We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ranson
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!!!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We really loved this Holiday Inn Express. We stayed there on the way to Harper's Ferry, which was just a few miles away. The hotel was very nice and clean and our room was rather big. The breakfast area was in a separate room which also has a sitting area with the TV and couches. The staff was extremely nice and welcoming. The price was great and it is close to stores and food locations. Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SvenSlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    75
    19
    9
    10
See reviews for
54
83
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is our fourth or fifth time staying here. I noticed right away that was remodeled/upgraded since the last time I was able to stay. The kitchen/breakfast area looks wonderful! We stayed in a newly renovated suite. It was very large & we were comfortable. My only complaint is that the lighting was very dim. Otherwise, the service was good. The best part of staying here is definitely breakfast. They have everything from omelets, to a pancake maker, to cereal and yogurt. The other great thing about this hotel is it's proximity to Charles Town and Harpers Ferry. We spend a lot of time in Harpers Ferry while we're there. We also ventured into Charles Town this time & tried a new restaurant. All of it is close to the hotel. Also, the Casino & Race track are literally across from the hotel. We enjoyed watching the horses exercise during the day. Anyway, overall we had a nice time & will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MdKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed there with a group of 20 or so classmates for a group gathering. Staff was very patient and friendly working with all the check-ins going on at the same time. Rooms were clean. They had a great shuttle to the casino for free that ran 24x7. There was breakfast (free) in the a.m. that I missed but was able to get some coffee. There is a small work out room with 4 cardio machines and an outside pool. Free internet was also available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

First time staying at this Holiday Inn and it was quite an experience. It was a girlfriends overnight trip and we stayed in a two double bed with a sleep sofa. (Don't bother with the sleep sofa, bring an air mattress instead…it is extremely uncomfortable.) It started with a couple of stink bugs hanging out in our beds, to be woken by the music that greets you when you arrive to check in and ended with being told we couldn't get a receipt because I booked and pre-paid through a 3rd party (I booked and pre-paid through Holiday Inn) and having a hold placed against my credit card for the cost of the room that was pre-paid plus an additional 10 dollars for incidentals. I can handle a few creepy bugs, heck they get in my house. Management needs to seriously consider turning the volume down on the outside music; we thought a band was in the parking lot at 8:30 in the morning. And finally, with technology today there is absolutely no reason why I had to wait for 20 minutes to get a receipt that clearly showed I booked through Holiday Inn and no excuse for close to 200.00 dollars being held against my credit card for a room that was pre-paid. So the call to the hotel went something like this, Sorry it is up to your bank to release the funds…of course these are the funds that Holiday Inn put a hold on. There is no Manager available to speak with but one would be in touch with me first thing Monday…Ten days and still waiting to hear from a Manager. Long story short, we slept with bugs, was woke too early by Hotel music and I didn't have access to 200.00 for 5 days and my number 1 issue is no follow-up by Management…The Pro's to this hotel is spacious rooms, excellent hot and cold breakfast and it was clean.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms that face the main parking lot. You can hear the outdoor music and it is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Mandy L,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Ranson.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I've been a regular in Charles town for many years, but this was my first stay at the Holiday Inn. I was very pleased with the room for comfort and quietness. The staff is wonderful and always cheerful with a greeting and offer to help. I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennswo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchellville, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This holiday is a great alternative to staying at the Charlestown Inn for a great price. The hotel is one block from Hollywood Casino at Charlestown. The hotel has a lobby bar, refrigerator and coffee pot in the room. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. Stayed here a couple of times. I recommend this hotel for a great stay with a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powhatan, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We like to stay where there is a breakfast served. This had an excellent buffet with several items to chose from. Great coffee. Room was spacious (large enough for a baby's bed to be set up or play area for little ones), clean; comfortable bed and linens. Bathroom clean, well stocked. Easy access. Close to casino and restaurants. Not far from lots of outdoor activities and Harper's Ferry. Free Wi-Fi. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranson
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
4.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
254 reviews
5.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
9.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
825 reviews
9.2 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Address: 681 Flowing Springs Rd, Ranson, WV 25438-4008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ranson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing