, lots of wood and glass. I love it and hope they stay the same! Try the restaurant at the Mountain Creek lodge - very nice! The golf course is really fun, cheap, and well maintained - if you don't mind playing with deer and fawn and wild turkeys on the course! Swimming pool is COLD....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VirginiaRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    80
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
85
73
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Snowshoe, Wv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Just spent a great weekend at The Lodge with my kids...my daughter attends a college nearby and she has been sick so I needed a relaxing place for her to come and rest with the family. We had an amazing full wall of glass view with a balcony. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The maid noticed that we were swimming and left extra towels the rest of the week with a thoughtful note. There was plenty of activities for my middle school age son-he loved the ping pong table! The pool was warm and the dinners at the lodge were outstanding with a spectacular view. The serving staff was very attentive and friendly as well. (The only downside was the breakfast buffet which was regrettable.) Overall it was a pleasant experience and reasonbly priced-I even received a college discount for my daughter. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We arrived at Pipestem after several days of hiking and camping near Dolly Sods and Seneca Rocks. I'm really glad that we selected a room with a view because that really made the stay special. We were on the 4th floor with a nice balcony where we watched the sunset. I think the restaurant needs a new menue. There is a buffett but the food was cold because there weren't enough customers. The second night we ordered off the menue and it was very good. There were two other restaurants in the area that we had read about but they were closed on Monday and we found no other options near by. The location is beautiful and we enjoyed a 2 hr horseback ride around the lake.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyAthensOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Are you nostalgic for the 70's? Like ping-pong? How about that yummy shade of yellow that no one can forget that draped bathrooms and appliances back then? This is the place! On the good side - the view from the room balcony. Fantastic sunsets, and you can watch your fellow hillbilly guests feed the raccoons and deers french fries from the grounds below. On the bad side - dank, musty rooms. Inadequate water pressure in shower. No bathroom fan for ventilation. A/C didn't work correctly. Balcony railing dangerously loose. Lodge restaurant - this is another review in itself. Waited 15 minutes to be seated (not crowded). Heard other diners grumbling about not being served or given wrong orders as they left - so we did too. Trash along walking path to lake. I could go on & on. I almost forgot the hyper-security guard that was ready to shoot someone if they gave him the wrong look. Come visit the state park, but don't stay in the lodge.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukes909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Va.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We left the DC area with August temperatures in the mid 90s to arrive at Pipestem in the mid 80s. The resort is built on the northern edge of the spectacular 1,100’ Bluestone River gorge. We stayed in the McKeever lodge, which offers killer views of the gorge (be sure to specify a gorge view room). The room was a bit dated but serviceable. Routine maintenance seems to be a bit lacking as the TV was out of focus and a few light bulbs were burned out. The rooms do not have very good soundproofing, as the noisy kids next door kept us awake until after midnight. You might ask the reservation clerk to recommend a room that is known to be quiet. We only spent one night and took dinner at Brandon’s, a nice casual restaurant directly across the street from the entrance to the park. The food was very good and reasonably priced. They open for dinner at 4 PM and are closed Mondays and Tuesdays (I believe). We had the $7.95 buffet breakfast at the lodge the next morning; nothing fancy, standard buffet food. The park has lots to do: golf, miniature golf, horseback riding, camping, archery, swimming (indoors and out), exercise and game rooms, canoeing and paddle boats, fishing, and lots and lots of hiking. There is a second smaller lodge at the bottom of the gorge. It is accessible only by a 4 person tram which delivers you to the bottom in around three minutes (bear in mind you have to transport your own luggage down to the hotel in the tramway). Once we got to the Mountain Creek lodge, we were glad we chose to stay at the McKeever lodge instead. With the exception of fishing in the Bluestone River at the bottom of the gorge and hiking, there is not much to do in and around Mountain Creek. If you’re with children who would be doing lots of kid stuff, you would find yourself taking the tram up and down 2-3 times a day to and from the activity areas. You don’t have the killer view being at the bottom of the gorge, and you also don’t get the pleasant ridgetop breezes down there, either. Then, to top it off, you get to listen to the noisy tramway station from 7AM to midnight. The one positive is the four star white table linen restaurant at Mountain Creek. Entrees start at around $18, and I’m sure it would be quite a treat to make a special tramway trip down for dinner. Speaking of which, the best time to take the tram trip is close to sunset, as the deer and foxes come out in the open and are easily visible. On our way to Pipestem, we traveled through the nearby town of Hinton, about 20 minutes north. We lunched at Kirk’s, which overlooks the river on Route 20 (We picked this place because it is my first name). It offers standard grilled fare such as fried chicken and hamburgers. Get a table on the overlook which is directly over the river and watch the ducks below. The “Coca Cola Cake” dessert is a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summersville, WV
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We had our family reunion here July 3-6 this year. We did not meet the required 50 people for catering our cookout, but were told that they would "work" with us. Needless to say No One worked with us and we lost our $100.00 deposit. Foodservice dept. is completely seperate from the resort. WE WILL NEVER GO BACK! Plan to go out-of-state for the next reunion!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homeatlast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This was my third trip to Pipestem's Mountain Creek Lodge. This lodge is unique in that it is accessible only via an aerial tram (not for the faint of heart). The views and surroundings are spectacular. However, the Lodge itself is in need of some updating and wasn't as clean on this visit as it has been in the past.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Take_Me_Home_Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pipestem
13.2 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
12.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
12.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
21.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
13.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipestem Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipestem Resort State Park

Property: Pipestem Resort State Park
Address: 3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979
Region: United States > West Virginia > Pipestem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The vistas of the Bluestone Gorge and exciting array of recreational opportunities make Pipestem Resort State Park a favorite getaway spot. Pipestem offers guests two lodge options: the year-round McKeever Lodge and the seasonal Mountain Creek Lodge. McKeever Lodge features an indoor heated pool, game room, saunas and exercise room. Enjoy the full service Bluestone Dining Room or lighter fare and specialty coffees of the Canyon Rim Cafe. The secluded Mountain Creek Lodge can be reached only by a 3,600 foot aerial tramway that crosses the Bluestone River before delivering guests to the lodge. Each room features a balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pipestem Resort State Park Hotel Pipestem
Pipestem Hotel State Park
State Park Resort Pipestem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing