We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stop on I-77”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2007

After driving 14 hours, we stopped at this Holiday Inn Express. The front desk clerk was friendly and accommodating. The room, with a king sized bed, was clean, quiet and comfy.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent. The lady attending the breakfast room continually replaced items and cleared away empty containers.

For the $95 end price, it was a good stop on a long drive. The entrance and exit to 77 is easy and you don't hear highway traffic.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wnbamiamisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2007

This is a new hotel in Princeton. Great staff who went out of their way to help us. Offered the usual free breakfast. It is just off I-77, not far after crossing the Virginia/West Virginia line. It's located in a small, populous area with many eating establishments. We stayed there for 2 nights, while skiing at Winterplace Ski Resort. The hotel is located about 20 minutes south of the resort. We did have 2 issues while staying there. #1, the deadbolt on the room door wouldn't lock. We reported this, and a repairman came up immediately to fix it. He had to make a call to another person to get some instruction, and yet the door was totally fixed w/i 30 minutes. #2, we were given a room that wasn't designated non-smoking. Upon inquiry, it seems I had reserved a *standard* room (that was all that was available online during my requested stay). It was explained, that reserving a *standard* room, means you get whatever they have left. It isn't explained on the website, so be careful about this. However, the staff did their best to assist us with the issue, and even offered to move us, but to another standard room. Live and learn. I would stay there again, however, with this new knowledge.

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank almychrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2006

We had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Princeton, WV. We were visiting relatives in the area. We had asked for and received a handicapped room with a walk-in shower and the room was as anticipated. The room was large, the bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. There were extra towels, etc. in the bathroom. The walk-in shower was wonderful.

The breakfast area was nice and clean. The selections were very good. We think the HI Express breakfast is one of the best of the chain hotels.

The staff was nice and accomodating. The hotel is easy to find off the interstate and is close to restaurants. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MBCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

I have stayed at this hotel twice now. The lobby is small but attractive and very clean. The breakfast area is quite large and very nicely decorated and provides a nice selection.

The rooms are very clean and also nicely decorated. The shower was wonderful! It's so nice to go to a hotel that spends a little extra on shower heads!

This Express Inn is nicer than any Holiday Inn I've visited.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 1BJ1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2006

Loved this place. After a bad experience in Wytheville, we decided to head down the road to Bluefield.

Hotel staff was prompt and courteous! Especially Margaret.

Room was very neat and clean, and had a welcoming atmoshere. The indoor pool and whirlpool were great, and also very clean.

The continental breakfast was very good, and the dining room and lobby were very clean and decorated beautifully.

The hotel was quiet, and had easy access to I-77. Lots of restaurants also in the area.

Pleasant stay. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Granci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2006

I stayed here for 2 nights as a half way stop from my vacation to Pigeon Forge/Dollywood. My sister and I met some family and friends here.

Originally, my family had requested 2 adjoining rooms, but we smoke and some other family members do not. So after discussing this with the hotel clerk she graciously gave us 2 different rooms. They were on the same floor, but on different wings, right around the corner from one another. For some reason my sister and I's room was quite abit bigger than our other family members room, but for the same $$. Didn't understand that. So, when we went to open the door to our room , "POW!!!!! " It smelled like someone had a bonfire going in there. I do smoke, but there are sloppy smokers, and there are social smokers. Neither are acceptable, but this room obviously had never been aired out or FEBREZED ever, since the hotel opened up. So, my sister and I opened up the window, and went to the Wal Mart to buy fabric refresher spray, and we cleaned the room.

Now, as far as the cleanliness of the actual hotel itself= Immaculate. No complaints. The Deluxe continental breakfast was more then exceptional. They have the best cinnamon rolls. Great indoor pool/sauna area, very clean, but pool was not heated enough, very cool. Jacuzzi was great.

They also have a business area with internet/computer access. All in all I would stay here again if I ever visit the area. It is not the greatest hotel I have ever stayed, but it is definitely a better choice then a Super 8 or Motel 6 . If rated on a scale of 1-10 I would give a 7-8.

Stayed: May 2006
5  Thank Jaylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank verodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Princeton
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Princeton
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Address: 805 Oakvale Road, Princeton, WV 24740-3916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range: £91 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Princeton, WV, the newest hotel in the East River valley area and conveniently located off I-77 and US 460 W. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton is nestled in the beautiful Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia and admist many attractions, including snow skiing, ATV trail bike riding, professional baseball, horseback riding, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton was designed to accomodate both the business and leisure traveler. Our oversized rooms offer a well lit ergonomic work area, complimentary high speed internet, microwave, refrigerator and the SIMPLY SMART Bathroom experience featuring customized showerheads and special bath towels. In addition, the hotel offers an indoor swimming pool, state of the art fitness center, guest laundry facilities, a business center and sundry shop. The complimentary Express Smart breakfast is served daily in our spacious and comfortable Great Room, where you can relax and enjoy Princeton's beautiful scenery. Our experienced sales staff is always available to help you with the planning of corporate or social events in our meeting room featuring High Speed Internet. Whether you come to enjoy the wonderful summers, to delight yourself in our colorful autumns, enjoy skiing in our crisp winters or experience the beautiful springs, you'll discover that the Holiday Inn Express Princeton is definitely the Smart place to stay! Please join us on your next visit to the Princeton area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / i-77 Hotel Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
Princeton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing