We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room shared it with some stink bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ranson
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Big room shared it with some stink bugs”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

First time staying at this Holiday Inn and it was quite an experience. It was a girlfriends overnight trip and we stayed in a two double bed with a sleep sofa. (Don't bother with the sleep sofa, bring an air mattress instead…it is extremely uncomfortable.) It started with a couple of stink bugs hanging out in our beds, to be woken by the music that greets you when you arrive to check in and ended with being told we couldn't get a receipt because I booked and pre-paid through a 3rd party (I booked and pre-paid through Holiday Inn) and having a hold placed against my credit card for the cost of the room that was pre-paid plus an additional 10 dollars for incidentals. I can handle a few creepy bugs, heck they get in my house. Management needs to seriously consider turning the volume down on the outside music; we thought a band was in the parking lot at 8:30 in the morning. And finally, with technology today there is absolutely no reason why I had to wait for 20 minutes to get a receipt that clearly showed I booked through Holiday Inn and no excuse for close to 200.00 dollars being held against my credit card for a room that was pre-paid. So the call to the hotel went something like this, Sorry it is up to your bank to release the funds…of course these are the funds that Holiday Inn put a hold on. There is no Manager available to speak with but one would be in touch with me first thing Monday…Ten days and still waiting to hear from a Manager. Long story short, we slept with bugs, was woke too early by Hotel music and I didn't have access to 200.00 for 5 days and my number 1 issue is no follow-up by Management…The Pro's to this hotel is spacious rooms, excellent hot and cold breakfast and it was clean.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms that face the main parking lot. You can hear the outdoor music and it is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Mandy L,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Ranson.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    74
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
53
82
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I've been a regular in Charles town for many years, but this was my first stay at the Holiday Inn. I was very pleased with the room for comfort and quietness. The staff is wonderful and always cheerful with a greeting and offer to help. I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyem53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchellville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This holiday is a great alternative to staying at the Charlestown Inn for a great price. The hotel is one block from Hollywood Casino at Charlestown. The hotel has a lobby bar, refrigerator and coffee pot in the room. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. Stayed here a couple of times. I recommend this hotel for a great stay with a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We like to stay where there is a breakfast served. This had an excellent buffet with several items to chose from. Great coffee. Room was spacious (large enough for a baby's bed to be set up or play area for little ones), clean; comfortable bed and linens. Bathroom clean, well stocked. Easy access. Close to casino and restaurants. Not far from lots of outdoor activities and Harper's Ferry. Free Wi-Fi. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Washington, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have stayed at other Holiday Inn Express hotels and this one had a few flaws. When I arrived in my room a lamp was not working and the clock was flashing. I called the front desk and the front desk clerk came quickly to check the lamp. I am not sure of the problem because I was checking the other two lamps. She got it to work and reset the clock. The first night I heard alot of highway noise. In this hotel there was not alot of difference in the soft and firm pillows--both seemed soft. Food on the Express Start Breakfast was good. One morning the pancake maker was not working well and my pancake was spongy. At checkout the clerk did not process customers in the order of arrival. I have seen others write good reviews for this hotel but I was disappointed in it.

Room Tip: My room was located on the second floor overlooking the pool. I looked out the window and could see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Barbara207,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is good to know our hotel staff was able to assist you with your needs. However, I apologize if your stay was negatively affected by the room amenities, condition of pillows and breakfast items received. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Thank you again and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to better serve your needs in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The rooms were very clean, the free breakfast was great, the free Wi-Fi was convenient, and swimming in the the pool was a nice way to end the day. Oh yeah, the afternoon cookies were a nice treat for our kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while my husband was traveling for business. The room was very large, the breakfast was great (included). The breakfast area workers are so friendly and helpful.

There is a nice pool which is kept clean.

No restaurant in the hotel buts lots within a short drive.

The only negative is the housekeeping staff were not as attentive as they could be. Although our room was clean when we arrived, the daily cleaning wasn't thorough. Crumbs remained on the floor and the tables/ desk were not wiped down.
Even worse was when someone clearly dropped cookies or crackers in the main hallway and the crumbs were dispersed by people walking. These crumbs remained in the hallway for 5 days ( and were still there when we left). There was no way to miss this mess.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0veparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranson
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
4.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
235 reviews
5.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
9.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
801 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Address: 681 Flowing Springs Rd, Ranson, WV 25438-4008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ranson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing