We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop on business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ranson
Certificate of Excellence
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good stop on business”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel during a business trip this week, and it was very nice. Some of the fixtures in the room looked a little bit dated, but nothing that would prevent me from returning. Everything was very clean, and the breakfast was well stocked. Overall, a positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We try to make everyone’s visit a “Home away from Home” by providing the best comfort, the friendliest service and the best of amenities.
Sincerely,

Jason Butt
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    73
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
52
82
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for the night on our way home. We had been here for a stop over 2 years ago.

The hotel is located right next to the Race Track & Casino. Having said that you should have a reservation because of its location it could fill up rather quickly.

Our room was nice, clean and very spacious. Breakfast was adequate for a quick bite. Staff was friendly and courteous.

Casino has a free shuttle 24/7 every 10-15 minutes. Plenty of gas stations near by. Easy access to the property from the highway.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests. Each survey we receive is reviewed and shared with every associate in an effort to improve the service and accommodations that we provide our guests. We thank you for your candid feedback, and hope that you will choose to stay with us should you visit the area again.
Sincerely,

Jason Butt
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The location isn't that great because it sits almost hidden but the hotel itself makes up for that. The rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. The rooms have a mini fridge and microwave, coffee maker for those who like coffee. Also the regular must haves- iron, ironing board & hair dryer. Should you need anything else just ask the front desk. There is a nice breakfast area, tv & separate sitting area included. The housekeeping staff is very nice & respectful. Special thanks to Jason for allowing me a few extra minutes pass checkout time in the room as I waited for my husband to return from work. Overall very pleasant experience. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIAMIRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in Ranson as your hotel of choice during your last visit to West Virginia. It was a pleasure to have you and your family at our hotel. We are so delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your room, with all of its distinctive amenities. We were truly humbled by your gracious comments regarding our hotel service team. At the Holiday Inn Express we truly believe that service should be provided from the heart and with only one purpose in mind, to create memorable moments for you and the ones you love. We can’t wait to welcome you back again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jason Butt
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago and went over to gamble a bit after dinner. When we returned to our room a few hours later, we quickly discovered our room was so close to the elevator that every time someone used it, it was so loud, it would awaken us! Also, our room was next to an outside entrance and a few people stood outside of the door, which was next to our window. Talking and smoking until the wee hours! We did not sleep at all, and when leaving the next day, we voiced our concerns. The lady at the desk, and the manager apparently standing there, both said "oh, you should've asked for a room away from the elevator". And then, we were booked, so that's the only room we had (they obviously weren't full). Insulting. Then the manager offered us 10 percent off our bill as if we should be so thankful for her courtesy. We declined. Again, very insulting to us, and ruined one of the few nights my husband and I had to get away for the weekend. Thanks Holiday Inn Express Charles Town.

Room Tip: Dont expect good customer service from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Penni W,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We really loved this Holiday Inn Express. We stayed there on the way to Harper's Ferry, which was just a few miles away. The hotel was very nice and clean and our room was rather big. The breakfast area was in a separate room which also has a sitting area with the TV and couches. The staff was extremely nice and welcoming. The price was great and it is close to stores and food locations. Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SvenSlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is our fourth or fifth time staying here. I noticed right away that was remodeled/upgraded since the last time I was able to stay. The kitchen/breakfast area looks wonderful! We stayed in a newly renovated suite. It was very large & we were comfortable. My only complaint is that the lighting was very dim. Otherwise, the service was good. The best part of staying here is definitely breakfast. They have everything from omelets, to a pancake maker, to cereal and yogurt. The other great thing about this hotel is it's proximity to Charles Town and Harpers Ferry. We spend a lot of time in Harpers Ferry while we're there. We also ventured into Charles Town this time & tried a new restaurant. All of it is close to the hotel. Also, the Casino & Race track are literally across from the hotel. We enjoyed watching the horses exercise during the day. Anyway, overall we had a nice time & will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MdKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranson
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
4.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
5.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Address: 681 Flowing Springs Rd, Ranson, WV 25438-4008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ranson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing