We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for what we needed: overnight pit stop, hot breakfast, and Harpers Ferry N.P.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ranson
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Excellent for what we needed: overnight pit stop, hot breakfast, and Harpers Ferry N.P.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It was certainly nice to get off the beaten path (I-70) on our drive from Ohio to DC as we decided to visit Harpers Ferry National Historical Park along the way. We picked the Holiday Inn Express in Charles Town, WV mainly for its proximity to the N.P. (7 miles) as well as the availability of a hot breakfast. We enjoyed our stay, albeit a short stay of about 9 hours, and were more than satisfied with the customer service, hotel-wide cleanliness, and the hot breakfast in the morning. They allowed us a late check-in which was super important as we arrived close to midnight and were exhausted from 5 hours of post-workday driving. There certainly were less and more expensive options within a 20-mile radius but this spot was definitely a good blend of location, comfort, and value. Also, the hotel is quite large (for a Holiday Inn Express) and apparently caters to the horse-racing/casino crowd - the racetrack could be seen from our window. We didn't get involved in any of that - so I can't comment on any shuttle service or amenities in that regard. But if we're in the area again we'd have no problem staying here once more!

GPS DRIVE TIP: By the way, if you're coming from the west on I-70, dumping off I-70 early (Rts 522 - 1 - 9) and taking a straighter route (as the crow flies) versus staying until you hit I-81 and "back-tracking" nets you about the same amount of driving time but shaves about 13 miles. Fun if you want to see some rural West Virginia!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuuKaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I was very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We try very hard to make our guest's stay pleasant and are gratified to see that we succeeded. We look forward to seeing you again.

Respectfully, J Butt, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    74
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
53
82
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We went to this hotel to celebrate my cousins birthday and I made the reservations 8 weeks in advance. We confirmed the reservation the week before and was told that check in was 3pm. My party arrived at the hotel to check in at 4:30 pm and were told that our rooms were not ready yet. So we went ahead and checked in because we were told our rooms were being cleaned while we were checking in. Check in took 45 minutes because they had issues with the computer and their credit card machine. After all of this, our room was by the elevator which proceeded to keep us up all night because it was extremely loud. After we checked out, we noticed that our credit card had been charged, not once, but twice for the hotel room, when we paid in cash!!!!! When we called the hotel to figure out why they had charged the card, they said they "held" the funds in case there was damage to the room. No one mentioned that this was going to be done so our card was overdrawn and when we asked them to reimburse us the overdraft fee they refused because they said it was just a "temporary hold" so that had nothing to do with them. I will never again go to this hotel because of the horrible customer service!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bybyby16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I was sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at our property. We strive to meet the 4pm check-in time as best we can, unfortunately we were unable at that time to have every room ready. The hold on your card was, however, told to you as it is one of the items on the registration card that you initial upon arrival. In reference to your checking out, we can hardly anticipate issues with the computer network going down, as anyone who works with computers on a daily basis can attest to. It is unfortunate, however, that you had the misfortune to experience all of these items on the same visit. We do hope that you will return and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this property. The breakfasts are not to be missed. Probably one of the best I have found.
I used to travel 2 weeks out of every month for 3 years so I have tried a few.

Biggest complaint is the bedding. The mattress is beyond extra firm. Rock solid is more like it.

Also the pool was not open.

The hotel was lower priced than its neighbors. Be aware that the room rate goes up drastically for the weekend because of the visitors for the casino

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear acnc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see the mattress firmness prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see your kind comments for our breakfast as well as your high scores Cleanliness, Service, and Rooms. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,454 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,143 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were here for 2 weeks (after the house we were renting in Harpers Ferry didn't work out) and as usual our room was very nice (the HIE is our first choice of places to stay). This one was an all non-smoking facility but people would hold an exit door open while they smoked outside and the smoke would come into the hallways and elevator (only happened a few times). Our room was close to the front entrance where everyone would sit to smoke and since most of the days were very nice we opened the window in the room only to have the smell of cigarette smoke come into the room (only happened a few times). Their Wifi was very slow some days and didn't work at all other days. You can't go wrong with their cinnamon buns for breakfast though. They are the best. Since we were staying for 2 weeks we were given a very good rate (not charged the higher weekend rates). We were surprised and really appreciated that. On the days my husband played golf I would stay in the room. Apparently they were on a schedule to test the generator around 11am once a week and I think the generator was directly under our room. The noise was very loud and the floor under the computer desk actually vibrated. This went on for about 20 - 25 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask not to be close to the generator if they are going to be testing it.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear cheryl h,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It's good to know that you enjoyed the comfort of your room, breakfast and the value for your money.

Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience you have encountered with the internet service, and the level of noise that came from the generator. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Again, thank you for staying with us. We hope you give us a chance to host you the next time you are in the area.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

2nd time there in past few months. Nice front desk gal. Seemed very interested in my stay. Clean. No issues. Lots of male work-men/laborers staying as well but very quiet. Very large facility. Smokers smoked right by the doors and odors came through AC vent. Otherwise real nice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit us again soon and if there is anything I can do personally to assist with a return visit, please do not hesitate to contact me. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us and Trip Advisor!
Sincerely,

Jason Butt
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a really good hotel and great value. We had no interest in the casino, but those who did can walk there, it's only about 500 years away. We used it as a base for exploring West Virginia, most notably Harpers Ferry and the Shenandoah Valley, and for this purpose, it's great. There is no view of any kind - it's beside a major road, which is very useful. No traffic noise, but if you leave the AC on overnight, you wouldn't hear it anyway! That's the only complaint (noisy AC). The rooms are clean and modern, the staff helpful, there's a decent breakfast buffet ( compared to most Express hotels). It's convenient rather than pretty, but a really good base for the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.
Sincerely,

Jason Butt
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Pa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Went to this Holiday in for a getaway weekend with a group of 20 friends. The first room that they gave us smelled like smoke, they apologized and upgraded us to what they called a suite which was nice and without issue, although absolutely no view out the window. The room and the hotel were very clean, the choices at breakfast were good and satisfying. The management was nice enough to allow our group to gather at night in the large breakfast area as a group to play games eat snacks and pretty much have the area to ourselves complete with a large flat panel TV. All in all a nice stay with friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmax48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express in Hagerstown, Md. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Sincerely,
Jason Butt
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranson
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
4.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
235 reviews
5.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
9.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
801 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Address: 681 Flowing Springs Rd, Ranson, WV 25438-4008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ranson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing